Cleo and Teddy Merlin

in OCD3 years ago

20211031_220617.jpg

If having a soul means being able to feel love and loyalty and gratitude, then animals are better off than a lot of humans.

- James Herriot -


When I lost my cat Merlin just over a year ago I was devastated. We'd been together for twenty two years and I counted him as my best mate; he always there to listen to me, have a snuggle or just sit and keep me company. We went through a lot together that little man and I and losing him wasn't a good time for me; I felt I'd lost such a huge part of my life and in truth I had.

I still had my girl Cleo, a stray I took in when she was only around five weeks old, and whilst I never loved one more than the other, she became the sole focus of my attention from the moment I came home from the vet with Merlin wrapped up for burial. I dealt with Merlin then scooped her up and we had a cuddle. It helped me of course and I believe she felt the loss also, and needed my closeness; she snuggled a little more deeply in my arms and pressed her face into my neck and we sat there missing Merlin.

Over the next day or two I noticed Cleo wandering about aimlessly; it was like she couldn't get comfortable in her usual spots and I understood; I felt the same.

Merlin and Cleo were inseparable and from the moment she came into the house he took charge making sure she was comfortable, entertained and protected. He would give up his comfortable spots if she wanted them, groomed her, searched for her at dinner time and brought her to the dinner table even letting her eat first and generally snuggled a lot with her; a constant companion. She loved it of course, took liberties and acted like the entitled Cleopatra that she was and is. Merlin loved her though and she loved him back. I loved them both.

Rally SA 2014 Mt Crawford 119 (1).jpg

About a week later Cleo still seemed a little out of sorts so I decided to buy a black panther soft-toy teddy-bear thing for her. I brought it home and dubbed it Teddy Merlin placing it on the couch beside her. It didn't go well. She didn't like it at all. Cleo is a loving cat but only with me; she doesn't like change much either, most cats don't. She didn't like Teddy Merlin being in the house and gave him a wide berth. Ok, that was a massive failure I guess and I felt a little sad.

I kept Teddy Merlin though. He'd sit on top of my piano, on the back of the lounge suite, on the end of the bed and in various other locations in which the real Merlin often lounged. I even found myself absent-mindedly mistaking Teddy Merlin for the real one which was heart wrenching to say the least. But Teddy Merlin was good to have around.

20211031_214225-COLLAGE.jpg

Cleo didn't have anything to do with Teddy Merlin though and after well over a year I'd given up. But...A few days ago I put Teddy Merlin on the couch for something different. I was actually cleaning and he was in the way. I went about my chores then came back into the lounge room and...

...There was Cleo snuggled up with Teddy Merlin in the same way she used to with the real Merlin. It broke my heart all over again but made me smile too.

I took these photos on my phone thinking it wouldn't last but it did. Over the last few days Cleo has gone back to Teddy Merlin and snuggled in exactly the same way she did with Merlin himself, an image of which you can see above. It was just so cute the way they snuggled together.

I've read that cats have memory recall that spans some ten years in certain circumstances although I'm not sure about that. I don't know if Cleo remembers Merlin or why she's taken to Teddy Merlin lately but I like to think she remembers and finds solace in the company of his teddy-version.

For me, well I take a great deal of solace from having Cleo with me and am really pleased to see her snuggling with Teddy Merlin. It reminds me of how she and Merlin would snuggle and it puts a smile on my face when I think about it. That's not a bad thing.

Losing pets is painful and I often find myself wondering if Merlin knew how much I loved him and what he meant to me; I like to think he did. I was with him at the last. His eyes closed and his head slowly dipped into my hand which cradled it. The left him and I felt like some of me died also; I felt wretched and alone without him. It was a terrible moment and I was inconsolable. Five days later my dad passed away...It was a difficult week.

I remember Merlin fondly every single day and whilst the thought of that little chap brings tears to my eyes it also brings happiness; we had an amazing time together. I pour all my love into Cleo now knowing she'll leave me also but I have her right now and she brings me more joy than I could possibly explain in words. I'm happy she's snuggling up with Teddy Merlin now and it makes me feel, in some strange way, that he's still here with us.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

All images are mine

Sort:  

Aww. Animals are heartbreakers, and strangely enough I also have a sad story involving a cat named Cleo...

My favorite cat of all time was an orange and white Tom named Goofer. He was born into our family from our Calico mama Ally when I was 11. He was cross eyed when he was a kitten which inspired his name, cutest, funniest little guy ever.

He was truly the most loving cat, and also a bit evolved for a feline- he would walk beside me on the trails near our house, always came when called even outdoors if he could hear us, and never once hissed or showed his claws...to a human anyway.

