Blooming cactus - Mammillaria magnimamma

in OCD4 years ago

You could admire this cactus monster before, but before the star was the Furry Assistant.
I think it is time to introduce properly one of the most evil plants I own. It has been blooming for me continuously for the past few weeks and I couldn't have asked for more! It is such a joy to look at when I know I missing on so many things right now. This lock down is such a waste of spring!

Mammillaria magnimamma


Mammillaria magnimamma flowers 2.jpg

This cactus is native to Mexico and grows in very dry and rocky soil. It is one of those that will handle the head and sun like no other. Loves high temperatures, but also requires lower temperatures and dry temperatures ion winter time in order to form buds and bloom in mid spring. It can handle short periods of below 0 degrees C. If stressed during very hot or very cold months it turns darker, almost purple. The body normally stays dark green with long, very hard, grey spines.

The spines can vary from very short ones very long ones reaching almost 5 cm!
Flowers show up in spring and can be white, yellow reddish and dark pink like mine. I wouldn't mine having white one as well.

Mammillaria magnimamma flowers 1.jpg

I got mine about a year ago already as a nice size plant and with that little baby on the side. As many supermarket plants it had no name and I had no clue what I am getting. I liked the shape and the evil spines. Those are just so freaking sharp and long.
I repoted it after the purchase and wanted to separate the little one, but it was so strongly attached that I left them together. With time it might grow more of them and will create a nice clump. That is fine too.

Mammillaria magnimamma flowers 4.jpg

I kind of knew the flowers will be pink. There was a little dry one when I bought it. The shape is quite typical for mammillarias, but a bit bigger than the ones I have.
The buds emerge from those fluffy pillows in early spring and I don't think this one will stop blooming any time soon. Cactus flowers usually don't last long, but very often the buds will grow slowly one by one so it seems that some bloom for weeks. Looks amazing when they open all around.

Mammillaria magnimamma flowers 6.jpg

Mammillaria magnimamma flowers 7.jpg

Mammillaria magnimamma flowers 3.jpg

Mammillaria magnimamma flowers 5.jpg

New spines started to grow as well. The young ones are red with black tips. Makes them look even more evil :p

Mammillaria magnimamma spines.jpg

Opposites attract?

Mammillaria magnimamma flowers 8.jpg

And a quick reminded - probably my favourite photo of this session :)

image.png

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum

Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King

Gymnocalycium Brushii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens

cactus banner.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Sort:  

Super complete your post is!
When I was a young man I gave my mother a cactus that lasted more than 25 years, the last time I saw her was 4 years ago when my mother died and the plant remains the same.

image.png

From my collection.....

Thanks!
Only one of my cacti is this old. My mum has an euphorbia that is probably this old.. It is just always there :)

You have a really nicely colour Gymnocalycium. And some more cool plants behind :) Would love to see what is in your collection.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...
Re-birth of a contest... check it out

Your cat is just amazing!! The cat goes very well with the cactus!!

Haha yes she does :D And she loves to watch them...

How many cacti do you have?

Way too many and still not enough :D
Probably close to 70 types.. some multiples of the same. 🙈