Hive's Scalability & The Compromise Of Commitments.

in Hive Learnerslast year

Has This Post's Title Done Justice To This Post? I don't Know, But It's More About Commitment & Growth Of Which I've Taken Some Drastic Measures


png_20221207_073144_0000.png



My health issues sure did choose the wrong timing, making it difficult for me to even get my head straight to create anything meaningful. However, I took the time to read more posts, seems it only required me to stare at my phone. However, I couldn't leave feedback because I was just feeling too weak to type.

I also took the time to check my account, and I had to do some massive unfollowing, to be honest, I did that because some of the contents created by these accounts were either writing too much FUD posts, or I wasn't really getting any value from the contents they were creating. Another reason is that some of these accounts are on constant power-downs and showed no sign of longevity for this place.

I wrote a post talking about my plans to buy more hive during this bear season, funny thing is that I got some skeptical reactions like

"what if hive don't stay here for too long?"

While that's only a logical assertion, I feel that if we begin to apply logic to every crypto stance, then no one would build anything realistic, not here, not with Bitcoin, and not with any crypto asset in its entirety. I get it, the bear season makes people skeptical, they're afraid of loss and this fear makes them imagine things.

Before the SBF saga, we were on a positive precipice. Staying at 50 cents seems positive, for a bear market, but SBF happened and once again people are beginning to question the fabrics, based on prices, panic selling, not building enough, and not supporting the chain in the many ways they can do so. One thing I've come to understand is that hive wouldn't grow itself unless we choose to grow it. The endless bickering about lack of development and low prices is what we can do together as a community.

Yesterday, I saw a project as hex which doesn't even come close to hive getting some massive marketing. When you look at the schematics of the project, it doesn't seem revolutionary or groundbreaking, with no utility, no use case, just some "lock up your fund for 5 years and get 50% ROI on them" kind of thing

But they're endlessly shilling this pile and it's crazy that not many of these complainers are taking the time to sell the hive pitch. I saw the hive-sponsored project going on in Ghana, and I expected some madder shilling from that project, but there wasn't any.

This could have been used to target brands, and products with real-life use cases that want to bring their product to the chain, but this hasn't happened. Of course, I know there are businesses in Ghana, and rather than just community development, these guys could have targeted these businesses, two things that would happen are exposure and partnership that could create more use cases here even if not new investment or money.

The reason is, no one is an expert on all things blockchain, but then with the right intentions, we can choose to learn and do better. If we begin to wait for some professional marketing, it might come but each and everyone here would need to play their role. Hive is not a regular social platform. On the surface, this is what it is, but the techy part is what creates sustainability and relevance, hence this is what is worth promoting.
Whether newbies or oldies, the fact that everyone wants hive to scale for their reasons, creates a direct ripple responsibility for hive to be everyone's business. I don't know why this is difficult to understand.

For example, FTX wasn't a bad project, but it was the bad intentions of SBF that ruined it. There are no fabrics to measure or compete, hive will never be Facebook or Twitter,

who set these standards anyway?

There's no reason why we cannot be the first at being what we are. We do not need to blow up like Facebook, we just need to blow up enough in the right space, that relevance is what will make us dogged.

There's no doubt we have the product, the intention is good, and the space is revolutionary but we just have to create good actions, everyone should see it as a responsibility to foster good intentions towards this place. Apart from the #posh project, people shouldn't limit Twitter to a place where they can just dump posts.

We live in a world where people have little attention spans, so we have to do better. There are people with great influence on other social fronts and they're not even maximizing this enough. Some people can sell some really good pitches with their tweets, but they're not utilizing other spaces to do this. I feel I have come to that conclusion where I will prioritize those who prioritize hive.

It's our Blockchain for God's sake and I see no reason why we should leave its growth, it's marketing to only a group of people as I said in the beginning, there's no magic anywhere, we have to organically build what we want to enjoy. It is time to stop letting the bear market determine our commitments.

I don't mean to offend anyone with this post, I just feel this is the right thing. We can't all be experts at everything. There must be a place where everyone will excel, after all, it's a "HIVE" (pun intended). We've made some mistakes collectively, but it's nothing.

This place has the potential to scale bigger than our expectations because the product is relevant, but we just have to work. I have noticed some people adding their quota in their creative ways. I'll keep scouting for more of these people, following them, and helping them in whatever way I can because they're vested in their ways and seeking the growth of this blockchain.




Interested in some more of my works?


How To Be "THE" Content Creator You Always Desire
The Consequences Of Being Overly Assumptive About Money
A 1.6 Million Naira Use-case For iPhone 14
Free Money: What Will You Do With $216k Worth Of Crypto In Your Wallet? (2)
The 4 Ways Of Developing A Relevant Niche As A Content Creator
Tech & Gadget Sophistication; Picture & Aesthetics

png_20220427_140059_0000.png

Sort:  

I also feel the Hive Empowers Community projects could be more. The two Ghanaians behind the projects are doing well, but we really could extend it to a business front to attract investors and give HIVE the publicity we want. Advertising has never been easier than it is now and I don’t think structuring marketing models alongside the already running HIVE empowers community projects will be anything difficult.

We can take HIVE to the markets, literally, bring in regular business men and women and let them advertise their products here. Maybe create local markets where even farmers can post their harvests and find buyers here. There are honestly many ways we can do the marketing.

It is also true that most people with really big followings who could be great HIVE marketers underestimate their potential in contributing to HIVE’s growth. We might not have the biggest influencers, but we have a few people with social media followings enough to direct a significant number of people here who can contribute value to the chain. It’ll surprise us just how much of a difference we can make in preaching HIVE to the right people. Everyone has their part to play.

 last year  

I think the people who handled the Ghana project could have done better. It was a real life event. In as much as I also like community development. I think they should have also taken this speech to businesses that's good be interested in building an online audience while also bringing their physical-based audience to the blockchain.
Someone has actually commented now saying that we need to sell hive in reality. Since there is a centralised construct to prevent web3 platform from blowing.
It becomes a little bit dicey. I know that inevitably web3 would trickle into the lives of people but this doesn't mean that we cannot fast-track the process.

You have actually said that we have people who have some audience in several places. It boils down to the fact that some people does not even take it to heart to promote the chain and whatever way they can. I am always saying that when anything good happens here it happens to us all.

 last year (edited) 

With regards to the Hive Ghana project, I think the people handling it really should consider marketing to businessmen too. Even the community-focused promotion they’re doing could still be used as an avenue and promotional front to attract business men and investors. After setting up the boreholes, the beneficiary communities could be taken through intensive Hive education so that they can keep benefiting via posting and advertising on Hive, while adding value at the same time.

What is it they say?

“If you give a man a fish, you feed him for a day. If you teach a man to fish, you feed him for a lifetime”.

The Hive empowers communities projects are mostly focused on villages, ignoring the marketing potential waiting to be tapped in cities. Big business men could be sensitized on buying and holding HBD for the savings APR, or even better, buying and powering up Hive and curating for curation rewards. More rewards for authors through their curation, and profit for the business themselves. Many different combinations of marketing strategies!

It's the responsibility of all of us here on Hive to make sure it succeeds. Nobody else will do it unless we do it and that is why I am active on the chain. I do my own part to contribute by being active and there are a lot of different ways to do so.

As for HEX, I never even bothered touching it. Anything that promises a large return and the owner holds a huge stake in it. He seems to avoid any questions that asks whether or not he has sold any HEX so I can't really seem to trust it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 last year  

We owe it to hive and I think I'll focus more on people who make hive a priority. We owe it to sell, it, shill it or promote it, whatever we can.
As for hex, it's not even a project I'll venture into, I'm just thrilled at how it's maximalists seem to shill a product as such with all their might.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's weird but maximalists tend to shill their product a lot but I have a feeling that most of them also ignore the disadvantages. It's kind of funny because I watched a Youtube video about HEX being a cult earlier this week. It just makes me wonder at some point that people need to think about both the advantages and disadvantages.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 last year  

I think, some of the products shilled by these maximalists tends to be overrated, but we have a gem in hive. Even if we shill it crazily, I believe it's worth it.

I watched a Youtube video about HEX being a cult earlier this week

Hahaha I don't know about this, but I think, the people who are into it are crazy shillers and would do anything to get traction.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Here is the video in case you are interested. Hex just never really interested me because it was purely a financial play.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It is time to stop letting the bear market determine our commitments.

Definitely! I remember when Covid started, the masses started dumping all their crypto. I'm glad I hodled what little I had :) ...

I feel I have come to that conclusion where I will prioritize those who prioritize hive.

That's a good plan, but we should also try to encourage new Bees who show a definite interest in staying and becoming part of the community?

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

 last year  

That's a good plan, but we should also try to encourage new Bees who show a definite interest in staying and becoming part of the community?

This is true and if you have checked my pattern of curation, you will see that I have supported a lot of newbies and have also helped push some others up the rank. But these people have to at one point in time transcend from newbies to people who would promote the chain.
However we also have to consider that it is quite dicey.
I think people need to hold the line, do their best to do the ultimate best for this place.

But these people have to at one point in time transcend from newbies to people who would promote the chain.

This is true, and once they start to settle in, there should be some evidence of that. Whether it's in the form of advertising on social media, referring friends, helping in retention of new members, or something else that encourages growth. Not everyone is cut out for spending a lot of time on Web2, but everyone can do something to help Hive grow.

!PIZZA

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @one-manul.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 last year  

@one-manul thank you

 last year  

Many people seems to let the bear market discouraged them from being committed on Hive and they are the ones going about being skeptical about the progress of this blockchain. One truth here is that this is the best time to keep working and building your account and trusting the project to grow only if we want it to grow through our input.

I have come to notice that there are some seasonal user here on Hive. They leave and come when things are taking shape. This shouldn´t be because at this moment, we all need to believe and hope that someday, Hive will grow massively and the only way to enjoy it is to keep working. By this, we would be able to know those who are for Hive despite the situation right now.

I believe you are getting better, Jose?

 last year  

It's even beyond posting and being active. I'm even reiterating buying hive, powering up, promoting hive externally and doing so intentionally, because we cannot expect hive to magically transform if we do nothing about it. I think it's why I'm using this post to call out people to do better for this place.

I believe you are getting better, Jose

Yes I am, thank you. 🤲

 last year  

How I wish I have enough funds too because it pains me to see an opportunity like this and not grab it but as it is now, I do need money for my service.

 last year  

We all get to show our commitments to hive in different ways, for example, I've been on Twitter for days now and trying to create a conversation towards hive. There are ways we can individually do these things. If hive scales massively, it's still to our benefits.

 last year  

You are right. It's on our part to make Hive known too.

What is your Twitter id? I'll try to fire up my neglected account, it has a good base of followers...

 last year  

It's @percival_joey

 last year  

Let the doubters doubt bro. We keep buying cheap Hive while they are selling. 😂

And take of your health. That's the most important thing IMO.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 last year  

I know lool, but their fud is just getting too much and so sincerely, I'm taking my time to just weed off these people, would show any enthusiasm and efforts towards hive.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 last year  

Hello Joe, I hope I wasn't part of the people you unfollowed 😂😂😂.

Just kidding but I must say, you are so deliberate about your hive journey 👍

Wow...this is a wake up call for everyone to work towards the growth of this Blockchain. In my capacity, I will keep promoting hive in any way I can cos I love what I have seen so far in hive and it's growth is my wish everyday.

 last year  

Hello Joe, I hope I wasn't part of the people you unfollowed 😂😂😂.

Lol no no.

Wow...this is a wake up call for everyone to work towards the growth of this Blockchain.

The chain needs everyone to be a good actor pertaining to the practices here. If we don't let the value hold here, how do we stay marketable, attract new money and stay relevant? It's crazy though. But I believe everyone in their capacity has a role to play.

 last year  

But I believe everyone in their capacity has a role to play.

This is true 👌
Together, we can make a difference 👍

I think many people are just stuck with the mentality of looking for a savior and hoping everything goes well instead of being your on savior and taking things into your own hands and making It work. Hive is 'ours' in a sense that as far as you have a stake (whether big or small) it's your job to contribute to the progress of the ecosystem.

 last year  

Urs Why I said that at one point in time, people would have to take the mantle and choose to be responsible as well. It's everyone's duty to make here great.

You have said well bro, hive is just more than posting which posting can sometimes be so stressful to do but try me getting a better stake of hive and ensuring you implement it on you account is the goal because when hive suddenly moves higher, it will surely profit you.

 last year  

I plead guilty my lord 🥺😞.
I'm one of the people this post is talking to.

The table has literally been shattered. Thanks for shattering this table 🤧.

Let me go and start planning my consistency on hive 🚶🚶🚶🚶

Studying the reasons why Hive doesn't get much attention on Web 2.0 platforms and the wider media is pretty interesting. There's a long list of them, which seem to point to the way that web 2.0 'influencers' generally aren't interested in helping other people, they are only interested in their own personal power. Centralised websites seem to attract people who think in a centralised way and so either don't understand or don't want to understand why decentralisation is so necessary. Centralisation is a trap that seems to solve problems, but which creates it's own problems in the process which are likely to affect those further down the 'food chain' from the early adopters first - so the 'big names' and gatekeepers lack incentive to change anything.

This problem can happen in decentralised systems too, but since decentralisation allows for others who arrive later on to build power and to even fork completely, the problem decreases as decentralisation increases.

We need to recognise that there is a powerful force within centralised systems that wants to keep the world centralised, we can just call this the 'centralising imperative' - it is the same force that operated to create and maintain the slave plantations and any other evil and exploitative structure of people.

Therefore, efforts to market and grow Hive have to include strategy to overcome this. Ultimately, this means that while it is ok to market on Web 2.0 sites, they should never be considered a top priority or a reliable one. It is far more productive to host physical events where silicon valley agents cannot interrupt the flow of information than to invest a lot of time into Web 2.0 sites. However, there is an obvious disconnect here between the physical world and the digital world that is also a challenge. People are separated by physical space and so their capacity for physical marketing is hampered here too.

We need ways to market and network digitally that do not rely on Web 2.0. I can think of a few ways to do this and I will be putting together a new plan and strategy in the coming weeks.

 last year  

I understand the centralization imperative. We can agree that normally people are centralize-minded, it's probably because we're used to central entity calling the shots, and we're used to everything around us being centralized, including our systems. But at one point in time, people who breaks out of this loop has a role to play in helping others realize that they've got to break out of this loop as well. Even if the channels we need to do this are centralized, but we have to keep trying I guess.
You mentioned holding physical events, this Ghana project is one of them, and I mentioned in this post that this event is not bringing anything crucial because the organizers are targeting the wrong audience.
Basically, we're in a crossroad and doing it right comes as a cost I guess, but what do we do?

We need ways to market and network digitally that do not rely on Web 2.0. I can think of a few ways to do this and I will be putting together a new plan and strategy in the coming weeks.

Anyway, I'll be looking forward to this because I'm of the opinion that it's everyone's duty to make hive great. Thanks for that detailed comment.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta