Walking away

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago

20220523_144402.jpg

Life is short and the older you get, the more you feel it. Indeed, the shorter it is. People lose their capacity to walk, run, travel, think, and experience life. I realise how important it is to use the time I have.

- Viggo Mortensen -



With each step I was taken further from who I'd been, the person I have to be, and drew closer to the person I want to be. I set out with no fixed destination however knew I'd reach the exact place I so desperately needed to be; I always did. Hiking has that power over me.

- G-dog -

Boots on the ground

I set out early knowing I'd be hiking for hours. The day was cold, dew still clung tenaciously to tree leaves even as sunlight worked to burn it away and bring some vestige of warmth to the morning. I felt those golden rays upon me, warmth radiating inwardly, and as my boots hit the ground I breathed in deeply of the crisp morning air. Those first few moments were glorious; the day, and hike, stretched out ahead of me and I revelled in the known path I'd take, that is, I knew I'd take unknown paths today. My boots were on the ground and it felt good. I felt good.

The sounds of nowhere

They played in counterpoint to the rhythmic crunch of my boots on the track; the sounds of nature.

The trees around me creaked as their boughs moved slightly, slaves to the morning breeze, their leaves fluttered, a million tiny pennons snapping in the wind. Birds flitted here and there, I could hear their wings as they alighted from branches and nests, burst into the air, and they glorified in the gift of flight. Their calls seemed triumphant, almost mocking me for being land-bound and flightless. Grasses swayed, the dry summer grasses rasping against each other loudly and the lush winter grasses much softer, more subdued. Such a beautiful white noise.

I was nowhere, an unnamed place, upon planet Earth, the only human, and I brought my own sounds.

My boots crunched the path, grasses, lush and dry, scrunched beneath their sturdy soles and they scraped upon rocks as I stepped on them crossing creeks and rocky sections of track. My breathing came faster at some points as I climbed, the straps of my backpack rubbed slightly on my shoulders, fabric on fabric, water sloshed in my hydration pack...human sounds, but not out of place.

20220523_143409-COLLAGE.jpg

Moments alone

I enjoy moments like this, hikes upon which I see no one and say nothing.

As I move through nature I get the feeling I'm walking away from everything, that I'm leaving the world and it's strife, turmoil, stress and worry behind. I live amongst humans, we all do, however I like to walk away, become a simple part of nature, and apart from humankind; it's there I find myself. It's there I find peace.

Sunday lunch

Trail mix tastes better when eaten on a trail whilst hiking. I get a sense of connection to my Neanderthal past: Nuts, berries and seeds sustained their lives as it does on the trail for me now.

I'm a little more civilised though, and brought my JetBoil so I could brew up a hot coffee. I sat on the ground, watching the creek meander by with birdsong floating down from on high, eating the small can of tomato and onion flavoured tuna fish and crackers which felt like a feast; simple food tastes better in moments like this. Sure, I could be sitting in a café in a fashionable part of the city, surrounded by strangers [strange humans], but would I feel connected to the planet as I do in the wilderness? Would I feel as connected with myself as I do? No, of course not.

Walking away and coming back

Life, our set amount of time allotted to us on this planet, is unknown.

I recall, as a younger man, not thinking about life, the end of it or how to best value it and use it. I do now though, and I fill mine with as many experiences as I can because I know all too clearly how easily it can be taken from us. This is one of those experiences; hiking.

It's not just about walking away from society, getting exercise or fresh air...it's about drawing closer to myself, thinking without thought to anything but myself, wellbeing, enjoyment and gratitude...It's about living.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Any images in this post are my own

Sort:  

One could presume you are walking off into the sunset, but I'm with you I on this, you are walking towards you. The sights, the sounds, the rhythmic sound of boots hitting ground.

Sounds very grounding.

I tried to run away from me once, it didn't work. It seems I'm able to keep up with myself quite easily. But yeah, I knew you'd get it, should you have read this post, which you did. Thank you. I hope you had a great weekend.

It's me that is thanking you. The words are soulful, really soul food, not arrogant, yet very directed.

Busy, but productive. Cleo miss you?

Thanks Swigs, you're too kind to a knucklheaded man like me.

