Autocad 3D Modelling: Excalibur

in Sketchbook4 years ago

3DExcalibur.png



Previous Designs: 3D Modelling

Hive Logo | Build-it Community Logo | Gems Community Logo | Natural Medicine Community Logo | Gears | Rubik's Cube | Chain and Lock | Fan Blade | Nut | Bolt and Nut | Soccer Ball | Rhombic Triacontahedron | Icosidodecahedron | Hive Inspired Rims | Hive Inspired Tires | Hivewatchers Logo | Lamp on Desk | Chess Pieces - Pawn | Chess Pieces - Rook | Chess Pieces - Horse | Chess Pieces - Bishop | Chess Pieces - Queen | Chess Pieces - King | Mjolnir | Vibranium Shield

Hello Hivers!

I have another piece of 3D design that I wanna share to you today. It's the Excalibur sword. One of the many famous swords(if not the most) that we commonly know. And it's already given that whenever we hear the name of this sword, a person suddenly comes into our mind and that's the legendary, King Arthur.

I bet ya'll know the story behind that sword and to it's mighty owner. So, lets get going.

Process:

There are a lot of version of this sword, from comics to movies. That's why I did my own version of it but with some inspiration from other figures.

To start, create the handle of the sword. Do it by creating the outline of the handle with use of some circles and a little imagination.
Screenshot 391.png

Screenshot 392.png

Screenshot 393.png

Create also some of the details present in the handle if you want.
Screenshot 394.png

Screenshot 395.png

In this part, copy another figure of the handle and alice it into 3 parts. This will give a variation of materials applied on the handle.
Screenshot 396.png

Screenshot 397.png

Screenshot 398.png

Create the middle part figure of the sword. I simply made this thru lines as guides and some squares aligned concentric.
Screenshot 399.png

Screenshot 400.png

Then apply loft tool
Screenshot 401.png
And fillet tool to soften sharp edges.
Screenshot 402.png
This is how the handle will look like.
Screenshot 403.png
From here, I'll make the blades.
Screenshot 404.png

Screenshot 405.png
Be reasonable with your measurement. Apply taper tool and so on to get the righy shape of the blade.
Screenshot 406.png

Screenshot 407.png

Screenshot 408.png

Screenshot 409.png
Apply materials and combined those figures into one. You're done!
Screenshot 410.png

3DExcaliburModel.png


Thank you for dropping by. Stay tuned for more 3D Designs.

"best of time"

Sort:  

You are very professional. 💪

No, I am not, just knowledgeable enough with this application. I also know how to use sketchup, corel draw and other modeling applications but this one's running best on my laptop :D

Congratulations @themanualbot! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 55000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 56000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Hive Revolution - Mission 1 - Communication
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Oh that's clever! I wonder if you could use a similar design in a 3D printer?

I have a few pictures for you, I hope you're interested.

I started collecting swords a few years ago, and whilst this is not The Excalibur, I've always had a soft spot in my collection as it was the first bought for me.

Well done! So clever :)

IMG_3594.JPG

IMG_3595.JPG

IMG_3596.JPG

IMG_3597.JPG

I wonder if you could use a similar design in a 3D printer?

I'm not sure about this. But there are for sure some suitable programs for 3D printing designs.

Wow, so cool that you have that sword. I wonder how old is that. :D

It's not so very old. It's a 'replica' but as you know the history, on King Arthur's death, the sword was returned to Morgana, the Lady of the Lake.