Nutty Coconut Bread with Flour from Coconut Bagasse (wheat & coconut flours + oats, vegan)

Hi, foodies in the Hive!

I hope you're all feeling happy and healthy 💚

How nice it is to eat a piece of bread that not only tastes good, but you know it's much more nutritious and healthier than what you get at the store. How do you like your bread? I like a lot of breads and since I can't eat wheat flour in large quantities or that often, I try to make my own bread at home and make it worth it. Today a coconut made it all worth it, that's why I want to share with you this great recipe: nutty coconut bread with flour from its bagasse.

image.png
image.png

This bread is very rich in soluble fiber and good fats. In addition to its nutty flavor that comes from the whole bagasse flour and coconut oil, nuts and peanut butter, this bread has a crunchy crust, a soft crumb, and a sweet taste of cane honey and raisins that will make your breakfast a very pleasant experience.

image.png

It doesn't leaven much but is very soft and super satiating. Besides, its strong flavor of coconut is a dream for us who love this fruit.

image.png

The high content of lauric acid in coconut makes consuming it very beneficial for our health, as it increases HDL, reducing the risk of cardiovascular diseases.

You may want to read about the latest research that correlates coconut oil consumption with a decrease in mental illnesses such as Alzheimer's disease. Lately, I have been very interested in this topic and I think we all should be.

image.png

INGREDIENTS

image.png

For the bread:

  • 2 cups cococnut milk (I used homemade)
  • 1 1/2 cups coconut flour (I used homemade)
  • 1/2 oats
  • 1 cup all purpose wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon granulated yeast
  • 1 spoonful coconut oil
  • 1 spoonful peanut butter (I used Skippy, which has salt and sugar)
  • 2 handfuls walnuts
  • 1 handful raisins
  • 1 teaspoon cane sugar
  • 75 ml cane honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

For the coconut milk and flour:

  • 1 dry coconut with its water
  • a pinch of salt for the milk we won't use
  • more water if necessary


image.png

THE PROCESS

image.png

HOMEMADE COCONUT MILK

The first thing I did was to burn the coconut directly on the stove; I turned it a few times with my kitchen tongs so that the heat reached it evenly. Once it cracked, I knew I could get the water out by opening soft pore and then peel the meat out of the husks easily, thanks to the effect of the heat.

image.png

image.png

image.png

I cut the flesh into small pieces of about 1 cm thick without removing the endocarp, as it was important for the flavor and also to have a whole bagasse to make the flour. Then I added the coconut flesh pieces in the blender glass plus its water...

image.png

...and let the blender do the work. At this point, I had to add an extra half cup of water because the coconut flesh was thick..

I used my yogurt dripping bag to pour all the content of the blender glass...

image.png

Then I squeezed.

I got three cups of thick coconut milk. I used two for the bread dough and cooked the rest for 3-4 minutes without bringing it to a boil; I added the salt, mixed, and reserved. I'd use it later for plant based latte to go with some of the bread.

image.png

HOMEMADE WHOLE-BAGASSE COCONUT FLOUR

I made this flour while the bread preferment was activating.

To make the homemade coconut flour, first, I poured all the coconut bagasse into a tray, all that was left inside the bag after squeezing the coconut pieces to get the milk out; with my hands, I distributed it evenly in the tray. Second, I put the tray in the oven for one hour at 200° F.

image.png

While it was "dehydrating," I stirred it a couple of times.

image.png

Then I sifted the dried coconut bagasse to get a neater flour.

image.png
image.png

TIME TO MAKE THE DOUGH 😋

To start the process of making the dough for this bread, I made a preferment using the warm coconut milk I had just made.

I added half of the wheat flour, the granulated yeast, and a little sugar to speed up fermentation a little.

image.png
image.png

I left this to rise while I finished making the coconut bagasse flour. After an hour or so, it had big bubbles trying to thrive in the thick mixture. It looked nice, ready to make delicious bread.

image.png

In the same bowl, I added the rest of the ingredients, except the cane honey, walnuts, and raisins. Those I'd add after kneading.

image.png
image.png

...and mixed well, which was actually very easy, as the dough was smooth because of the fat in it.

At thi spoint, it was time to add the cane honey, walnuts and raisins.

image.png

I shaped the dough into a ball and covered the bol to let it rest in the dark until it doubled its size.

image.png

After a couple of hours, the dough had doubled its size.

image.png

It was light but not too flexible. It happens when you use little wheat flour and much fiber. It's good in this case.