Other animals were a different story, he was a fighter. Sometimes he'd come back with a swollen eye, a bloody nose, etc.

Enter Cleo. My best friend lived down the street from us and Cleo was hers, a long haired grey cat that she got when Goofy was about six months old. From the moment Goof and her met they were constantly together. My friend's mom got the biggest kick out of him because he would literally come to their porch and tap on the door until they let her out to play with him.

When he was five years old he and Cleo traipsed off into the woods as usual, but normally they would be home before dinner.

On this day Cleo finally turned up home after dark, but Goof was not with her.
Of course we searched and called for him for days.. in the meantime Cleo barely moved off the welcome rug by their front door and refused to eat. She literally went into a depression that lasted a good ten days.

Eventually we had to accept that he was gone, our theory is he got into a fight with something bigger than he could handle, probably a raccoon.

I was devastated, but it was then that I learned animals had much deeper levels of emotion than most people give them credit for.

(I'd like to think your Cleo remembers her best friend too)

Oh no, I didn't expect the way this story turned out for the Goofmeister. Sad for all concerned.

It's incredible how animals have similar emotions to humans and this story proves it. Sure, the probably get on with things more readily than humans but they still feel loss, happiness, sadness, fear, anger and so on.

I miss Merlin so much. He was a bit of an outdoorsman like Goofs too. Maybe they're hanging out together right now huh?

That's an awesome image, I love it!

It was a long time ago, but I still miss him too. Especially since no other kitty has quite compared, he was unique!

It was a long time ago, but I still miss him

It's likely not to go away. That's how I want it anyway. 😺

Aw man, I feel a tear coming on. That is the sweetest yet most heartbreaking thing ever. In a nice but heart strings tugging way. Its so good she is snuggling up with Teddy Merlin. At first I had to do a double take to realise that Teddy Merlin was a toy and not the real deal

Yeah, it's a bit like that huh? Made me a bit sad writing this to be honest but then again missing Merlin always does.

Teddy Merlin is about the same size as the real one was and so it's funny to walk into the room and see Cleo snuggled up with it...Makes me remember the good old days. They were so connected and rarely apart. Cleo was a scamp though...She'd wait until Merlin warmed up a nice spot then claim it. He always gave it up for her too. He was an amazing cat.

I feel ya dude. I was talking about cats past with the missus. They leave a big hole in the heart when they leave us. Its awesome that she is snuggling up with Teddy Merlin tho, it must give her a measure of comfort. I do think boy cats are sometimes the most affectionate amazeballs cats ever, here's to Merlin! They live on in inside us.

That is such a touching story. Galen. @galenkp I have no idea why, but, most cats are loving and very therapeutic, if I must say so myself. I got a little kitten when I left home and although I had the travel bug, I still missed home. Funny how those little bits of fur can really make a difference in life.

I know how you love Cleo and, just like a child, you never think you are going to love another quite as much, and yet... it is the most natural thing in the world. I am so happy that your adult life has been filled with so much joy with your beautiful babies.

Thanks Denise, my cats have indeed brought me a lot of happiness and joy; I'd not be without them despite knowing at some stage they will leave. I accept the misery of their leaving me whilst embracing the joy of their presence whilst with me.

I feel the same way. Even though I know I will most likely out with my beautiful pets, it is still worth the joy they bring me in the love that I can give them well we have each other. Thank you for posting such a beautiful piece and I hope you have a wonderful day.

I hope you also have a great Wednesday, when it arrives. 😀

In real sense, if it's about loyalty and gratitude, animals are really better than human. They are so appreciative and show real love. It's so sad to hear that you loss Merlin,a very dear and good cat indeed. I hope God give you the fortitude to bear the loss and may your love for Cleo be an everlasting one. Stay safe and have a wonderful day.

Thank you for your kind message.

Having pets will always mean losing pets, well typically anyway. I've had four cats of my own and have lost three whom I think of constantly and with love. It's painful to lose them but it's a cost one must accept to have them in one's life. Merlin was such a great cat and I'll always remember him with great love. I miss him every day.

I can feel the sadness at the loss of the most beloved pet, all the memories of the time with him will continue to linger in my mind.
I am also a cat lover, and for me cats are very cute, stress relief is the best way to approach cats. 🥰🥰🤗🤗

Cats have a way of knowing how humans feel and mine have always provided a great deal of comfort. They might not be able to talk but they are good listeners and know how to make a person feel better.

Yeah, they just signal if they want something, or also to ban us if something goes wrong.