Cleo missed me so much. She's hardly left my side since I got home, a condition I'm happy with because I missed her too.

Trail mix indeed tastes better on a hike.
"Move it or lose it."

And when trail mix doesn't work, there's always Mars bars!

I love the poetic way you described the sounds of your hike, @galenkp. The sounds of nature, and those we make ourselves, are in harmony on a hike. It's a magical thing.

Trail mix tastes better when eaten on a trail whilst hiking.

So true!

Poetry...Not my strong point, but certainly hiking seems like poetry in motion to me. I think it's the way I feel cradled within the hand of the world, nurtured as part of it rather than just being on it, that makes me feel that way. I feel like an integral part of the planet, albeit it a small part, rather than an add-on.

Trail mix tastes better when eaten on a trail whilst hiking.

It might also have had something to do with the white chocolate bits and dried cranberries in the mix.

Well said! Being lets a person integrate with the natural world, instead of just seeing it from a window.

And yeah, M&Ms will do the trick too!

Now you made me want M&M's.

The sound of nature is beautiful and one finds solace in its embrace. Life is an unknown circle bringing us different challenges and chances and we have to use them in a fun, wise, beautiful, and humorous way because life can be taken away at any time. Your hike story takes one back to the unknown trail of the forest.

It makes sense to make the most of life, here and now, as the future is unknown. I tend to live in the moment with a healthy amount if forward focus as I want to plan for the future also. It's a balanced approach I guess.

Thanks for commenting.

I know that feeling of disconnection from everything but the earth and oneself, it's always a welcome feeling to submerge in.

Trail mix brings back lovely memories.

I need a hike.

I usually make my own trail mix as I like to add in a few non-conventional things and omit some of the more sugar-loaded items. Having said that, there's some really good options out there these days so buying it works too.

Water and trail mix, when hiking, is the best right?

They most certainly are, so the chocolate and cranberries were your additions? I do that with muesli. I buy the most basic option and then will buy a few small packets of mixed nuts, raising, currents, sometimes dried cranberries (they tend to be pricey here) and dried orange peel bits.

I'm glad you enjoyed some time outdoors, I can imagine that you missed your hikes while you were away, so must have been nice to reconnect like that. I'm only slightly green with envy lol.

Yep, exactly what I do myself. Basic +.

I add goji berries as well, cashew nuts, pine nuts etc. I don't always add chocolate, but usually some dried apricots.

Ooh dried apricots are a good one. I used to love eating dried apple rings, I haven't added either of these to muesli before, I think I'll give it a try. Cashew nuts absolutely.

Which is your fave nut? (There was no pun intended here and yet I am expecting it could get taken out of context lol) I am a bit of a Macadamia fan. I don't know why, but I've always loved them. Nom nom nom.

Which is your fave nut?

Hmm, as a bona fide nutbag I feel completely qualified to answer this. I'm fond of two nuts, attached to them really, but let's not talk about them right now...I'd have to say cashew nuts are my favourite all-round nut although I really like macadamias (in vanilla ice cream) and glazed almonds as well, not that glazed almonds and vanilla ice cream is good for me.

😂 I can understand why you are attached to them. I will refrain from dwelling on said topic. Of course glazed almonds, I must say anything nutty in vanilla ice cream is a win. I know that you're not supposed to eat it, but it's worth it occasionally I think.

The old man was walking in the desert. He was met by a man in a jeep.

  • Good man, do you want me to take you?
    There is still a lot to the first village.

Old man:

  • No thanks, I don't have time.

❤️🐪
This topic has been relevant to me lately.

Carpe diem! ☀️❤️💪

This is a nice little comment highlighting the importance of living one's moments. I think people would be a lot more content with their lives if they had this ethos.

Thanks. 🙏

I see we understand each other well. 😊
it is nice when a person realizes that he is not the only admirer of a healthy life and awareness of the downfall that is happening to us.

I wish you all the best!

I think so too; having clear vision in respect of one's life, goals, ethos and place in the world is important to finding true happiness.

My boys do not like hiking, so I do not get to go out as much as I would like to. When I do get to, though, I try to get as deep into the woods as possible, as far away from all the noise as possible, so all I can hear is the wind ruffling through the trees, birds singing above, and the smell of fresh air. That's practically religion to me.

