Do You Read Curation Posts? Here's Why You Should.

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Sometimes it feels like our feeds feature one curation after another. It's easy to scroll on by and think it doesn't matter or, perhaps because we aren't featured, that it doesn't concern us. But curation is a hugely important part of the Hive ecosystem, and here's a few reasons why you should read one or two a week, and give them the credit they deserve. And I'm not just saying this because I'm the leader of a community that pumps out quite a few curation posts a week - I genuinely think all curation is important, and I try to give at least one other curation from another community, once a week, a nod and a comment. Sometimes I fail - but I try - and I hope you do too, especially after reading this post.

Oh - and why the random images of food? Because it's a nod to @minismallholding and the great curation job she does both on Natural Medicine, and for @homeedders AND for archiving posts that share images for the use of people on HIVE. Check out the community here and start using HIVE photographs for your stock image posts!

image.png
Credit: @derangedvisions

Curation brings value to YOUR content.

It's not just the 'nod' to your post by including you. It's not even just to draw attention to a project. Curators also work to GET you more rewards. They talk about your great posts in private channels. They send it on to projects that might upvote you, like the OCD Community Incubation project run by @acidyo. If you don't believe me, check out this post by @montycashmusic - a perfect example of a post that was nominated to get that extra value. And there's LOTS of examples of this kind of love, and not just in Natural Medicine!

So if you want this chance, you have to support curation with your upvotes and comments, which really makes curators feel their efforts are worth it.

image.png
Credit: @lightcaptured

Curation Gets You Attention

Oh yes, curators notice stuff. They've been around on HIVE for a while, and know who's new and who's trying, and who's cheating the system. They'll notice plagiarism too - and do something about it. So whilst you might be amazing and perfect, someone else might be sucking up rewards for work that isn't theirs, and curators do a good job of making sure that doesn't happen.

Curators also post stuff on Twitter, which hopefully draws more attention to Hive as a whole, but also other Hive/Twitter folk see your post and, if the title and image and content are enticing, they might even pop over and check you out!

image.png
Credit: @qwerrie

Curation Keeps People On-Hive

There's nothing worse than being a small fish in a big pond. Remember, old timers, how it felt to do this freaking awesome post only to have it ignored for little reward? Can you remember how good it felt to get a Curie or have ten people comment on your post? Yeaaaahhhh..... that feeling. Curation keeps that vibe alive on HIVE - and, by reading and commenting on a couple of posts in a curation that you missed in your feed, you can be part of that energy that keeps people here.

image.png
Credit: @crosheille

Curation Pays the Curators

Curators work hard. A lot of what we do on HIVE is on a volunteer basis, because we hope that Hive will moon because of our efforts, and we believe in the projects or communities we are part of. I know a lot of the curators in Natural Medicine do it for the passion, but because of the support of OCD, Abundance Tribe and other whales, we are able to pay our curators a good chunk of post beneficiary (often more than their usual posts) to help them out. And because of this shared abundance, we also set the people we curate - you, the blogger - a small beneficiary too. Other tribes do other thing of course, and I can only speak for Natural Medicine, but I know a lot of curators whose only source of income is their curation, and thus, your upvote and comment means A LOT to them!

I know we are busy, with real life and HIVE life, and I know sometimes curation posts can seem endless and easily scroll past-able, but I also know how important engagement is for this platform. I'm renewing my vows to comment on at least two people featured in every curation post I read this week - and to do my best to comment on a curation post in a project that ISN'T my own community. I'm also going to comment on the curation post as well and thank the curator. I'm under no illusions I can do this every week, but I'm going to try my best to do it when it's humanly possible. How about you?

Oh - and something I forgot to add...

Given a comment below that suggests it's taking away from the reward pool, I wanted to address that here in a further point I should have included! Ah, the beauty of the 'edit' button! I can't speak for other curators or curation projects, but Natural Medicine is always putting HIVE back into the reward pool. By taking small cuts from each post, we power up to increase our HIVE power, so we can continue to support people by upvoting them with a larger vote. The large majority goes to paying the curators, but also beneficiaries go back out to the bloggers featured as well. In this way, we like to think we're spreading abundance - well, that's our intention anyway!

