Beetroot mash with meat boulders, gravy, and an applesauce.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Beetroot mash is the perfect mash for when it gets colder.

It's cozy and as usual, it reminds me of my youth. I grew up on eating mash.

In the past, this recipe was gruesome to make because beetroots are very hard so you have to boil them for at least an hour, then burn your fingers trying to peel em and then grate them.

But through the awesomeness of modern technology, you can now buy them preboiled and pre-peeled in a vacuum package.

Hurray!

This recipe still requires some timing because you will have 4 pots on the stove.


IMG_6381.jpg


Ingredients: Potatoes, beetroot mash preboiled, ground beef, bacon, applesauce, and mustard.


IMG_6344.jpg


Cut the potatoes and put them on the stove to boil.


IMG_6346.jpg


They won't boil straight away so that gives you time to make some meat boulders. Add mustard, salt, and pepper to the meat and form as many balls as you need. I made 3.


IMG_6347.jpg

IMG_6349.jpg

IMG_6350.jpg

IMG_6352.jpg


Put baking butter in a skillet and add the boulders. The water is probably cooking by now. You now have 20 minutes before the potatoes are done.


IMG_6363.jpg

IMG_6351.jpg


Grate the beetroot on a box grater and watch out with your hands!


IMG_6354.jpg

IMG_6355.jpg


Put the beetroot in a pan, add a little water and also start frying the bacon in another skillet. Four pans on the fire by now.


IMG_6360.jpg


After 20 minutes the potatoes are done. Drain them and mash them.


IMG_6365.jpg


Add the beetroot and mash.


IMG_6366.jpg


Add the bacon to the mixture. Also, change the masher for a wooden spoon (you are not a savage!) and add mustard.


IMG_6369.jpg

IMG_6370.jpg


The meat boulders should be done, take them out and add a little bit of water to the skillet to make a gravy.


IMG_6372.jpg


End result. Awesome. This mash is full of flavor, it just works!


ps. Bianca hates applesauce but I love it. My brother and I would go through a jar every night when we were kids!


IMG_6385.jpg


Sort:  

I Loled at "add the boulders"

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.51$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

You made me hungry!That Beetroot mash looks awesomely delicious and colorful.

At first I read applause instead of applesauce. It's a sign I should go to bed. Good night my friend :)

Wow this food seems so good, @exyle have you ever opened a restaurant

lol no, just home cheffing.

wow excellent recipe, well i know about betroot mash that it is so healthy but don't know how to make it but today after reading your post i get good knowledge how to make betroot mash and i also like meat boulders i hope betroot mash will tastes great along with meat boulders, i note down the recipe and i should try it soon, Stay blessed and thanks for sharing

Wow mind blowing. Great presentation i must say. Beets are one of those vegetables we often overlook, and they're rich in nutrients and antioxidant compounds. This recipe is a great way to enjoy beets. Thanks for sharing, i enjoyed it too:)

Wow, this is lovely. I've been following your posts for the past 1week, and I must say, brother life has favorable to you. From all the game playing with @ezzy,to all the grilling at night, to the meal at your mums place, and now this, seriously, I wish to be like you when I grow up.
This is good.

My dear where are the fried onions!
I remember when you were younger you loved ' bietjesstampot' (beetroot mash) with fried bacon AND fried onions! It was a lot to make for five persons, (cooking potatoes, cooking the beets, making balls from the ground beef and preparing them, frying the bacon and the onions and then, when it was all done, you and your brother covered it with applesauce and gravy.
I remember it so well like it was yesterday!

I like mash potato and I like how you cooked the meat but regardless of how good people tell me beetroot is for your health I actually hate the stuff but I eat fruits and veggies instead @exyle

Fantastic.

I have an idea to decrease the number of dishes. Smoke your meat boulders on the BGE. :-)

:0...but of course!

Wow, my friend, these boulder boulders, amaze with their ruddy crust and taste, I'm sure fabulous! Adding beet puree to boulders, makes the dish appetizing in a double! Thanks @exyle for the great recipe.

Mehn you ate thus stuff from youth, it must be really rich in nutrients for you to be this huge (the 2 meter guy, according to bianca post). Am sure giving it a serious try. Thanks for the recipe. The food looks really attractive.

rich in nutrients for you to be this huge

HAHA! man that made me chuckle :)

Glad the humor was well received.

Great cooking. This looks great from the sight. What a great way to enjoy beetroot.
Yeah i agree that technology has made peeling beetroot easier, but then, we saved nutrients and colour, cook beetroot without peeling first, and leave the roots and 2cm of the leaf stems attached. They are easily peeled and trimmed after cooking. But technology has its ups and downs. Nice dish

The real deal is the best, I agree. But I guess my meals are more realistic time wise for most people.

This recipe is really detailed and the food really lovely. In all you posts that involved food, I always saw a bottle of wine sitting comfortably, waiting to accompany your food. Don't mind me, I love wines that's why am curious.