I know exactly what you mean and why you value it so much. I'm glad so many do not though, it leaves more (unspoiled by others) wilderness for me. I hope you get to hike soon.

I LOVE this! It's SO true! Simple foods like a tin of tuna and trail mix taste so much better out in nature somehow haha.

But I can relate to being alone, out in nature. Whether it's a hike in the hills, or swimming in a river, etc. it's a great time to reflect, and find peace & solitude.

I had a similar experience yesterday when we went to a cenote nearby.
It was strange because there were quite a few people there but somehow the water felt cleansing and healing, and I had a few moments where I'd just close my eyes without any thoughts. Amazing.

Thank you for sharing!

Living in cities as we generally do, tends to separate us from nature and I don't think that's a good thing which is why I spend so much time with nature and natural places. I think you understand completely. I'm glad to hear you found somewhere to go which gives the same feelings I get from nature, I think it helps a person find balance.

Moments like this makes us understand ourselves the more and make simple things count even more. I've always wanted to move closer to nature as though I am leaving everything behind too. It's a sign of fresh air...that signals hope and beautiful things to come.

I hope you are working on writing a book sir? I love the way you play with words and you wield their swords with intent to strike. You know how to play with words to get your message across. I can never get tired of reading your posts.

I hope your legs feel fine after the hiking? I know I will get to try this out one day hahaha...just one day...

I'm not writing a book, no, I'm just living life. I could turn the experiences into words I guess, but I'm content just to live them.

I had a good hike and it brought some leg soreness, that's the nature of it, but it's not a problem, that helps me remember the hike after it's finished.

Hahahhaha you live the hike after the hike. That's super cool. I hope the soreness goes down. I am enjoying your words daily... Hive is enough as a book since it can always be a reference point. Well done sir and kisses to Cleo.

I usually just walk away in my head...LOL... but I do love nature and the outdoors.

I enjoyed your description of your surroundings and the sounds. You made it pleasant to imagine.

I don't think I've ever had coffee outside more than my porch or my Mom's porch. I can only imagine too that it would be enjoyable.

I've always been a realist, in knowing that I will one day perish, but I never felt my mortality so strongly till after my brother passed. He was only a year and a half older than me and now at 65, I have had 5 years more of life than he got. It was devastating to lose him. It's not that I am so distraught now that I live under a cloud of doom and I'm not sure I can explain it exactly. It just seems there is no sense in making future plans, because... why? I may not even still be here. I know how idiotic that sounds, but somehow it has had a bit of that affect on me. I know it should make me do everything I can, but sometimes it works the opposite. I'm sure there is some sort of condition that has an unpronounceable name for it. LOL

I understand I guess, loss makes us see our own demise a little more clearly. I also understand the no sense making plans comment but...there is sense!

You see, you're still here, thankfully, and you don't know the moment in which you'll not be here. You don't need to take big hikes or do big things, have big plans, but whilst you're here you should shine your light into the corners, the dark spaces, and see what it reveals. Who knows, there might be something interesting there.

Try something small, a plan that is easily achieved for the following day or week. You may find that practice becomes a habit. Live for today, understand that tomorrow will one day not come, but plan for it anyway, which will help you put more into today...every today you have left.

I'm sure there is some sort of condition that has an unpronounceable name for it.

It's: unlivingerisingfortodayerism.

I KNEW I wouldn't be able to pronounce it ! 😂

Lol, indeed. It's one of those difficult scientific terms.

Becoming small in nature, realization there is sound everywhere, some way more pleasant than others. When out enjoying nature, no talking whoever is along is imperative or you might miss hearing a song you will never hear again.

Outdoors hold the same power over me, although not long hikes anymore some good walks as one gets older to cherish being away in your own headspace.

In one's own headspace is a nice place to be sometimes, if we stayed there a little more we'd better understand ourselves.

Having ones own headspace certainly gives time to re-index, let go of stupid, find new to fill the space.

It certainly does. Thanks for commenting Joan, I appreciate it.

Most towns and cities filled to capacity with people complaining, never lift their butt to do anything constructive.

!BEER - have an amazing new week.

Congratulations @galenkp! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 5 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Month - New Tracking Calendar
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!