I have heard alot of about how cats are wonderful pets,maybe it is time for me to get myself a cat..

Yeah, that sounds good 🤗

It sure does

Losing a pet can be affect us so much.
I'm sorry about Merlin, @galenkap.

The loss of a pet is devastating indeed and yet we keep putting ourselves in the position to lose them.

I have three Yorkies.
Gwad... I'm preparing myself... to loose any of them.

Enjoy them while they are with you; I think that's the only way to prepare. That way you'll have memories of them when they are not.

And set aside cremation money!

The more deeply you love, the more pain you feel for the loss. And you will always remember and miss him all over again, when you think of him. That's life. But as time goes on, hopefully, the pain will get lesser.

Indeed you're right. I remember him happily mostly now, but the loss still has the ability to make me feel very sad. Cleo helps me return to happiness though.

Cleo really miss Merlin. Cleo, believe me, Merlin saw you up there in heaven. Cleo, you're a cutie girl❤️

Thank you, and yeah Cleo is super-cute. My little bubs.

I'm so sorry for your loss, that must have been very painful. My girlfriend also has a black cat, people often regard black cats as bad luck, but nothing could be further from the truth. Black cats or cats, in general, bring life to our lives, and they make awesome companions in our daily life.

Cats are such great companions and I like the fact one has to work for their affection. Merlin was a little champ and such a caring cat to Cleo. He's very missed.

I agree. Cats have a hard time trusting people, but once you gain their trust, it's something pure. I'm sure Merlin misses you guys too.

So so so sorry to what happen to Merlin, as you have said, he will always be with the same love and keep for through his memories is the same he keeps, I can see he was such lovely and amazing.

And nothing will make Cleo to leave you.

Merlin was indeed a lovely cat and a good mate. He was always knew my moods and was always there for me. He taught Cleo well as she does the same.

I really feel your pains, but believe me Cleo will make you more happier than ever 💪

Funny story Galen! I can see from Cleo's perspective, and from yours too.
Yes, it was thoughtful of you to go out and buy a teddy that looks a lot like Merlin. However, I can see why Cleo resented it totally. I think Cleo felt hurt; like a substitute for her loss. While you on the other hand thought it was the closest thing to make her happy and not miss the real Merlin.
I'm surprised Cleo finally warmed to the teddy, yet it proves just how many layers there are to cats and animals in general.
I think there's an important message in her finally appreciating teddy. Must have been a big surprise with mixed emotions for you. Glad you didn't toss the teddy:)

Cleo doesn't like change and is wary of new things that come into the house. If it happens to be a person she runs and hides in a wardrobe or under the couch. I don't mind that as it means if the house was broken into it's unlikely the intruder would find her which would keep her safe.

She's a lovely little cat in truth. Was funny last night, snuggled beside Teddy Merlin but had a paw reaching out resting on it as if to reassure herself it was there. Maybe be she doesn't relate it to Merlin at all, but it's nice to think she does.

Oh! I thought she was very social and made friends easily. That's cute too.

Maybe she doesn't relate it to Merlin at all, but it's nice to think she does.

I think she does, since it took her so long:) Maybe she's only just come to terms with the loss.

She doesn't like people mostly. She was terrorised as a kitten by a couple kids until saved by a friend and that's the day I took her. She was very young. She loves me though, loves me and I like it that way. If you walked in (anyone actually) you'd not see her.

Haha! I bet you like that Cleo loves you that way:-)
As long as she's happy, and I can tell that she is!

I remember while growing up when I had a dog,I notice that whenever I am sad my dog tend to be sad too and whenever I am happy he is happy too..what even amazes me is that even when I scold him,he still always got my back and willing to protect me and care for me...I wish humans can learn from pets..

Animals can read our emotions for sure; that's why animals are so beneficial to the elderly, infirm or those who suffer dementia and Alzheimer's.

I'm glad you have your dog to keep you company. 😀

Yeah sure...thanks

Not sure how I missed this one. I been falling behind on here as I try to ramp up the cool weather projects.

Glad I happened upon it. As I handed the phone right to @pooky-jax to read after I did. She wanted to know what I had just read that had me choked up and my voice cracking.

Double edged sword when I read something like this, as I know that same kind of loss is in my future. And I smile also wondering if one of our fur kids will step up and try to fill the void. There is no replacing Merlin or Sammi Jo. But we can honor their memory by letting another kitty have the love we had for our lost ones.

It's so hard losing them, but so easy to let them steal our hearts (and lives). I'd not have it any other way.

Thanks for commenting. You missed it because you work all the time, no stress.