The recipe is inviting! Yummy yummy, feel like eating a ready.

Wow!!, this really look yummy. You are a good cook.
Me I also love any meal that is prepared with potatoes and most especially potatoe porridge

I never get tired to read about your recipes :) Looks very tasty! the only thing I did not quite get, what is it yellow on a side on the last image? Is it also mashed potato but without beetroot?

it's the apple sauce.

Wow i didn't know of this method. This looks great though and will try it.
You can force someone to try a dish from the way you prepare them, because it looks so delicious.
If you’re not a fan of beets, you can serve the mashed sweet potatoes on their own, but the combination of the two is both beautiful and delicious. I prefer steaming both beets and sweet potatoes, but you can also roast or boil them. This dish makes two generous servings and is a great accompaniment to assertive meats like seared duck or lamb. You will like it

This meal looks really delicious, and brother the camera quality is really sharp. I'll like to know what device you use to take your photos, or what app you use to edit them, cause In preparation for my blog posts, I've tried different Cameras, but they've not really been sharp. Thanks

I use an iPhone 7 and use the snapseed app to edit.

Wow. This is amazing. Nice process. I dont even know who cooks better between you and bianca. I guess you are better. Thats the reason you look so good. I wish i had time to make my own dish.
I might just resign so that i have all the time in the world for all your recipes :) and it keeps getting better. Your wife and mum are lucky

Oh my God, week in week out you torture us with your delicacies and all we can just do is stare. Hope you are happy now. Haha.
But you are really gifted. I have not tasted it, but it looks damn good. Your wife is lucky

A lot of work for one meal, but it will pay out. Nothing you get in a restaurant. Looks great.

beetroot mash!??? need to try this....!

We should declare today food day on steemit because i have seen alot of food post today. Hahaha! Nice one @exyle.

Looks very good.

This reminds me of home when I was much younger than now...lol
Instead of meat boulders my mom would make into a loaf of sorts. Beetroot mash is excellent and apple sauce! We loved the stuff. When we lived in Canada I made it from scratch weekly. I love any thing made with apples.

My brother and I ate so much of the stuff my mom always bought a brand called Koelemans in BULK. It was the cheapest one around. I think they no longer exist. It was the best applesauce ever!

Do you eat yours plain or spiced up a little? We use cloves, nutmeg and cinnamon to give added interest...

plain, straight from the jar normally. But I like you idea of spicing it up, never thought about it really. thank you.

You're welcome.

@exyle,
Beetroot I never seen in cooking in this way before! This is amazing! I wish I could test this in upcoming weekend! Great work friend! You got nice recipes everytime!

Cheers~

Great recipe my friend. So much effort you put while cooking and clicking the each step picture, then making a post here. Great use of your time and skill.

thank you.

Wow, this looks really good. Mehn you really love cooking,most of your blog posts have something to do with food. As a suggestion, to reach more audience specific to food, it think you should use the food tag, so that you can get much more responses from people who love food, responses that could help make your cooking and blogging better.
All the best

writing and posting you always good ,,, I often read your post so that I can learn so that my writing becomes better

yummy
upvote me & follow me.

Cooking art and inspiration and creativity in it does not end
Thanks for the recipe
Have my upvote and my resteem @exyle

This food really looks good. The pictures are really sharp. When you weremaking the meat boulders, and you were adding salt and pepper to the meat, I saw Peugeot on the container of the pepper. Does Peugeot now make pepper in Netherland? I thought they were a car manufacturing company.

This is really looking good. Mehn your recipe @exyle is rich and very attractive. When you were adding the bacon to the mixture, the bacon was a little burnt, do I allow mine burn a little before adding it to the mixture.

Actually these pictures look very nice

Looks so good! Thanks for sharing ;)

thanks for this post

very delicious and make me hungry to see this @exyle

Looks nice, I believe it would have tasted good. You can start a food blog too :)

Gonna put that into my FoodDiary! one day lol. Where did you buy beetroot? Im don't think i see it in safeway.

looking yummy yummy :)
kind of getting hungry !

Nice wintery Dutch comfort food, yum!

great recipe

fantastic recipe i will try it thanks for sharing with us such a great recipe

Very nice.

This looks like a great way to spice up dinner, though it's also something I'd gladly serve at a Halloween dinner - That red color sure is intense!

I think this would go really well with mashed sweet potatoes, too. Sweet potatoes taste great but pureeing them often leaves you with a less-than-optimal moisture. The beetroot might just be the healthy way to make it softer and creamier. Also, BACON!

Nice post, do steem on! Upvoted.

Great food!!! Looks super great!

Instead of meat boulders my mom would make into a loaf of sorts. Beetroot mash is excellent and apple sauce! We loved the stuff. When we lived in Canada I made it from scratch weekly.