With Love,

https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmcGSZxvsXD8YbSCNAo6KWc4a9RjXyRCjWupZdPXJapkXk

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


PeakD - The Best Way to Experience The Hive Blockchain



Setting all photographers a beneficiary - thanks for joining in to share your work!

Sort:  

Thanks for this post and thanks for the mention.

It's a great idea to use curation posts as a reference if a Hiver is not sure where to start in finding good content.

It's also important like you mention as an individual user to self-curate - this simply means being active. For example, lately I've made a more active effort to comment on posts, even if all I've got to say is a few small words of encouragement or praise. It makes it worthwhile to see real human interaction on a post giving the creators the satisfaction that what they're doing is really being read or seen.

As a side note, I'm not sure what happened to people voting on comments. I vote on comments all the time and use it as a way to encourage engagement - yet since Steem, I see comment votes much less and even if they are replied to with a positive response.

It's a job in itself to be a user on Hive that encourages more engagement and to be authentic in that. Admittedly not all of us have the time to do this all the time.

Thanks for the curators and the curation trails to getting our posts out there into the greater sphere of influence! Thanks to us when we put in the effort and by our interaction create an engaging community that thrives!

Maybe you can provide more links in your post to other curation trails to follow for someone that might be a first timer on Hive?

I agree - I think we need to self curate and be active and not just expect comments on our posts without getting involved on this end ourselves, though sometimes we have to cut ourseles a break too - we can't be present all the time! I like the idea of mentioning other curation trails - it was remiss of me not too, and I might do this in a future post for sure! Thanks!!!

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

So many important points here. My challenge is finding time to do everything...and I really like the creation/content generation. Although I am in a bit of a slump...that will pass..... Be well :D

Thanks so much! I know, it's tricky huh? And no-one should be obligated to do anything, or feel bad that they can't stretch so thin! No judgements here, that's for sure! I have no problem writing or creating most of the time, though some days are better than others - some weeks, in fact! And look, bottom line is next week I'll be the most terrible curator/HIVER ever before the next burst! No moralising here! But I've started to use curations as my first point when I log on now, and go from there. May your hours be fruitful and nourishing - chilling is productive too xx

Indeed, and thank you - and no judgement felt, either - just saying, actually lol. First up, today, and then to get on with other "life" stuff is my Power up Day post...

Happy day/evening to you!

I think curation posts HAVE BEEN invaluable in the past - in the early days of Steem & Hive. But each day there are new tools and more people.... it's far easier to use twitter for content discovery now, and hivesearcher.com around a topic. Free, fast, no delay, no bias, no need to reward the curator and more decentralized. Many would argue that the very high rewards given to some "Weekly Best Of" curations would be far better used rewarding new authors getting only 0.23 for their original content. I have heard others say it's an abuse of the rewards pool, since it's little more than a cut & paste of others work to create rewards. I don't share that view but can see the argument objectively, and it has some validity.

"Should"? LOL. It's a word I avoid like the plague and has little place in a decentralized world.

Curators relying on it for income? Many of them would contribute more to the platform - and earn more - writing their own original content, since curation is HUGELY time consuming.

I think old fashioned curation posts DO still have some place, but it is diminishing daily. The exception is probably curating new to Hive and little seen, undervalued authors. A-la @acidyo & @OCD's requirement the post earnings be under $3. If an author is connected to a community already and geting regular steady upvotes over $3,$4,$5, one might argue they no longer need curation.

We need to be smarter.

Thanks for a helpful post - it helped me refine my thinking about @artemisshares.

Oh, I've heard you use 'should' many times - we all know what it means - it has a place in the English language, so it has a place anywhere haha! We all take 'should' with a grain of salt - no moralising here, just a title that intends to speak to the audience.

FYI - not all posts by OCD require posts to be under $3, as there are other factors that go into it as well. Even 'regular steady upvotes' at 3, 4, and 5 need a boost for moral and for the general support.

Not all people like Twitter, or want to divide their time between HIVE and another social media platform, even those that do it out of obligation. I respect those whose market efforts are centred on Twitter, without a doubt! Just saying it isn't the place for everyone, and that's fair enough too - the internet, or HIVE, is not a one sized fits all place. Hence, decentralisation, as you say.

As for the curations rewarding people getting small rewards for their content, I made an addendum to the post - that is an absolutely valid point. As you know, any extra HP that doesn't go out to the curators goes, in part, to powering up the account so that our vote is worth more FOR these underrewarded users, post beneficiaries for users, and challenge winnings, and tips - phew. It all goes in and around the reward pool in various ways, in that lovely tidal flow and ebb of HIVE. 'Little more than cut and paste' - whilst some curation might be, we know full well it isn't - it's commenting on author's work, upvoting them, reblogging them, handing their post into OCD or other curation pools, helping them out with code and other suggestions, sharing their posts on Twitter, and, as most of Nat Med curators do, forming them into some kind of themed curation that many people enjoy. And of course, they do it because they believe it adds value to the user experience. Bless the curators on HIVE, I say!

The curators I have spoken to (and I concede of course not all curators agree, because of course, HIVE isn't a 'one sized fits all' place) enjoy their curation and also enjoy the rewards, especially when they might not feel the post inspiration that day or even that week when they have other things going on. They relish the opportunity to participate in some way. Curation can be streamlined and organised so that it only takes a short amount of time - as I take note of posts through the week as I go, it takes me less than an hour to do a post, and I don't find it time consuming at all. I understand that you might though, especially with all the busy curation, tweeting and other work you do for the platform.

Very interesting to see other views on curation, and good luck with @artemisshares - I appreciate the curation efforts you have undergone to bring undervalued users rewards and show appreciation for so many people on HIVE.

Oh, and.

!ENGAGE 50

and thanks for the twitter share.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I haven't heard of hivesearcher.com before. Just went to see what it was, then sat there wondering what on earth to put in the search box. 😅 I guess my mind kind of went blank. It's much better than the in house search function, though; if you can figure out what you want to look for.

What I like about the curation posts is that someone has already sifted through and they are more likely to be good reads or information.

Ha, I do that too - what on earth am I searching for here? I just put in the tag into Peakd and it'll come up with those posts. I should try it to find those old posts of mine I never can find without endless scrolling haha...

I sway back and forth while sitting on the fence, because there are good generous curators(NM is one of them) and there are the greedy self-serving ones(which I won't name). The problem is the trending algorithm along with the souless upvote trails not interacting with those they vote on.

The great thing about Hive is that everything is public. I encourage everyone to visit the communities wallet and view the transactions to see if they are powering up their earnings to grow the account or just lining their pockets.

When I see a curator sending all of their earnings to their private account and taking advantage of their delegators, I'll avoid that community like the plague. This is happening, but I only see one huge violator of this trust, who only servives living off the welfare of their delegators.

It would be less of an issue if this practice was advertised on each curation issue, but it isn't. As a matter of fact, some curators claim 100% is used to grow the account in public, while privately draining the earnings for personal gains.

As for the trending algorithm, upvotes should take a backseat to genuine interaction through comments. Seeing the majority of trending articles with 1 huge vote being the only reason they are trending with few or no comments is disheartening to new users and older ones that work their asses off.

I hope that after the devs perfect the back end code, they start playing with the front-end to make the feeds more accurate. First and foremost Hive is championed as a Social Media site and the social aspect needs to be what determines the trends.

As for curation trails being necessary? I don't believe this is the case.Communities can do a very effective job uplifting the content individually without putting out a collection showing off their actions. For me, curation collections are like showing off our good deeds, which is less humble than it should be.

