Sometimes in the wind of change, we find our true direction.

in Ladies of Hive8 months ago

“Why do you go away? So that you can come back. So that you can see the place you came from with new eyes and extra colors. And the people there see you differently, too. Coming back to where you started is not the same as never leaving.” ― Terry Pratchett

Change really is as good as a holiday and there have been a lot of changes in my world over the last while. It has been just over two years since I posted anything here or on any of my other socials for that matter. My hiatus was not a planned endeavor, it was just something which took a natural course - something I needed - time to shift my focus onto other facets of my life. I didn’t have any real intentions of coming back to write, or not coming back to write… but here I am. I suppose I have always been more of a instinctually driven person, so - “if and when” the moment feels right, then I will roll with it… so I popped my head in here on Sat night to say “hi” and get a feel for what is going on in the space and I suppose to steer a decision of whether I would want to continue writing here.

Needless to say - and I reach for the quote by Jean-Baptiste Alphonse Karr “The more things change, the more they stay the same” - I was not entirely surprised to see that despite having been gone for such a lengthy period of time, my brief “hello” post whilst greeted by some friendly familiar faces and comments… was also met with the same petty downvote politics which were present around these parts two years ago. Perhaps I didn’t say “hi” in a lengthy enough format to deem it worthy, or perhaps @azircon & @freebornsociety were just really unhappy to see me back here - either way and no matter… I shall choose to look toward the majority who made me feel welcome and move merrily along.

20220302_144049.jpg

This space was a daily home to me and my writing for several years and even though I have had a lot of other stuff happening in my world over the last two years, (which continues) - I would like to begin blogging more regularly again, so I will see how it goes here. I have no interest in getting tied up in any sort of drama or politics (I never did), but I am also nobody's doormat - so if you are going to throw downvotes on my future posts, please do extend the courtesy of at least letting me know why in my comments. As for me, I intend to adopt the philosophy of looking toward the sun so that the shadows fall behind me and I hope that those around here who are less than pleased to see me back, will have the maturity to be civil if and when we cross paths, or at the very least to just “walk on by”.

I came here to begin sharing my writing in June 2017 and I wrote daily for just over four years. I have no cast in stone plans for how often I will be writing this time around - I just want to enjoy the creative process, the sharing and the positive conversation which comes with it - that is it. Life is too short to fill it with anything other than what and who enriches and adds value to it... which is precisely what I have been doing for the last two years and exactly as it will stay moving forward.

Speaking of sharing… A lot of changes which I look forward to writing about. We have permanently moved out of the city, moved to a new place, bought another, moved again and are now getting settled in our new home out in the country. My daily hours are spent solely on creative ventures and things which feed my soul. The decision to follow this artistic path with more dedicated focus came about after my moms passing. I suppose it began as a necessary emotional outlet, but it has continued as a developing passion. Healing from the loss of a parent (or any loved one for that matter) is no easy feat, and to be honest, I am not entirely sure we ever fully heal... we just learn to cope better as the days turn into months and then years.

Peace of heart, mind and soul - something I think we all yearn for, and something I have had to work hard for since I left Hive. I sacrificed a lot along the way, but I did it with a knowing intention and end goal. There has been no shortage of bumps and challenges along the way, but persistence and perseverance always pays off and now, I sit in a position where I can embrace a daily life which brings me the contentment I have craved for pretty much my entire life and I intend to appreciate every single second!

Yes, I am still a devoted foodie and my kitchen is always busy cooking up one thing or another. My latest hobby (and personal therapy) is the making of sourdough bread. I am thoroughly enjoying the journey despite still having plenty to learn about it all. Next on my "to do’s" is making pestos… starting with basil, because who doesn’t love a basil pesto… but at this stage I am still growing the basil from seed. I was gifted a really cool “Click & Grow” device a year or so ago, which speeds the growth process up dramatically, I will likely share more about this along the way too.

GridArt_20230911_131514177.jpg

"Jude the Dude" and "Posh Pup" have both grown up so much!! Jude turns 14 in just a couple of weeks (where the heck did the time go!) and posh pup was 4 this year... but is still as posh as ever, lol! I honestly have to pinch myself some days at the fact that I am mother to a teenager and that in just anouther 4 years he will be 18 yrs of age - it is just wild, and I... am getting old, haha!

