Blooming cactus - Mediolobivia atrovirens

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

I was waiting for this one to open. I watched the bud to form and grow for a few weeks and I was checking every day so I dont miss it. And here it finally is!!

Mediolobivia atrovirens


Mediolobivia atrovirens 2.jpg

I have this little one for almost two years. Received it as a unrooted cutting. Tiny little thing it was. I planted it together with other cuttings in a community pot where they had enough room to start growing roots.
Last year it was already quite big, but it had some problems with bugs attacking it's growing tip. That's why there are some ugly marks on it and she has a bit of a wonky shape.

Earlier this year I split all the kiddos from the community pot and put them in separate, larger pots to suit their size. She started to grow really fast, but I didn't expect any flowers yet.
What a surprise I had when one day I saw a tiny, tiny bud on a side.

Mediolobivia atrovirens 4.jpg

Mediolobivia atrovirens also called Rebutia atrovirens is native to Bolivia and Argentina and can be found on 3000-4000 m above the sea level. It grows on rocks often hiding between some gasses. And here is a good advise I actually took from fellow orchid growers - knowing where the plant comes from and what are it's natural habitat is the key to successful growing. Only the info above tells me that it like to have dappled sun (growing on grass) and very fast, rocky substrate to grow. It can also withstand lower temperatures and big temperature differences between day and night (the elevation it grows on). If I manage to provide all that - I am sure she will be happy.

The cactus itself doesn't grow very big and the spines are very soft and flexible. The dark green body can turn more purple when stresses, usually when it gets too hot in summer.
It also has a fat tap root which is sensitive to overwatering, and can store water and nutrients for a longer period of time. Those tap roots often will shrink ( when the plant doesn't receive enough water or during the winter rest) and may pull the plant deeper to the ground. Looks like the cactus is hiding.
Besides the flowers you may spot a tiny little baby on the side. That is also a nice sign. With time they will create a nice clump. And the more little plants, the more flowers every year (that is if don't kill it in the meantime).

Mediolobivia atrovirens 3.jpg

Mediolobivia atrovirens 5.jpg
You can see the little offshot on the left and two more buds next to the flower

Some cacti bloom just for one day, some last few days. This one is on it's third day and still looking good. I was hoping to get some sun so the bloom would fully open, but the weather do not want to cooperate and it has been pretty cloudy and rainy for the past few days. Still decided to take some photos in case I don't get any sun later or the flower will fade.
I notices 3 more tiny buds. If they don't blast I might have a chance for a sunny photo shot.

Mediolobivia atrovirens flower 1.jpg
With roommates.

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum

Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King

Gymnocalycium Brushii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis

cactus banner.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...
Check the last update here

You have so many cool little cacti.

Thanks! And that is still not all :) Just the ones that bloomed.

Manually curated by @minnowvotes

Thank you :)

Complimenti @ewkaw, Beautiful plant and substrate!
I love the final layout !!!! Can i copy? = ///: DD ^^ :DD

Thank you!
Sure you can :)

I've always imagined a layout like this!
This also collects old article, beautiful blooms!

Yeaaa and I can see them all on one place and easy to find.
Do you know how to do it?

Unfortunately no =// I'm trying to understand, I can't find the html codes ://

I will catch you on Discord :)

I love the flower. It is so beautiful. Unfortunately my wife had to put on hold her cacti project because of the situation now. But we will sure pick up on this once the pandemic settles down. Thanks for sharing this. Made me more resolved to start on our cacti project.

Oh such a shame.. But you still manage to take care of the plants in the garden?
Cacti can wait :)

Yes we still manage to take care of the plants. But due to the limited mobility she's concentrating on her Sansevieria's and Aloe Vera's, repotting and propagating them. And would you believe she's taken up two diy's now that we are on lockdown - soap making and oil candles. Will be doing a post about these soon :)

Oh that is so cool! I'd like to make my own soap... one day maybe :)

Beautiful flowering cacti again!)
Eh, I definitely need to get myself a couple again)

Thanks!
You, you do! :D And then a couple more...