The Days Between

in Reflections9 months ago

There are lots of milestones in life and this morning we reached one of the big ones for the family - the first day of school. This really shouldn't be a big deal as it is at the same location and even in the same building as Smallsteps' preschool was, but it does somehow feel different - just a little.

image.png

My wife had the idea of getting a chalkboard to mark the occasion, but instead of that, we found an old-school (looking) letterboard instead. And the plan is to take a picture at the start and end of every school year, to see how Smallsteps has changed over time and through styles.

I am going to try and hold this tradition for the next 12 years and I have said that no matter what, wind, rain, frowns, tears, tantrums, gothic make-up and dyed black hair - the picture will be taken.

1000040182.jpg

1000040181.jpg

August can be unpredictable in Finland, so some years at least I am expecting it to be cold and pouring with rain, making the walk to school less fun. Today it was smiles and we were lucky with the weather, as it is warm and sunny, and the three of us walked the short walk together for the official callout of first day class assignments.

1000040184.jpg

It has been a bit strange, as Smallsteps only has one friend in her class from the previous year, whilst her other friends have been grouped together. There has been no indication of how the class groupings were made, so parents have been speculating what the differentiator is - whether it is something like study language chosen, or reading ability, but there doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason for it. She will see other friends of course during breaks and things, however it is strange.

image.png

Yet, going alone is part of growing up and Smallsteps is going to have to learn to be braver and bolder as she becomes more independent. And we as parents are too, as we are going to have to loosen our grip and let her go to into increasingly difficult situations that she will have to sort out for herself, and hope she can handle them.

Life is full of firsts and there are also plenty of lasts. And between those points is where life is lived and the goal is to live the between well. I don't know what that means for you, and I can only guess at it for myself, though I really want the best for her.

Wherever she goes.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

Congratulations to Smallsteps on the milestone! How would you compare schools in Finland today to what you attended presumably in Australia as a wee lad? Here in my region, there are the typical government schools, specialized charter academies, private schools religious or otherwise, and a lot of homeschoolers who use the library system, so there isn't exactly one option, even if the government schools dominate. And I know "our" model is not a global standard, even though there are some similarities.

How would you compare schools in Finland today to what you attended presumably in Australia as a wee lad?

They have electricity! ;)

Actually, probably similar to when I was young, but Australia has degraded since. It is a chicken and egg issue though, as students have degraded heavily also. Finland tends to do a good job of helping kids take more responsibility, which is probably partly due to all the different conditions they face with weather. Also, safety is high here, so many kids walk to school from the first grade.

Home schooling doesn't happen here much or at all asfaik.
There are "private" schools, but not like they are in the Aus or the UK for example, they are more for other purposes, like for language. For instance, there are a couple English language schools in the city so that kids coming from other countries or kids with non-native parents have a place to go. They are pretty much the same as the public schools.

In general, there is very low differentiation between schools and even through universities in Finland. The goal has been to improve the average levels of the population since the end of WW2, when it went from a farming to an industrialized country, moving into IT and knowledge work in the last 40 years.

In Australia, there are differences between schools and the private ones dominate the grades, but it doesn't have as much affect (it didn't at least) on opportunities later, compared to what I hear from the US. I went to public schools and my high school at the time had the number one school orchestra in the country. Which might be a surprise to some.

My "fear" for Finland is that they too closely follow the changing global culture as if that is a good thing, and as a result, the school system is degrading.

Congrats. I wish a fabulous school year for you all! Great shots of smallsteps - she looks so happy. I love the one of her forging out on her own.

That walking across the road thing scares me! :D I know she has to learn and is responsible, but kids are kids and people on their phones and stuff these days...

Big milestone!
I am sure, it will be very nice to watch all those pictures as the years go by.

I think it might be good. I am also going to start taking a picture on her birthday of the three of us, to see how we age together.

Braveness and boldness comes from the experiences that we have weathered that create character.

I agree. Or stupidity! :D

Walker, there is no path, the path is made by walking...

Lyrics by Antonio Machado (1912)
Masterful interpretation by Joaquín Sabina and Joan Manuel Serrat, **Walker** (1969)


How important it is to live in the present moment. Remembering the past and knowing that what we have lived was good. Since it allowed us to grow as people and to be who we are.

Decisions of the future, is that each person makes their own way, today Smallsteps, begins her first day of classes, her first step in the framework of an educational system that will profile her as a professional in the branch that best performs.

It is a journey like that of the homo viator (travelling man) in which the human being takes the roads and embarks on an adventure, a journey of self-knowledge.

My quote is a cliché, from a classic of Spanish literature and the most paradigmatic example is El Quijote, but it is visible in other cultures such as the Divine Comedy, the Odyssey, or the French Romans of the Arthurian cycle.

I am so happy to hear that the little mischievous girl is starting her studies today, or rather, that she is continuing the education she has been receiving at home. Congratulations and blessings, my dear virtual friend @tarazkp.

in which the human being takes the roads and embarks on an adventure, a journey of self-knowledge.

They call it a "walkabout" in Australia, an Aboriginal thing. A meditative journey alone.

It is strange perhaps, but I have no preconceived ideas of what she will become later. I don't know what will take her interest enough to focus on. She will likely be okay at school, but I also perhaps see her getting bored with it quite fast, or realizing that it might not be all that it is cracked up to be.

Should be an interesting life to track though.

Happy First Day! I hope she will be a very hardworking and succesful student ;)

At least in the early years I think she will be - later, not so sure if she is anything like me.

First of all congratulations and all the best. Secondly, I myself need to be prepared for this type of occasion as my little baby will be sent to school next year. I'm looking forward to it to live the moment you had just now.

It is a big step for us all, even though not much changes practically. It is a psychological change though.

I think one thing I can say about Smallsteps is that she will be trustworthy and also be able to keep something or someone for long. I said this because she only made a friend in her previous year in school and they are still cool...
That's how it is supposed to be
I love that!

I think at times she is too good of a friend, sometimes doing things that others want, rather than saying what she wants.

You are correct, there can be lots of living between all those firsts. I wonder how many miss out on that living these days. With the addiction to social media and electronics kids and parents must be missing out.

I suspect that many are missing out on so much of life these days, while they stare at screens, not even adding their thoughts into the discussions.

My youngest son came home last night from a friends college dorm. He talked to me about meeting a new friend while there. He started telling me details about this new friend. It did my heart good to know that he wasn't one of those kids. Exactly like the ones you are talking about.

I really think there is going to be a large gap in a decade or two from now between those who were raised digitally and those more analogue, with the more analogue having higher in-demand skills.

As I don't have a kid yet, it's possible I may not be able to relate. But I do have little siblings and nephews and nieces alike. We usually take their pictures too on the first day of school and recently, we went through the gallery and simply marvelled at their growth. It's wonderful indeed.

All the best to Smallsteps and to you as well on this journey🌺

I think it might be an interesting board of 24 photos to look back on in the future. Might be funny to see the different styles throughout the years!

As I don't have a kid yet, it's possible I may not be able to relate.

Maybe, maybe not, but at least for me it does feel quite different as a parent compared to my niece and nephew.

Might be funny to see the different styles throughout the years!

I reckon, that should be quite fun. The cheery stages of these years and the dark, would I say somewhat rebellious, exuberant stage that comes with the teenage years and then that knowing serenity of adulthood. It all sounds so exciting.

I am looking forward to seeing how she progresses, but I am expecting the teen years to be terrible.

The weather acting right is a big win, I dont think any kid would enjoy going to school in the rain, especially for the first day. She's so beautiful by the way and she's blessed to have you two walk her...

It rains almost half the year here, snows almost the other half, so they have to get used to it :)

She is awesome.

Well, that's the beginning of a wonderful journey. I hope she will also be walking in the group of friends soon. School is a place which teaches alot of things along with the studies.
In first we find new people and at last we leave those people somehow.
And in between we spend a great journey with those people which at last become memories for us.

She will make new friends too, but I think it is nice here that people tend to have a group of friends from primary school, all the way through to adults.

Well, that's a wonderful thing. I also love being in a group of friends 💕.
Friends sometimes prove to be more caring than your relatives.

Mr. Taraz, how big, beautiful and always smiling is Smallsteps, she is a girl who is growing up with the dreams of a girl at her age, and that of the blackboard is a plus for you as parents, and for her as an individual human being, who fills the heart with pride and peace as a family.

She lives the different edges that make up her identity, and also those who accompany her in that interim of growing and evolving.

Happy start of the school year...

Glad to see you around here again :)

I am sure she will find her way and create a good life for herself - but I want to help her reach potential - and it isn't easy these days.

Glad to see you around here again :)

It is always an honor, and a privilege to be part of the comments, and publications that you have to write and tell my experiences and lived history in Reflections and all that you write for us, in other communities.🙌

Mr. Taraz. I watch very closely how Smallsteps grow and projects her sweetness and naivety as a child and how lucky she is to have you and your wife as responsible and committed to your values, principles, and culture of life.

I assure her that this home education, which she receives, is the most solid support that a human being has, especially when situations become difficult, complex, and diverse in daily life in the adult stage. She is learning from her parents, the best teacher in the world.

Hugs from my land in the Caribbean.💜🌞🌴

We have the first day of school coming up right around the corner. I am still not ready for it. I have a lot of stuff that needs to be done before students start coming back. I know from first hand experience it is hard separating the kids each year. Sometimes there is a reason, sometimes it just happens that way. It could have nothing to do with her honestly. They might know that two other kids don't get along so they try to keep them separated and that leaves a single spot that has to be filled. Things like that. It's unfortunate, but ultimately for the greater good.

We know that her one friend in the class asked to be in a class with Smallsteps, as many kids don't play with her. She is really nice, but doesn't speak Finnish perfectly and I think that Smallsteps understands this more than most kids her age, so can allow for it.

She will be fine, but it makes it easier for us as parents to connect with other parents too.

Yeah, I can understand that. Sometimes that is just the way things work out too. It's really hard to say. They are never going to make everyone happy. I hope she has a great year and makes some awesome new friends!

I often forget to take pictures until after an event or some really important activities. It will be cool to document their growth in pictures. I really should make a conscious effort to take pictures.
Smallsteps looks like a smart one.

I often forget to take pictures until after an event or some really important activities.

This is why I can't be on Instagram. I eat my lunch first! :D

I really should make a conscious effort to take pictures.

I don't have many photos of me as a kid, but now I think we might take too many useless ones, so the "important" ones don't get taken.

Oh I feel every memory will be important in the future!

I have the cutest niece on the planet.

The end.

The in between and the first are where life leaves. The lasts are doors to new starts. Every win is a win how ever small is the perception I have chosen to take at life. It’s easy to overlook things we experience consistently only to realize they where everything in another season. Congratulations on the first and all the best with the plan of taking pics, that is an amazing plan.

So much of my own life I look back on and think, I had an opportunity there that I didn't take, but should have. It isn't a regret, more an acknowledgement that there are always options available.

And we as parents are too, as we are going to have to loosen our grip

Hard part isn't it? It's like they are opening their own chapters of life. And the thing is slowly the acceptance part comes in. And then they come to you with problems. This happened and then that happened.

It's like they are opening their own chapters of life.

And writing us out! :D

We are lucky at this point as she is independent, but still likes us :)

Congratulations for her first day at school. I think mother will missed her child alot because whole day she had to spent with child. When the child go to school, nobody irritated the mother. That was quite dipressing.

Not quite like that here. My wife works and Smallsteps has been going to daycare, then preschool since she was two. But, there were mother tears still.

Aww congratulations on first day of school! The photos sound like they'll be a great montage one day :)

I am hoping that it doesn't get more and more depressed as the years go on.

Hopefully it's mostly happiness and she loves it and gets a lot out of it. And there are always options if she doesn't.

I already feel old for children at 30 😅 when did you become a parent?

I was 37 and my wife 34

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 94000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 94500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 3
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 2

The tradition which your wife has started is really brilliant and I am happy to read that you are such a supportive father. You are going to perform this tradition as like job.
I wish smallsteps will excel in her life and in school life with smile.

I think the letter board is a sweet tradition for school. Good luck Smallsteps!