Nonetheless, the journey of motherhood has been my greatest blessing! Jude is growing into the most beautiful young man, despite the common teenage "stages", lol.

One hobby which has risen in the ranks these days too, is gardening. As most of you already know, I am no stranger to gardening as my mom was a enormously knowledgeable and gifted green fingers, hence my appreciation for all things mother nature has long since been nurtured... but living in the city, I never really had much space to fully embrace that passion.

20220924_092208.jpg

Our new home however, has a delightfully huge garden and although I have not been able to spend all that much time in it yet because it has been a bitterly cold winter - those days should be behind us soon and I intend to spend a LOT more time there… which has already begun, with the clearing of a wonderfully large patch for my soon to be, walk-through (and definitely wild) herb garden!

One of the things I love most about being out of the city is all the space and pace of everything. Life is definitely slower out here and definitely matches the rhythm of my soul nowadays.

GridArt_20230911_131721615.jpg

No doubt the question will come up at some point, so I figure I will just answer it here and now - No, I will not be getting involved in, "reviving" or heading ANY kind of communities - not here, on discord or anywhere else. This time around I am here for me - to have fun and enjoy the creative journey.

Goodness, so much has changed since I was a regular around here... Lots of adventures to share and I am looking forward to getting stuck into it! I would also absolutely LOVE to catch up with all of you and to hear what you have all been up to - so please do say hi in the comments!

Time to go feed my feathered friends and pour a glass of red as the sunset approaches.

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Country Bumpkinland, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea


text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED
Typos make me human. I may or may not get around to correcting them.

“Life happens. Adapt. Embrace change and make the most of everything that comes your way." - Nick Jonas

Sort:  

One thing is for sure, life never happens in a straight line — besides, it would be pretty boring if it did!

After you "went," I would occasionally say a silent prayer for protection and for the hope that you would find whatever it was you were looking for; a change of pace; a change of scenery. Sometimes we need a "blank canvas," and the only way to get that is a change of venue; patching up the old ends up feeling like we just painted white over what already was and just a few sunny/rainy days would be enough to allow that old image to bleed through.

I guess I should know, having picked up my entire life and moved clear across the USA, some 18 years ago.

Sounds like you have landed well. And that warms my heart.
xo

One thing is for sure, life never happens in a straight line — besides, it would be pretty boring if it did!

Aint that the truth!!!!

After you "went," I would occasionally say a silent prayer for protection and for the hope that you would find whatever it was you were looking for; a change of pace; a change of scenery. Sometimes we need a "blank canvas," and the only way to get that is a change of venue; patching up the old ends up feeling like we just painted white over what already was and just a few sunny/rainy days would be enough to allow that old image to bleed through. I guess I should know, having picked up my entire life and moved clear across the USA, some 18 years ago.

I know well, that if there was ever going to be anyone who would have a deep understanding for the ebb and flow of life - it would be you! I honestly felt like I was drowning back then and my moms passing literally threw me over the edge. I genuinely couldn't cope without her... I did not know how - she was my best friend and my emotional rock.

It took me a LONG time to even acknowledge how much I was crumbling internally, and it continues to be a slow process, so I do try to be kinder and more patient with myself these days.

So good to re-connect!!!!

Looking forward to much more of it!

Happy Hump Day @denmarkguy!! xxx

PS. I still have so MANY of your tracks on my playlist which have made their appearances regularly along the way :)

A wise person once told me that "grieving doesn't come with a schedule," and it looks different for every single person on the planet. It was offered to me after I was trying to process an ostensible "friend's" insistence that I just "needed to get over" the passing of the aunt who had helped raise me.

Sometimes, there is no "getting over." Period. End of story. I prefer to think of our journeys as examples of the Japanese artform of Kintsugi, in which our "damage" is not something to hide, but something of beauty that makes us stronger, as people.

It took me a LONG time to even acknowledge how much I was crumbling internally, and it continues to be a slow process, so I do try to be kinder and more patient with myself these days.

Ah yes... the bane of those always perceived by others as "the strong and capable one who has their shit together!" Little do they know that most of the time we are just "winging it" as we go! Being kind to ourselves — and allowing ourselves to receive and absorb that kindness — part of those healthy boundaries we must have, even if it sometimes means that we end up almost completely cycling through our circle of friends and... "I THOUGHT they were friends."

So good to re-connect!!!!

Ditto! Sometimes I quietly sit in awe of how deeply we can be touched and be left with the gentle but indelible imprints of someone halfway around the globe whom we have never met. I'm glad you're back.

PS. I still have so MANY of your tracks on my playlist which have made their appearances regularly along the way :)

That's so cool! Life without music is... well... it's not really life, is it? I'm sure I shall be sending a choon or two your way, as the moments invite it.

❤️

P.S.: Still trying to parse Jude being a teenager... where the eff does time go?

Welcome Back.

We Missed You.!!

IMG_20230908_115132.jpg

Looking slick as ever!!! And I missed you all too! Thank you for such a lovely "welcome back" xxx

I was waiting for your return in silence, several times I entered your blog to see if you were active and there were moments when I thought about you and I was worried.

I am happy to be back to read one of your posts which I find authentic and entertaining. Always sharing beautiful images.

Glad to see your children both human and canine,. They are beautiful.

I hope this time the community will give you back a little of what you gave in the past, especially respect and peace. I send you a hug and toast to the good times to come. @jaynie

What a beautiful comment! Thank you so very much @soyunasantacruz, it truly touched me! I thank you for your concern - I know many who tried to make contact with me during this time but I simply had to step away COMPLETELY.

It felt so good to hit the "publish" button on this post - I really have missed writing here and I only ever did it because I loved it... so very happy to embrace your appreciation for my content and I feel blessed to know that my journey forward will be filled with people like yourself.

I look forward to connecting more regularly and thank you again for your very kind words and for also taking the time to note how much I previously gave of myself to this space and the people within it. A little bit of a different journey this time around, but I have a strong feeling it is going to be a whole lot more fun!!!

Much love sweetheart! I hope you have a beautiful week ahead!

Your new place looks fabulous and with plenty of room for a garden. There's nothing more peaceful than spending hours in a garden. Plants express themselves in the way they grow and without words which are often spoken without any concern for the ears they are falling on.

I love your attitude, "I sit in a position where I can embrace a daily life which brings me contentment" Getting to this point in life may take some time, but once you've gotten there the remainder of one's being will be a peaceful journey.

My wife just made a new batch of basil pesto, of course with pine nuts included.
If you weren't on the other side of the globe I'd gladly send you some.

We love gardening and grow and put away enough veggies to last us until the next growing season.
One thing that I learned about growing basil is that it loves a lower pH. A pH between 5.5 and 6.0 will make all of the difference.

Drama shortens life and poisons the soul, but the best thing about this theatre is that it is totally avoidable.

Peace be with you girl!

Your new place looks fabulous and with plenty of room for a garden. There's > nothing more peaceful than spending hours in a garden. Plants express themselves in the way they grow and without words which are often spoken without any concern for the ears they are falling on.

My mom always used the expression "All my hurts, my garden spade can heal". That resonates with me now, more than ever!!!

I love your attitude, "I sit in a position where I can embrace a daily life which brings me contentment" Getting to this point in life may take some time, but once you've gotten there the remainder of one's being will be a peaceful journey.

Well that is certainly the intention! It only took 43 years to get here, lol - but hey - better late than never, right?!

My wife just made a new batch of basil pesto, of course with pine nuts included. If you weren't on the other side of the globe I'd gladly send you some.

aaaaah!!! You lucky sod! I know pine nuts are like the magic ingredient - and so damn expensive here too! Although, I will say... we had dinner at a restaurant about a month ago and I ordered a fresh basil pesto pasta which the chef had made a pesto for - I chatted to him about it because it was THAT GOOD and one of the first things he gloated about was that it had no pine nuts - or any nuts in it actually... he told me the recipe, but needless to say... two glasses of wine in, I don't recall it now, haha! I will have to go back!

We love gardening and grow and put away enough veggies to last us until the next growing season. One thing that I learned about growing basil is that it loves a lower pH. A pH between 5.5 and 6.0 will make all of the difference.

That is SO awesome!!! I love the idea of living off the earth. Nothing is more rewarding than growing your own food. One of the other things I want to get into is heirloom seeds!

Thank you for advice regarding the soil. I anticipated that it was going to be a little challenging out here because MANY things struggle in this specific region, because of the valley, the mountain, the coast and just the general make-up of the soil... so its going to be a journey for sure!

Drama shortens life and poisons the soul, but the best thing about this theatre is that it is totally avoidable.

ABSOLUTELY and WELL SAID! And thank you for that! 🤗

So good to have you back. Getting over loss does not follow and timeline and living a truly beautiful life serves the whole in unseen ways. Your son is indeed a beautiful boy. Thank you for sharing so much with us and welcome back.

Thank you lovely!!!! I SO appreciate your kind words and it feels really good to BE back!!! I hope you are well too!!!

Good move getting out of the city. I'm not sure really how the city is like there, but here they're horrible. I don't like going there and I don't understand how so many people like living there. Country living is so much better, at least for me. I like having space. I think people are nicer that way. You start crowding people into cities and then people get rude and angry.

Cape Town, whilst still really beautiful - with many wonderful places, is still RIDDLED with crime and it is only getting worse! Our move was completely unplanned actually. What was an end of year holiday at my dads place, ended up being an entire life change - but yes, it has been soooo good!!!!

Now that I have been here for some time, I will absolutely echo your feelings on that - I would not give you thank you to go back to the city!!! I absolutely LOVE the peace out here, it is FOOD FOR THE SOUL!!!

I think people are nicer that way. You start crowding people into cities and then people get rude and angry.

So true!!! People here are WONDERFUL - life is just very, VERY different!!!

Bumps along the road, life changes, each must follow their own heart as to where it takes one.

Jude is looking well all grown up, Posh Dog sure has gained charming look in confidence, contributed most probably by life outside of the city doing you the world of good.

Home with a garden and terrific views to far horizon with mountains as the backdrop, always a pleasure being able to look out and enjoy sunrise and sunsets.

Enjoy, great to see you again!

Bumps along the road, life changes, each must follow their own heart as to where it takes one.

ABSOLUTELY Joan!

Jude is looking well all grown up, Posh Dog sure has gained charming look in confidence, contributed most probably by life outside of the city doing you the world of good.

It is crazy how quickly time has gone by!!! Posh Pup... oh I cannot tell you HOW MUCH that dog loves being out here!!! When we visit the city and our old place (as Dave's mom now lives there) you can literally SEE how depressed he gets!

Home with a garden and terrific views to far horizon with mountains as the backdrop, always a pleasure being able to look out and enjoy sunrise and sunsets.

I would not change it for the world and I count my blessings every single day for the natural beauty around me which I get to call home!

Enjoy, great to see you again!

You too love!!! You too!!!
Hope you are having a wonderful hump day!!! xxx

Over and above all the power outages it's swell, gets me more into the garden to spy on life in the bushes or across the rolling hills. Wish it were the Cape but hell no its where it is for now....

At least you take the time to make the most of it all Joan - that is more than many can say!

Rowing upstream without a paddle like the rest of the country, might as well spend our time outdoors gardening, still productive.

JAYNIE!!!
♥️♥️♥️
Oh my goodness!
I am thrilled to see
you back again!

Mwah!💋

!LUV
!LADY
!PIMP

@jaynie, @ninahaskin(1/3) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ninahaskin, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @jaynie and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/8 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.


You must be killin' it out here!
@ninahaskin just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @jaynie.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Thank you sweetie @ninahaskin 😍

MWAH!!!!! Big love angel!!! XOXOXOXO

image.png

Thank you 💗

Welcome back hun, shew life really does have its ups and downs and I'm looking forward to reading all about xxx

So wonderful to see your name pop up hon! Looking forward to connecting with your world again too!

❤️❤️❤️❤️

How are you dear friend @jaynie good morning
How nice to read you, how nice that you are living in your country house and that you have a beautiful land to develop your garden. Surely there will be many topics to tell about this.
Welcome, all the success you deserve

Hello sweet soul! So lovely to see so many familiar names popping up and to say hello to you all again! I am loving our new home, thank you... and yes, definitely looking forward to sharing and also... to reading again!!! xxx

Wow, it's good to see you again! I kept going to your blog page for a long time to see if there was anything new. Glad you have found fun things to occupy your time and you seem to be doing well! 💗

Hi!! It really is so good to re-connect with everyone here. Glad I took the leap, despite knowing the haters would crawl out from under all their rocks...lol.

This time, I am here for the fun and nothing else. We are all doing very well, thank you! I hope you are too - and I look forward to catching up with everything everyone has been doing!

Keep being you! Undoubtedly you'll end up leading someone or something, whether you mean to or not. Leaders do that. 😁

fnck @wwwiebe - I hope you're wrong HAHA!!!! I just want to exist peacefully and quietly... away from ALL the noise and hierarchy of ANYTHING - but I do know what you mean, and thank you for the compliment 😘

Hahaha. It'll happen. You'll end up in a conversation with someone where the discussion will ultimately include a Great Idea:

You: Hey, wouldn't it be neat if insert Great Idea here
Someone: OMG! Yes! That Great Idea is better than sliced cheese and bread! I'd be all into that! But who will do it?
You: hmmm
Everyone: all eyes on you
You: . o O ( Victor is such a fuck - he told me this would happen )

I'll bet a nickle it happens.
I'll bet a dime you curse at me in my absence!

WAAHAHAHAHA!!!! and I bet... you are likely right - on both counts! ;)

I think he's right, Jaynie.

All that Zen stuff is well and good, and I highly encourage it as balance is the key to sanity, but never forget who and what you are ... you are a lioness. It's what some people hate about you, but most others love.

Incidentally, I've been reading through the comment threads on this post and the ones that follow ... you had an extraordinary impact on a LOT of people. That's rare.

Quill

After over two years? Well, good to see you back.

haha yeaaah - I took my sweet time, lol! Lovely to see you are still around too and I look forward to re-connecting!!! xxx

Yup, I'm still around. Never been off for once though. Might probably do that some time in the future.

Well, happy to have your presence for now :)

Hive and the world is much bigger than you.

You did a shitpost, I adjusted the reward. This is not a shitpost no reward adjustment.

You can chose to leave or stay, your call.

You do you. Universe will do universe. I don’t care what you think, neither should you. Adios! ;)

Hello @azircon,

I appreciate you stepping forward, and I will only say this:

Just as you were free to "express" your stance with a downvote - so was I, with my response. That was - "me doing, me".

I do not believe we have previously met (not that I can recall at any rate), so - circumstance aside... nice to "meet" you.

My memory is stronger. But that's not important.

We not only have "met", but even had voice conversation over discord. But again that's not important.

Downvote is not personal. Reward adjustment is part of hive ecosystem

I managed a lot last round in this arena. I also gave up relying solely on my memory a long time ago - it has proven repeatedly unreliable lol, but - apologies for that omission in recollection nonetheless.

I never considered anything personal - merely expressed myself, just as you did - only with varying approaches. I am acutely aware of the intricacies of this eco-system and precisely how it all works - no need for education here, but then I think you already know that... and if you are receptive to it, I would very much like to move forward, rather than the opposite.

Hope you have a great week ahead.

@eliza.anne and @exploringella were/are both your alts is that correct?

Yes, with all the bullshits and lies.

For somebody new to HIVE, can you please elaborate on the bullshit and lies?

Do drop by our Ladies of Hive Discord channel , We have a drawing every day for a chance to win Hive. Let us celebrate our 3rd year Anniversary!
https://discord.gg/6yfVS5c6

Thank you for the invite, but I won't be on discord ever again x

Then we shall celebrate here! I'm glad you are back! I so miss you, @jaynie!!! 😍🤗😘

Yes, we will!!! Thank you again for the wonderfully warm welcome sweetie! Hope you are having a magnificent week so far!

Gosh, it's Wednesday afternoon now! While I am having a wonderful week, I'm feeling a bit pressured to finish up my work! And then... there is Hive! Hehehe. I don't know why I do it!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening