You’re on a vacation right?

in Rant, Complain, Talk2 years ago

DSC05007.JPG

Have fun, enjoy your vacation!

Said people who don’t know that there is no vacation in my life. Even I think, regular people have vacation more than I do because on the day hat is marked red all year, I still don’t have any holiday. Sure, I might visit exotic location but that does not mean I am on vacation. At some point during the day/evening I am glued to the screen and more than regular people do. They say, work hard play hard, that’s how I chose my life to be. If I wanted to forget work, I can’t. The thing is, I am not and will never be, unless I have a sugar daddy. But even if I have a sugar daddy, I would still work and can’t stop thinking about all the things I have to.

Isn’t it terrible? Don’t you feel missing out?

I honestly don’t. It’s pretty cool that I can sustain my life this way, visiting many places, meeting many people, no toxic work environment , and occassionallly at the expense of some postponed things, I could have fun like other people do. In fact, I think at my age, I should work harder and build more connection that would determine my next 10 years. Everyday, I sit with people in their late 20’s to 30’s who have things figure out and they could work from anywhere. I want to be like them who are confident in saying things they do and finally at the point where they can balance their life. I even met those people who are still starting over. Those people gave me a hope; hat even if you fuck up, you can start everything from scratch.

There isn’t a day I feel missing out since essentially, I still experience life just at my own pace. Sometimes, I learn more by not indulging myself in fun. But at the same time, fun things in life also taught me one lesson or two. It’s all about balance and moderation.

A day in my life living in Bali

DSC05016.JPG

Like I mentioned many times, Bali offers many activities to do. So, a day in my life these days is no different than some days in another places. But the variation lies that I go to co-working and also explore some temples when I am in the mood and when I actually want to go. Then, I would go to the co-working space and stayed up until about 1 AM from then on, I would go to sleep and the day repeats. In fact, I have a better way to stay away from my laptop more than if I was staying at my own place. In my own place because I often have nothing to do during the day and it doesn’t get me tired enough, I would still up until 2 Am and hardly stopped. So, in a way, Bali has given me more balanced life than I actually did back home or even years ago.

Mac's Pinmapple Travel List

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this !


image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
Sort:  

So you have become digital normade? :D

I am 30 and I feel like I haven't figured shit out yet and is still working under someone else!
But I have had a lot of fun in my life without balance xD

 2 years ago  

So you have become digital normade? :D

I've always been that way since a long time ago. It's just that in the past, I had school and university. Now, I am not tied to anything. I can be anywhere at anytime if I choose to do so. But after a while and from past experiences, staying longer in a place makes me feel more connected than moving from place to another in just span of a week or two.

Ah amazing!
So what do you do? Freelance? Hive? :P

 2 years ago  

Copywriting, invested early in bitcoin helps :D

Ah nice!
Too that helps too haha xD

I realized that no one ever has their lives figured out. My dad at 70 still gets confused about life lol.

Someone people have their lives figured out.
I would say if you are happy, you have your life figured out

But being happy might just mean you're content whether or not you have it figured out. I don't think anyone has it figured out because nobody really knows what "figured out" entirely is.

No. Content and happiness is different to me

Yes, they are different. However, you can find happiness from contentment, can you not?

I don't believe so. You are either or.

Happiness is like enjoyment of the life right.

Content is just going through motions snd surviving

I guess the idea of a vacation doesn't always mean "rest". Sometimes, it could just mean being at peace. I mean, you enjoy what you do and you also get to check out new places alongside what you do... So why can't your entire life just be a vacation?

A friend always tells me that my definition of fun doesn't have to be his definition of it.

 2 years ago  

Well said! as long as we enjoy what we do, what's the problem, right?

 2 years ago  

In fact, I have a better way to stay away from my laptop more than if I was staying at my own place. In my own place because I often have nothing to do during the day and it doesn’t get me tired enough, I would still up until 2 Am and hardly stopped. So, in a way, Bali has given me more balanced life than I actually did back home or even years ago.

Glad to hear this.

You are living a pretty special life, for a person your age and I applaud you for that as it is based on the choices that you've made so far.

Pretty inspiring :<)

 2 years ago  

It's not a special life at all, sometimes I feel like a misfit floating around this space being wasteful of resources. But then, I realized I worked my ass off in the past just to afford the life I have now and if all goes south, I can always start over, from ground 0.

 2 years ago  

It is as special as you make it. In fact, we're all living unique, special lives.

said the philosoraptor

And yes! you can always start over. Everything is a choice, no matter how hard it is to see or believe that at times ;<)

Once you realize that life is the vacation and decide to spend it doing things you enjoy... you don't need a special destination to feel like you can relax. Just live your life in ways that are congruent with who you want to be and what you want to do and there's nothing to need to escape from.

P.S. I'm gonna try to make it to that side of the marble later this year. We'll see what life has in store... there's already some other travel commitments, but I've been putting off Bali for like a decade and it's time to just do it. Where there's a will there's a way.

 2 years ago  

Just let me know when you get to this side of the world!I would be happy to show you around the island 😄

My general outlook on life is... whatever is gonna happen is gonna happen when it happens and I just go with the flow. I've been feeling called there for so long that it just feels inevitable. I've been avoiding dealing with getting a passport for a while because I don't like the idea of being extorted for a permission slip to leave the prison colony, but it is what it is. Path of least resistance, just pay the them and get on with my life.

I've wanted to meet you for a long time and there's a few others in different countries that I've met along this whole steem/hive journey. On some level feels like I found my tribe but it's mostly digital lol. Oh well, when I make it over there I'll definitely reach out and we can grab coffee or something. I'm down to like 4 cups a day now 😁

 2 years ago  

Sometimes there is a price to pay to do things but hey, the bright side is that you can go anywhere soon and even come to see me 😉😄 I am even up for some drunk adventure if you're around haha

You're doing things YOUR way and I think you're amazing! Never compare yourself to anyone, I have no doubt that everyone sees you and thinks; "Damn, I wish that was me"!

 2 years ago  

I have a bad habit with comparing myself to others. I am slowly learning not to because now, I think that I am not in competition with anyone, it's my life and I live the way I wanted it to be.

I've been feeling so odd with work lately. I'm trying to content create but I feel as if the last train is passing by and I'm missing it. It's stressful for me to balance work, being a mom, rest. I don't ever feel I'm doing it right. If I work too much (which is never enough) I treat and care for my kid poorly, if I take good care for him and also care for me and the house, I don't work at all. I'm starting though, I truly hope it gets easier with time and I can achieve what you have which is being free to travel and work abroad.

It was nice to read you, like a reassurance. Big hug to you!

 2 years ago  

I hope you can finally find the balance. It must be so difficult managing the household with a kid around. I can't really imagine that. You're really dedicated and all. So,take it easy with everything because you know, if you're stressed, it isn't good either.

It is! I'm getting craz😭 but hopefully it will all settle! Thank you!

 2 years ago  

I think you’re an inspirational young woman from what I know of you! Sure there’s a lot of things that other people do but to be a woman out on your own, running your own little business and keeping yourself afloat I think that’s wonderful. You add your own flavor to it which is good as well, instead of just doing what everyone else is doing.

When you’re in a place you enjoy then working is a lot easier and more fun. When we were in a warm state and I was working with this view, yeah it was work but I enjoyed just being there. I actually ended up being more productive than being at home, even though I’m pretty productive as it is!

CA59AD56-46BF-4E96-B579-ACD8E6DCA141.jpeg

Keep doing what you’re doing and having fun your own way!

 2 years ago  

That is such a beautiful view!!! Enjoy the vacation 😃, you and the family deserve it. These past few days, I suddenly feel that what I am doing is weird, it doesn't matter and like I am floating waste of resource. But when I look at the positives, I realized even at the co-working space there are not many people who are young and can be anywhere and support themselves and the family. I am basically also breadwinner in the family 😅 it gave me such a boost knowing that I could do this and on my own! Thanks for the courage!