I don't read curation articles and never will. Not once has a curation collection showcased a group of articles I found useful and I'll bet many feel the same way.

It's interesting that the recent spat of articles on the subject are by curators justifying what they do. If they were making Dolphins and Whales, you'd think that random users would be posting about how great Curation Projects are, but you don't.

There are many posts about how Hive has changed lives, but none or few about how Communities and Curation Publications have. There are many ways to curate and curation articles help the least. A Community can support authors in many ways that help them more. Curation Articles are simply a way to fund the higher upvotes from the Community, which brings in delegations and followers of their voting trails.

Loading...

Some interesting points there, all of which I also have a view on - but I am too tired right now. Heard, and acknowledged.

I have to say we don't need humility, always - and I dont see the curation posts that way at all. If you don't read curation articles, that's your choice, but if you've never read them, how do you know they haven't contained useful posts - a bit of a contradiction there haha! I find LOTS of useful posts in curations, but then, Iread them when I can. You can't find something useful if you don't read it. Oh dear. I'm going into some weird rabbit hole...

Yes, it's indeed interesting that curators are justifying what they do, because it's equally interesting that some have criticised them. That's the ebb and flow of HIVE - interesting dialogues about how it's managed. There's a place for everything I believe, unless it's hateful and vindictive.

About how curation has changed lives - that's not true at all. I see people posting all the time about their first big upvotes, and support from communities - if that's not from curation, then what is? I've also seen people write about their excitement for being featured in a curation, and that's really sweet - perhaps you just haven't read the same posts I have, or spoken to the people I have. That's fine too - we all see HIVE differently and I kinda loathe the either/or thing - do it this way or the other. Yawn. You might not find value in curation articles, but others do. Curation articles as simply funding? I don't think anything is 'simply' anything. Ours are certainly not created in the spirit of 'simply funding' at all!

Oh dear. I responded anyway - going for a nap. I'm afraid I probably haven't spoken clearly - as I said, I'm just really tired today!

Of course everything means something different to each individual. The world would be lame if that wasn't the case.

It comes down to this, if you can receive 400 votes, but have less than 1% organic interaction, it's not bringing any real value, except for the author. This happens a lot and especially on curation posts.

Of course I've read and created curation posts, which you know, but I haven't read any in a long time. I live on the trending and recent feeds. You may not realize this, but I joined Steemit in 2016. I learned early on that curations weren't a great way to find the content I want.

To sum up my take, curation posts, while highlighting individuals are not popular and actually over shadow the authors being showcased. They really don't get much of a boost if any from it and the project makes bank, from the curation posts, not the whole of what constitutes curation.

It doesn't need to be that way, but in the current form it is. An this is just an opinion.

Lastly, I see many comments praising Communities and curation, but not posts. Most of those are a courtesy and not really authentic. Many that seem authentic are just attempts to gain cred to get better votes. Not all, but enough.

Interesting! I think we are both probably on the money any way, you know. Xx

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I think curation posts are really important, as they are the easiest way in which to find relative content and creators that you wish to follow. I seem to have less and less time these days to be online, so having these posts helps me to feel connected to the community. Life is all about balance and right now my time is needed more off screen. I do however enjoy curating so when I do these posts myself, it really makes me create some time to just catch up and look at some of the wonderful content that is being created and to provide some words of encouragement, motivation and praise, we all need these right now. I wish I had the time to do them more one on one but I can't right now, so doing it through my curation posts works well for me. I don't find them anymore time consuming than my own posts, my posts usually happen throughout the day anyhow cos I have my 3 girls to look after and they always come first. Sometimes they take days (especially recently),but that's okay cos I'm passionate about this community/platform and really want to contribute in helping to promote other people's content.(which I can through curation) Loving all the tips in this post, it's always good to learn new ways in which to improve our content.
Much love and respect xxxxx

That's so lovely to hear @trucklife-family. You are such an important part of HIVE and the @naturalmedicine community and I appreciate everything you do. Your curation efforts matter - I know it really cheers people up to get a comment from you as you curate. I didn't realise the curation posts took you days - I wish we were really loaded up so we could allocate more funds to you! Abundance will come, I'm sure of it ! xxx

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I am new to the community, well in practical terms I recently began to upload content for @NaturalMedicine, because in essence my way of seeing life and my professional training, are two things that managed to connect me with this wonderful project, I did not know of the existence of the community, had I known before I would have shared all the material I have uploaded for almost 3 years on the platform. Without a doubt, the work that the curators do, is worthy of recognizing my good vibes so that I have the greatest success in everything they do to make visible content about our mother nature.

Thankyou so much for your comment. The fact that you got benefit out of it makes it all worthwhile! And the extra votes we get help build our HP to continue upvoting content from people like you. Xx

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

What about me? I do the same, whenever I can I not only give the upvote, I also comment when I am really interested in the interaction and when I really want to make my opinion known in the post. I know that there are many fish like me who don't do it and that's wrong, because the support must be mutual. Lately I'm seeing these things that you talk about, and that's very good, reading the curators in the articles of the little fish is motivation to continue working, because when you start in HIVE is difficult to achieve this.

I am always grateful to the curators and even though there are moments where I have felt ignored, there are also moments where I reflect and understand the work they have to do and it is not easy to stay at that level of healing.

Now my comments are also in English and in my Spanish language, although I know that I am very ignorant in English I do everything possible to make the message understood and much of that I learn thanks to the community of Natural Medicine in Discord. I also confess that I am using a lot of Deepl translator.

Thank you for this article, it is wonderful to know what to comment and cures the fish, that you feel the intention to share the work and to help those who need it. I am one of them. <3

¿Y qué hay de mí? Yo hago lo mismo, siempre que puedo no sólo doy el voto positivo, sino que también comento cuando estoy realmente interesado en la interacción y cuando realmente quiero dar a conocer mi opinión en el post. Sé que hay muchos peces como yo que no lo hacen y eso está mal, porque el apoyo debe ser mutuo. Últimamente estoy viendo estas cosas de las que hablas, y eso es muy bueno, leer a los curadores en los artículos de los pececitos es una motivación para seguir trabajando, porque cuando te inicias en el VIHE es difícil conseguirlo.

Siempre estoy agradecido a los curadores y aunque hay momentos en los que me he sentido ignorado, también hay momentos en los que reflexiono y comprendo el trabajo que tienen que hacer y no es fácil mantenerse a ese nivel de curación.

Ahora mis comentarios también están en inglés y en mi idioma español, aunque sé que soy muy ignorante en inglés hago todo lo posible para que se entienda el mensaje y mucho de eso lo aprendo gracias a la comunidad de Medicina Natural en Discordia. También confieso que estoy usando mucho traductor de Deepl.

Gracias por este artículo, es maravilloso saber qué comentar y curar a los peces, que se sienta la intención de compartir el trabajo y ayudar a los que lo necesitan. Yo soy uno de ellos. <3

Hey, that deepL translator works really well! And I love your dual language comment - it's awesome!!! It's really hard for dual language folk and I appreciate the efforts you go to! I know, we've all felt ignored on this platform - I guess that's what curation projects like @acidyo's and others try to do - make you NOT feel so ignored. That's a lot of reading, commenting and searching for good content. We do try to feed the little fish as much as we can, though we might miss you sometimes, we really, really do try hard!

Wow! I am very happy to know that Deepl's translator works, I am using it a lot lately to continue my stay in Natural Medicine.

I know, that's why I said it before, I reflect on it when you say that it's a lot of work to cure and that's understandable since it's a study of the articles and there are too many people who publish in the communities.

But here we continue, as a fish I tell you they do an excellent job and I congratulate them for it, they are important in our movements and growth in HIVE. Thank you very much for believing in us.

¡Wow! Estoy muy feliz de saber que el traductor de Deepl funciona, lo estoy usando mucho últimamente para continuar mi estancia en Medicina Natural.

Lo sé, por eso lo dije antes, reflexiono sobre ello cuando dices que es mucho trabajo para curar y eso es comprensible ya que es un estudio de los artículos y hay demasiadas personas que publican en las comunidades.

Pero aquí seguimos, como pez te digo que hacen un excelente trabajo y los felicito por ello, son importantes en nuestros movimientos y en el crecimiento en HIVE. Muchas gracias por creer en nosotros.

Oh yeah - the translations are so much better than Google!!! I learnt something too really - thanks @vincentnijman for recommending them!

De nada, amiga! ;<)

And even if the translation is not accurate, it still makes me laugh and laughing is healthy :>)

@riverflows

Like this example:

as a fish I tell you they do an excellent job and I congratulate them for it,

You must be the first writing fish I ever met ;<)

When I read this, I wondered if your horoscope was Pisces haha.
To be honest, I don't understand that sentence hahaha!

Anyhow, I'm happy you found a way to translate your content @pavanjr

I feel you have a message that is worth being heard.✨

Un abrazo,

Vincent

Hahahahahahahhah yes, fish, as they call the beginners in Hive. But if this made you laugh, that's fine. It's good to laugh. Thank you! :D

Ah, I get it hahaha!

Actually we call(ed) a beginner plankton and bigger users minnows but this was before Hive, when we were still on Steemit.

With Hive we are all bees now, but the fish metaphors are still being used.

En realidad llamamos plancton a un principiante y minnow a usuarios más grandes, pero esto fue antes de Hive ( colmena ), cuando todavía estábamos en Steemit.

Con Hive somos todos abejas, pero las metáforas de los peces siguen siendo utilizadas.

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Very good points here! I’ve been doing a bad job of getting to the curation posts myself lately. The little munchkin hasn’t been going to bed until 10 PM lately for one reason or another so my hive time has been getting reduced as a result. Hopefully a couple days of getting to bed earlier, hopefully 9 will recharge my batteries so I can get out there again!

I remember the days (feeling like an old man lol) where I would post and got not even dust votes. I think those days are why I’m getting out there and at least giving out lots of 30% votes to bring them to at least dust. Then comments encouraging people to keep it up are really helpful as well. I remember those would keep me excited and going a few times on here, at times when it felt frustrating.

I’ll check out Monty’s post, he’s a great follower of mine and I try to visit him when I can!

You know, I've found more value in curation posts since I have got more busy in real life! I often don't have time here or on HIVE to go through searching for the good ones, so I've been using these as a way to catch up! And gosh I know what you mean - it's hard sometimes when you're flat out with real life. We should NEVER berate ourselves about it though - sometimes I feel guilty for not 'doing the hive work', but that's unfair on others, so I shouldn't be hard on ME! Balance, right? yeah, I do the 30 percent vote thing. I barely look at votes anymore myself, because it's not really why I'm here (though jeez, be nice to get a big one like some do once in a while, though I'm of COURSE grateful I get pretty good love!) - but I remember how tough it was when we first started and still see people getting like .30 and really feel for them!

Hope you recharge your batteries and get some sleep! You should see my son's face after having a puppy for two weeks - he's aged at least 5 years haha.

I do my best to read and engage in the Hive community. Time is definitely tight but I am finding small time pockets here and there to add in my two cents (or less cause my vote is not worth much yet 😁)

That's awesome!!! You are amazing - and I love the way you say 'yet' - it does take some hard graft to get there, but forming bonds through community interaction does help you grow!

You’re certainly right 🙌🏻

Aw, thankyou. Don't need to be right - and happy to be corrected. I know curation isn't for everyone, but I do believe it has many positive benefits and is a worthy part of this platform!

Congratulations @riverflows! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

oh wow - dying with happiness!

Haha please don't die! 😉 But glad you are happy 👍🙂

Thank you :)

You are very welcome!

I'm thinking of how this "Stock images" initiative could become even more useful... What type of images you need, speaking generally. I have tons from my photo-travels and also from my studio works. Your input is much appreciated, @riverflows :)

Oh that's definitely a question for the Stock Images founder and co ordinator, @minismallholding!!!!

Not exactly :) As you were the first one to use one of mine and tag me (thanks for the 1% beneficence too), I wanted to know what you would find useful, from a user perspective ;)

Good answer! 😁 This is a question I've been asking, but not always getting an answer to.

Indeed! I would prefer to upload and share more useful images. From my years of stock photos experience it's very hard, almost impossible to predict what people want and need.

Ah! Okay, well, a lot of people say they'd like emotions, like anger and so on. Personally, I like nature shots, but close ups or interestingly arranged things rather than wider views eg shells, frost on leaves etc. Things that tell a story. People in gatherings or groups. Hm. This is interesting!!!! Bees and honey would be popular for HIVE!!! Ocean, waves. Things that generically say stuff, rather than are particular places/identities. Words! eg words on signs 'community' 'love' 'health'.

I'm trying to get into the habit of using them to set an example for other HIVERS, as I think it's such a good idea. I still resort to Unsplash if I can't find what I want, and I often use images of my own taking, but I really want to keep people on HIVE if I can.

Thanks so much, this makes a lot of sense. I'll try to find/create such visuals, given I have the time! Cheers :)

Without being fed by curators how would a little fish ever get to grow?
This is an excellent suggestion and one I strive for all of the time, but so often find that I've run out of hours, the days are just not long enough BUT this will be my 2020 Spring Season Resolution as the days get longer;)
Thank you for all that NM does for the community in educating, guiding, inspiring to name but a few, I for one really appreciate it!

Thanks so much - it's nice to have a vote of confidence. It's hard to please everyone, that's for sure, but we try our best to support people! I like the curation posts too - even after all this time here, I get a kick when I'm mentioned! Genuinely. And I don't care if they're from whale accounts or small accounts - it's just nice to be heard sometimes! Your posts are always so lovely - so glad you are here! Here's to longer days that nourish and support us, and allow productivity as well as rest!

I'm very new to this community so reading the different blogs helps me to navigate what to do. This is a great place to share my photo's and have fun learning from others. Thank you for doing what you do!

Congratulations @riverflows! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Excelente, quiero aprender más sobre la curación

 4 years ago  

I’m late on responding to this but better than never right? First, thank you so much for using my garlic image and for the 1%! That truly means a great deal.

I really appreciate you writing this post as a community organizer and curator I am really big on curation posts. I have seen it do wonders for people, making their work feel appreciated and making them feel more at home here. I was one of those back in 2016 feeling so lonely and as if no one was reading my posts (which I thought weren’t too bad bad the way lol). I remember being chosen for some of the first curation projects and it was a boost of confidence and motivation for me.

I have had people DM me sharing how much they appreciate the extra time and effort spent on highlighting their work that may have not been seen by other curators had they not been featured.

I totally agree about the rewards pool thing. When we power up those rewards from the curation post we are generally setting the stage for us to give better votes to our members as well as others on the chain. Sometimes we let some of the Hive sit there in order to reward for challenges etc. I feel it all works hand in hand.

I too need to find more time to comment on curation posts, I upvote them but seldom have time to comment.

Thanks for this ~

Oh man I can barely keep up! I'm so glad you DID write this comment as it warmed my heart. I feel despair sometimes when people say it doesn't matter and someone here even said it was a lie if people DID say it mattered as they were only doing it for the upvotes! But coming from you, I know you wouldn't say it unless you meant it, so thanks!

I know what you mean about time. I hardly ever get chance, but now I think of those poor curators feeling unappreciated and I HAVE to comment on at least a few!! Not beating myself up if I can't manage it though, just doing what I can.