SHAPING THE LOAF

This was the easiest thing. I didn't used a rolling pin but on the clean counter, I flattened the dough to 2 cm thick and then rolled it into a loaf. I had to be careful not to break the dough because, as I said, it wasn't very flexible.

image.png

I let it rest for half an hour before getting it into my little electric oven.

image.png

It baked for an hour at 300° F. And I let it rest all night long as I went to sleep.

image.png

Next day, I was eager to have thos bread for breakfast. As you can see below, it didn't grow much, but I was sure it was soft on the inside, so no biggie. The crust was golden brown and crispy. Loved it.

image.png

I sliced it smoothly.

image.png

...took some slices to toast in the oven.

image.png

Yum-yum!

image.png

A little jam, creamy coconut milk latte, and that's it. Delicious breakfast ❤️

image.png

As always, I hope you've found this post useful 😁❤️

Bon appetite!

image.png

image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

Sort:  

Wow that was a glorious and epic post! It not only makes me salivate but it inspires me.

Coconut heaven is what it is. The work to process fresh coconut into flour and milk is incredible let alone make this bread.

I happen to have a couple of bags of coconut flour that I don't know what to do with. I would prefer fresh coconut but here in Canada it is not worth the risk of a dry imported coconut. If I am brave I may try this some day. I think my success at making this may be less likely then me flying down to your house and having a piece of yours haha.

Thanks for the awesome tutorial my friend!😊💚

Thank you so much for the motivation, my friend. We're lucky to have coconuts everywhere around here. I paid $2 for 5 units, enough for 4 lts of milk. Not bad. And now I'm making the most of the bagasse. I think you'd like this bread; it's not fluffy but has a nice crust and is really soft on the inside. I think your coconut flour should work better than the one I made. I'm making little experiments, getting to know it. It's good to sprinkle on salads ✨😌

When's your flight?! 🤣

This looks amazing. I will give it a try but sub the wholemeal flour for buckwheat! My husband has an autoimmune disease and has to be very careful with gluten. Though he can occasionally have them, we try to limit gluten-containing foods to an absolute minimum. I love how you make your own coconut milk and flour! Thanks for sharing!

So nice to see you ❤️ Buckwheat flour is nice alternative. I remember very well your husband's sensitivity to gluten. Both my husband and I try not to consume it two days in a row and, ideally, go a week without consuming anything with gluten so we can indulge in a little gluten sin on the weekend. That's the way we are doing it, but your husband's case is to be taken more seriously. I hope you're both doing well now that you've found a place you like.

Thank you so much for dropping by!😁

Oooh, pero que delicioso se ve este pan hecho con el bagazo del coco hermosamente convertido en harina de coco.

A mí me encanta hacer pan en casa , así que me anoto para hacer esta estupenda receta que además es súper nutritiva como a me gusta. Jeje!

Una pequeña anécdota: El domingo fui al mercado y estaba feliz porque encontré un lugar donde tenían unos cocos que al parecer los traen de Perú. Compré uno y cuando lo abrí en casa estaba rancio. Me quería morir! Pero, bueno en una tierra donde no se da el coco creo que es cuestión de suerte conseguir uno fresco.😢

Gracias, @marlyncabrera por compartir este pan para los que amamos el coco y buscamos opciones diferentes y mas sanas

Mira, lo de los cocos malos es tan común que no me extraña para nada de los cocos importados. Yo he aprendido que me duran más si los protejo de la luz y los mantengo fuera de la nevera. Hoy hice leche y harina de nuevo con uno que tenía 8 días en la mesa de la cocina; lo abrí y estaba perfecto. Me sorprendió que estuviera bueno. Los cocos son delicaditos aunque no lo parezcan por fuera, con su concha dura y demás.

Si pruebas esta receta no te vas a arrepentir; lo que puede pasar es que te quede más bonito 😂

Gracias por pasar y por la motivación, mi querida Zu ❤️

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @foodiesunite @sirenahippie 😁❤️ Much appreciated!

Dios! quiero pan de este en mi vida jajaja, bitácora del martes 8:50 A.M , hace mucho frío la cocina esta apagada, no se oyen pasos en la casa, solo el rugir furioso de un estomago 🤣 , bueno ya voy activar la estufa esto no se puede quedar así jajaja, tengo que hacer este pan, se ve demasiado bueno

Sólo esa bitácora y quien la lleva conocen todos los rugidos que entraña 😂 Seguramente tú conseguirías hacer que este pan quedara de foto. Te cuento que la harina de coco está muy buena para ponerle a las ensaladas. La probaré en empanizado a ver qué tal. Ando experimentando, para ver qué puedo compartir por aquí.

Gracias por pasar y, además, con hambre ❤️😁

Sigo con hambre 🤣😋 quiero harina de coco también jajaja

Bueno, échale pichón. Se deja comer solita. Y creo que voy a versionar tus galletas para ponerle de la que hice con el coco que hoy fue sacrificado.

Jajaja quiero cocooooo 🤪


You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here | Curation Trail

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @plantpoweronhive 💚😁

Este pan es un sueño, casi que huele a través del monitor, realmente delicioso, nutritivo y con mucha fibra. Demasiado bueno. Gracias por tu receta @marlyncabrera

@sagarkothari88 vote

Hola, @sirenahippie ❤️ El olor a coco es una delicia y cuando se mezcla con el olor a pan horneado es un sueño. Este pan me recuerda a los panes integrales de antes, cuando todo era más natural; la verdad es que quedó muy rico. Gracias por pasar y por apoyar mi post 😁 Muy agradecida 💚

Sí, los panes de antes eran estupendos. Me alegro que hayas compartido esta gran receta.

Oh Waoh! This must taste so good. I love bread a lot my friend. And this combination you brought to us is really so unique. Thanks for sharing.

Hey, @sunshine29 ❤️ We're both bread lovers. The combination of ingredients here was good; for me, it was great indeed. I thought about adding some cinnamon, but I'm glad I didn't because this dry coconut was all aroma. Thank you so much for dropping by 😁 Have a great, great day 💚

I think it's the first time I see this preparation, but it looks delicious. It's like making Besos into a big loaf and adding some goodies too

Glowing Happy Birthday GIF by All Better

I love beso! It must be among my top ten favorite snacks of all time, and incredibly I've never made it (not by myself, at least), but I do know that it's made with shredded coconut, not with its bagasse. When you dehydrate the coconut bagasse, it takes on a cassava cake smell that is very surprising, especially because when you taste the flour, it tastes like coconut granola. Coconut in beso tastes like coconut milk. Now I'm drooling 😂

Ha, ha, ha. Sorry not sorry. So you can make casabe out of that dried bagasse. Or it's just a thought. I have made beso before. Usually with something that left from making coconut milk rice. Coconut is just so good everywhere. 🤣

And yet there are people who hate coconut. The mysteries of life, my friend. I can't understand how anyone simply can't love coconut. And there's more besides its deliciousness; we now know of some benefits we never knew about before, like the positive effects of daily consumption of coconut oil (cold pressed) to prevent Alzheimer's disease.

Amiga, este pan huele delicioso el sólo hecho de ser de coco inmunda los sentidos, desde el olor de su cascara quemada, la leche, hornear el bagazo y el exquisito aroma del pan fresco... una belleza de pan.
Para mi solito con guarapito!

El coco tiene un olor que encanta y después de hacer este pan, hasta uno queda oliendo apetecible 😂

Creo que te gustaría mucho un pedazo de este pan con un guarapito caliente. Te lo guardo. Gracias por pasar, bella @aguamiel 💚

Este pan se ha ganado mi corazón con su aroma, textura y sabor me lo guardo para prepararlo, estas invitada a degustar.
Con el guarapito exquisito ❤️

I like the way you opened the shutter by burning it first. We have traditional manual coconut graters here, so I've never done what you show. Looks like I'll have to do it your way someday if I need whole coconut meat!.

Thank you for the great recipe and tips, friend!

Oh, I've seen how your utensils. I totally love them!
When you burn the coconut enough, you can get it out in one piece; it's funny because it looks like a balloon 😁
Thank you so much for dropping by and for your nice words, dear @nurfay ❤️

haha, I posted it a while ago. The results of the grated coconut are really beautiful. but still at times I need the whole thing.

I will remember your tips, if burned longer it would be better.


BANNER AMAZING.png
You've been curated by @amazingdrinks! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Thanks a lot for your consideration and support, @amazingdrinks 😁❤️

This one looks delicious for breakfast and tea. And after dinner midnight snacks!! 😈

With jam! :D

Saving it for when I finally have that oven again...

Midnight snacks! I've had those while watching series on he weekend 🙈😁 I think that the best part of having an oven is that you can make your own bread. Hope you get that one soon, dear @nickydee ❤️ Thank you so much for dropping by!

Dios! quiero pan de este en mi vida jajaja, bitácora del martes 8:50 A.M , hace mucho frío la cocina esta apagada, no se oyen pasos en la casa, solo el rugir furioso de un estomago 🤣 , bueno ya voy activar la estufa esto no se puede quedar así jajaja, tengo que hacer este pan, se ve demasiado bueno

Este figurita ya la tengo 😂

Bitácora del casi jueves jajaja faltan 7 minutos para la media noche , hace algo de hambre pero tengo galletas 😂

Quiero galletas 😌✨

Y yo panes jajaja