Sort:  

Haha! You didn't pronounce my name right but that's okay :<)

It's very hard to explain how to pronounce it haha, as it's so typically Dutch.

Nice ramble! I especially liked the part where you fell silent, trying to remember a Spanish phrase :<)

Shit, I need to hear it again. I've been pronouncing it wrong in my head all this time!?

No worries, I never heard a foreigner pronounce it the right way.

Let's say that the Nij- part is pronounced as something in between nigh and naye with a long 'ij' sound, and -man is pronounced as 'mun'.

I need a dutch lesson ;-P

That would be fun. You want me to be your Dutch teacher? ;<)

of course, but im studying 45 languages at once....it might be slow

You are a funny octopus :^)

It’s cool that you are freelancing, it sucks that the visa situation is so tough here. How do you go about getting students?

Keep up the videos man, they are great to look back on and to share your world.

I was trying a bunch of websites that show teachers to students but it's slow AF. I get maybe one or two a year, and due to covid I was losing them faster than that. Now it's a combination of that, friends of friends, old students coming back because covid, and students recommending me.

Thanks man. I can't wait for spring. I don't like to walk around filming like a true influencer, but I'd love to find a corner in the park and record.

I need to get on that because it can be a trip working for companies or even the government. I am currently working at a board of education and they laid off the entire batch of direct hires just when things were going great.

I used to make a lot of videos just a few years ago, but stopped as I was doing too much and in little bout of depression. Keep going dude!

even board of educations are firing people? what's that about? Seems like the govt is spending money on everything else!

Yup! It was a huge suprise. But heard it is happening in a couple prefectures.

I hope your visa situation works out, fingers crossed.

Seems like a lot of documentation mehn and regardless of everything, I am happy you are getting jobs.

I hope it's all works out including your book release.

I enjoyed watching you just talk, it was very calming to me.

Thanks 🙂. I’m trying to get better at focusing when the camera is on me. It’s always much easier when there is someone to bounce off of.

Yeah if you get full sponsorship you can get the documents together in one day but for semi-freelance it takes about a week and I imagine having your own company might take more.

❤️

You are already doing great, I love how natural the video was, it didn't feel like you were faking at all.

Documentation and all is the reason I would want to immigrate through school, I feel it would be easier to that way.

I like the way your video looks. The 16:9 view.. I have been trying to get it but I have not been able to do it.

By the way this is a lot of process. The part of getting all the invoices can be very crazy.

What if you are a professional and still a freelancer?

What's your first book about?

It seems to be different on phones vs. pc. I turn my phone sideways and then I go to the file and flip it cause it shows up upside down sometimes.

My first book is actually cut into parts, around 40 pages each. It's about a homeless man who observes people, meditates, and communicates with trees. It's a little abstract but I think some people might like it :-) Part 1 is here: Confessions of the Damaged, I think Kobo works better than Amazon in a lot of countries.

Part 2 is ready. I'm just waiting for the art. My friend is making the cover, she's amazing and I'm honored to work with her.

The other book I mentioned is kind of a self help book for people who suck at learning languages or self-study. That one I'm about 1/4 finished with after just a few weeks. It's stuff I've been talking about with my students for years so it's really easy for me to just pound it out.

This is really nice

This is the first time am watching you. Feels cool and I smiled alot watching, especially when you slow down some words,I don't know if you do that on purpose anyway.

True, video editing isn't hard for the basics... I'm glad you found your way around it. Like you said, everything in it's time, you will be fine. We all need an helper am glad you have one.

I love Spanish too,been learning for two years now. I love what you did there,hahaha you ran to the system!

I wish you Goodluck in your Visa and I'm looking forward to your next video!

I slow down cause my brain is a mess hahaha. I explained this maybe two videos ago, but my brain always has 4-5 programs at once. I don't think linearly at all (I'll come at a problem from both sides at the same time for example) so it's hard to speak about complex ideas without stopping to think sometimes.

I'm thinking I'll just put up a bunch of stuff and slowly extract the best stuff to edit and polish and put up on youtube to try and draw people to hive and to my writing and future podcast.

:-D Thanks man! Let's practice some spanish together.

Que Estas haciendo ahora? ;-)

I slow down cause my brain is a mess hahaha. I explained this maybe two videos ago

I understand. You will be fine with more rest and happiness.

Thanks man! Let's practice some spanish together.

Hahahaha. Estoy escribiendo una historia de pelicula.

I'm writing a movie review.. I don't know what review means so I used "story". Y tú?

Estoy tomando un baño.
Estas escribiendo reseña de la película

Muy bien amigo.

Sí, ya he (finish) de escribir. Mira por favor.

I don't know what "finish" means again.

Gracias

I look forward to hearing about many great achievements and blessings in the coming days. Thanks for this, sir.

Navigating the Visa Process: A Freelancer's Perspective

In this episode, the host discusses the challenges he is facing as a freelancer trying to secure a visa. As someone who does not have a traditional employer sponsoring his visa application, the host outlines the extensive list of documents and requirements he must fulfill, including obtaining invoices from every client, securing contracts, and providing proof of tax payments.

The Freelancer's Visa Hurdles

The host explains that the visa process for freelancers involves significantly more paperwork and documentation compared to those employed by a company. In addition to the standard passport, ID, and application, freelancers must also provide a tax document confirming their eligibility for freelance work, invoices from every payment received during the year, and contracts or sponsorship letters from their clients. This process can be particularly time-consuming and challenging, especially for those with multiple clients or irregular payment schedules.

Balancing Work and Visa Preparations

Despite the visa-related stress, the host is experiencing a surge of interest from potential clients and students seeking his services as a teacher. While this is positive news, it adds to the delicate balancing act he must maintain between fulfilling his work obligations and ensuring his visa application is complete and submitted in a timely manner.

Focusing on Personal Development

Amidst the visa challenges, the host is also working on his personal goals, including writing two books - a fiction piece and a language learning guide. Additionally, he has been focusing on his physical and mental well-being, incorporating breathing exercises and self-massage techniques to address some of the energy blockages he has identified in his lower body.

Embracing Video Content Creation

The host has also been exploring the world of video content creation, using tools like iMovie and other video editing apps to produce his own videos. This has not only helped him step out of his comfort zone but has also sparked new ideas, such as creating music videos or promotional content for his upcoming books.

Navigating the Changing Social Media Landscape

The host reflects on his previous aversion to social media and modern technology, acknowledging the challenges and polarization that can arise from the algorithms and dynamics of these platforms. However, he also sees the potential for using these tools to build connections and reach people in ways that wouldn't be possible otherwise. He expresses optimism that as more people become aware of the issues, there will be a shift towards greater understanding and collaboration.

Overall, this episode provides a glimpse into the multifaceted life of the host, as he navigates the complexities of the visa process, balances his work and personal commitments, and explores new creative avenues while navigating the evolving social media landscape.