G-dog's engagement experiment results

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

You may have noticed I was absent from the Engagement League, run by the most salubrious Asher, also known as @abh12345, last week, and will be absent also this week. It doesn't mean I wasn't engaging though. I was doing an experiment and asked Asher to exclude this account from the results. It is about that experiment I write today.

[Image removed]

The experiment ran from last Monday to Sunday when the Engagement League results are announced each week.

I personally wrote 350+ comments, solid and lengthy ones, on my own account which Asher tells me would have had me in the top three in the League - My engagement was a little down, but still strong.

The engagement experiment wasn't on my own account though. It was done through my secondary account - The one I created for my wife Faith to possibly use in the future when time permits.

On that account, in the same period, I made 400+ comments of well over 130,000+ characters in length total, plus 7 or 8 posts. It was a lot of work to run both.

You may be asking why would G-dog do such a thing and it's a great question; Is he mentally retarded? (No, I've been tested. Lol)

The experiment

I wanted to see if there would be different responses to my main account with over 61,000HP to vote with, compared to an account that hasn't reached anywhere near 600HP yet, and probably never will. I didn't change comment length or quality, simply did the same as I would always do, but from that alternative account.

The results were interesting, disappointing and excellent at the same time.

I started commenting on Monday seeking a mix of accounts I had not yet commented on with my main account plus some I had. I was looking for a balance across the board.

Replies were slow on the first day but after the week I had gained replies from about 50% of those I'd commented on, so just over 200 replies. I was happy considering the account has a small voting power and was randomly popping into peoples posts out of the blue - A stranger as such.

As part of my strategy I would sometimes apologise for my pathetically low vote and was pleased to see almost 50% of people come back with the comment is more valuable to me. Sensational! Nice work team!

What happened next? I picked up followers and votes.

Upside

In the 7 day period I collected 27 new followers, not too bad for a new account who, to that point, had only commented a time or two. Extrapolate that out to 12 months and that's 1404 followers! Not too shabby.

400 comments, to just over 100 different accounts averages 4 comments per account. 200 comments back, give or take, and 27 new followers. Worth the effort? I also gained (total) post rewards of $16.20 in that time - Not huge, but far more than the cents a new account would typically gain I think.

I know what happens when I comment on users from my main account - I get followers, but I wanted to know if it could be done from a small, insignificant account that no one had ever heard of. And it can. With relative ease in fact.

It wasn't all good news though.

Downside

Some, who I could name but will not, were a little standoffish, ignorant and just plain rude. Not big accounts because I never commented on any big accounts - Disappointingly though, people who talk all over the blockchain about their support of, and engagement with, smaller accounts. Alarmingly also, some were accounts I regularly comment on from my main account, who comment with depth and vote my posts. Hmm...

Many ignored me, even after a few attempts on my part and some gave very short answers of 3-5 words. I get it, maybe they are busy, but nah, that's no excuse I think, certainly not from people trying to build their own accounts, or promote new users. Don't worry though, the G-dog has a good memory.

I also found many users not commenting effectively. This is an issue.

With a small Resource Credit commenting is limited, or so I understand it. Why then would thank you be a suitable response to a reply? Wouldn't that person want to get a little more value from their RC and make a more valid, relevant and interesting comment? Even if thank you is all they want to say? It seems so elementary to me. We can come up with every excuse under the sun for it, but clearly some of these people want to build here so why would they not think outside the square and comment more effectively when someone engages? Lack of education on the blockchain maybe?

More upside

I made some friends though, ones that will stick. I was also quite liberal with votes from my main account when someone did the right thing, applied some effort, was polite, personable and friendly. I also noted a few who I could see were getting out there and promoting engagement for no other apparent reason other than to help new users and promote the blockchain. That was amazing to see, and I will be rewarding those people with votes and support moving forward, as I did last week also.

Conclusions

  • Engagement works to build a following, profile, brand and relationships.
  • Commenting must be interesting, relevant, valid, friendly and personable.
  • Engagement needs depth, not just a single comment dropped, then bugger off never to return.
  • Relationships need nurturing, neglect them and they will go away.
  • Ignoring people that comment will be detrimental to you.
  • Don't waste RC on short comments, add depth, get the most from each comment.
  • Ask open questions when replying, not ones that can be answered with yes or no. Communication 101 here folks. (Ask open questions, not closed ones.)
  • Engaging externally from your own posts is critical - Comment on other people's posts I mean. People will not simply come to you because you're here.
  • Be kind, personable and polite - This is a huge one. You never know who is at the other end of that comment. It could be little old me, a huge account or a whale-alt looking for someone to engage with and vote on. (This actually happens you know).
  • Have decent post content for potential followers to review - Give them a reason to want to follow you.
  • Join the Engagement League to track yourself.

Just on the Engagement League - I read a comment last week that said it can lead a person to engage for the sake of winning the League rather than for the right reasons...I totally agree. Enjoyment has to come first, the rest will follow organically. The League is a great way to track yourself though, so engaging for enjoyment and to build one's account combined with the statistics from the Engagement League will work better than just one of them in isolation.

Yes, more dot points

  • Enjoy yourself and apply personality, passion and effort to that end.
  • Set achievable goals and seek sustainability - It's not a get rich quick scheme, or a race.
  • Be wary of those promising quick or easy rewards, they often lead to dark places and eventual disaster.
  • Ask questions. There's many here who would be happy to answer your questions and help guide you along. (Myself included.)
  • Don't hit people up on Discord for free votes - It happens to me all the time and you'll always get nothing. No shortcuts remember? Build relationships and the rewards will follow.

I don't think I'll be doing this again in a hurry, it was a lot of work, but I met some cool people who I will support and there may potentially be a few more to come depending on how they follow up on my alternative account's replies.

What I can say, for any user, is that building your account can be done through engagement. It takes work, but it is entirely possible and you can make it happen if you want. If not, then no worries, do what you're doing.

I built this account to what you see today in this manner, from zero, and I know it can be done. Finding excuses as to why it isn't happening isn't going to make it happen so don't make excuses, take action.

Thanks those who looked at, or read, this post.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Join the Engagement League

Sort:  

lol, I have replied to a couple of comments in the last week as Thankyou.

Now I wonder who could be behind those accounts. Nevertheless, I usually try to come up with conversations in comment, appreciate others for finding value in my content. And usually visit their profiles to find good content and comment on their post.

But sometimes the comment is so robotic that I feel that there isn't much to talk about.

Anyways, really good insights. I believe that not anyone else focus that much on engagement as you do.

I used to believe on engagement too. And me and @sidwrites used to compete who could engage more when we started.

These days though, I kind of only read and comment on posts that I like and find valuable to spend my time on.

But I feel like reading your posts will bring back the new energy in me....

Thanks a lot.

I used to believe on engagement too.

It is difficult to maintain anything with extreme focus for long; We are human and get distracted or lose interest. It doesn't mean we won't pick it up at some later time.

But I feel like reading your posts will bring back the new energy in me

This may happen, although you'll only sustain it if it's done for the right reason; You own reasons I mean. You know? It can't be forced.

yepp I know....but like if something changes your opinion, there is no harm in trying it again.

Before I used to feel like there is no benefit of engaging much here.

But now, I am observing you, @creativemary and I feel like if I try it genuinely, I can make good relationship with people on hive.

So, I am looking for more profiles, trying to find more content, and the most important is trying to enjoy all this experience.

It sounds like you're on the right track, certainly from the enjoyment perspective! Keep pushing.

thanks.😎

Keep it up, there are great people on Hive and you can connect. I find it to be the best place I've ever had my content put out. Almost like a little online family of creative nice people

Yepp, I have found 5-6 great people on hive. Always looking to find more.

If those 5 are top quality, then you can consider yourself lucky. Good people are a rare gem. And you have to keep faith, engage and nurture good connections

I think the most important thing is to go out of your comfort zone and say hello to completely new accounts that you haven't engaged with before. You never know who you'll fine - but I find that the main people that tend to interact are regular users.

Perhaps Asher needs to do a thing about the most prolific human commenters, so I can track down their blog and see if I think they're interesting people. :)

I agree with you. It's no different to meeting a new person at the pub or bar or work or wherever. The same communication principles apply. If a person is intrinsically shy and incapable of communication well, I think maybe trying to build an account on social media might take longer, or be a fools errand.

Always about the fear of rejection - instead of the fear of "how glorious could it be if I get to know this person?"

That's it! People need to put themselves in danger of building a relationship. Lol. Maybe easy for me to say as I do it all day every day at work and have over years, but it's not really all that hard, and the benefits are tangible.

... but I don't think I'm ready to take this comment to the next level. :o

As motivational speaker types say, all the magic happens outside the comfort zone.

Lol...Stop engaging with me, you're making me embarrassed.

Yes, it's true with life in general I think too right? Expanding paradigms, removing fear of failure and all that. They should teach this shit in school.

It's called show and tell, right? Show, tell, and answer questions.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thanks for putting yourself through the ringers in the name of Hive science! Would be interested to know who those accounts are that preached they are all about engagement but failed to engage!

Absolutely agree with the approach to the engagement league though, it should be used just to see how you are getting on and not feel forced, anything you get is a bonus just like post payouts. We talked about that before where people should just post and not think about the rewards solely - they will come over time.

I don't see any point in forcing the issue here, meaning that if someone doesn't want to engage, or write quality posts, then they will not. No amount of prodding will make them do it. That's the thing with engagement for me I think, I get genuine enjoyment from it so feel there is an immediate reward. If a person is all about the money they won't get the same satisfaction from a little engagement and will either not sustain it, or will do it badly.

people should just post and not think about the rewards solely - they will come over time.

Exactly!

!ENGAGE 25

There is definitely no point in forcing anything someone doesn't want to do as it often leads a bad taste in ones mouth.

I have "fits and spurts" of it. Most of the time I really enjoy just reading and leaving a comment authentically if something catches my eye. But I've also had the "one worders" stop by, killing the conversation dead and you're like:

Yep, that's pretty much how I am. Rarely will I revisit that user either, especially if I was the one that initiated the conversation. That's the thing with having solid relationships here, you tend to stay in them (within them) because so many other's choose not to engage properly. It's fun for me so why bother with a person who isn't? Sill, I often persist as I think it's good for the chain.

Yeah definitely, I'd rather spend my energy speaking with friends on here or people I've known for a while that we've built a solid friendship/relationship with than someone who writes "thanks" when you ask them a question. WHO DOES THAT?! haha

If you have the time to chase them, go for it but sometimes, energy is better spent elsewhere in my opinion.

I hear ya loud and clear. ✅

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Engagement makes a healthy Hive Community.

I’ll be stepping up my own engagement

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Yes, that's something I didn't say in my post; The benefit to hive through engagement and accelerated amounts of activity. Thanks for reminding me.

Good to hear you'll be stepping up engagement, we can all only do what we can do...It's the doing nothing scenario that seems so unproductive.

!ENGAGE 25

I am finding this a bit of an odd place to be honest, people just stop popping by and chatting, people stop reading peoples posts if there is nothing in it for them. I get a tonne more engagement on facebook than on here and that is free with no returns.

Weird place, not sure I am sold.

I think it's like many relationships, they will go away if neglected. I'm certainly one who will simply walk away and go else if a person stops interacting.

It's very hard to draw parallels to FB here, they are different but in the end a person needs to work out what they want out of it I suppose. Hive is new when compared to Facebook, and rewards users. Facebook rewards the owner, through taking from the users. People are looking more to instant gratification and that blue like tick seems to provide it. Here on hive it's not as easy to gain, especially at first.

People like you are what we need here, interesting people with the ability to write and something to write about, but I understand that if can seem more rewarding on places like Instagram and FB where instant reward (likes) can be gained. Here, one needs to build.

!ENGAGE 25

I hear you, but it is hard, I will endeavor all the same to try to make it more diversified with my builds on hive.

For me the most important thing is that the person has fun and we all have a different idea of that. The thing here is the lack of instant gratification which we have been trained to desire from places like Facebook. They do that as a reward for tapping the screen which trains us in turn. One of the reasons I hate FB. Here that doesn't exist, in fact the screen-tap rewards someone else mostly.

Just have fun man, if you can, and if you find that you cannot then look elsewhere because there's no point doing something we're not engaged with and enjoying. I'd leave also if that was the case, you know?

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

That is one cool name you got there.

This is the reason why small accounts need to make the effort. I did for nearly 2 years ans honestly have taken the foot off the pedal. It is a lot of work but one needs to do the leg work to get the rewards. Must of admit I rely on that beemee tool to much as a little lost without it right now. The replica steemworld one and hope someone comes up with a permanent solution.

Maybe it's partly laziness and partly ignorance? Maybe new users need a resource, an easy to follow one that they land on when they first arrive?

For me it seemed so sensible to work on building relationships on a platform where financial reward is dependent upon other people. Same as you I guess right? It seems that many don't see that for themselves though. I wonder why? Societal change and influence? I mean hive isn't that hard right? Need people to vote on my posts, build relationships.

I used to use steemworld a lot myself but have not used been anywhere near as much. Seems ok, but some things missing. I heard the steemworld guy got screwed by steem but ended up staying? Not sure, I avoid drama where possible.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Did your alt make the engagement league list? I wondered why I did not see you last week.

I stopped looking at peoples rep a long time ago as I followed some in the early days with high rep, but decided that was not a way to follow or find followers.

It did. Got all the way up there...

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Haha, now you've got me thinking was I one of the rude bastards, if you were popping up all over the place I hope I responded. I've been struggling with the whole thing of late and not been in a chatty mood. Great experiment though, let's hope i'm not on your black list.

You've got nothing to worry about on that front. All good mate. We all get under the pump at times or disinclined to chat, myself included. You got much planned for the weekend? Bloody shocker here, cold rainy. I'll be on the couch watching shows.

Better get that coat on then, hot humid and damp here the southern monsoon is slowly creeping in so we have had some stunning storms.
Weekend no real plans, the government here are all over the place, they have told us we can get back to normal, then go back on it time and time again, it's getting frustrating as we all want and need is get the wheels moving, the locals are suffering because its our business that keeps them afloat. Enjoy that sofa.

!ENGAGE 15

Ah you've done it again, been meaning to ask what's the score with these engage tokens?

They reward engagement with a vote from @misterengagement. Moving forward it will have some good value I think. See Asher's post below.

https://peakd.com/hive-174578/@abh12345/misterengagement-and-the-tribes

Cheers fella I will give that a read later but for now the wife wants pasta so it's to the kitchen with me.

Off with you Paul...A man's work is never done. Lol.

Have a good weekend.

Dinner was a success so i'm in the good book for that, and it gave me something to post about so two birds with one stone, happy days.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Cool thanks, I will have to learn what that means for me sometime soon.

Oooo such a brilliant idea! Very interesting experiment! I think it is worth to go undercover and see things which you would not normally see under a big account. I think you have gained genuinely nice new friends if they were kind enough to answer nicely to a new account. Way too often people look at status, ignoring the person behind. Like all of those hp and numbers can tell you if they worth your time. It would be something to be able to hide that away and let people reveal themselves. I think more should do this, it would test people from their own lists too, uh my good good good one!

It was an interesting experiment to see the difference in engagement with me compared to the small alternative account. I learned a lot, not just for those on my own list, but in general. It will help me support new accounts as I understand how they are responded to, through my experience. Of course, I knew this already as I have built my own account from scratch, although my brother was here first and I possibly gained a little through his relationships back in the early days.

It was a lot of work, but I think it was worthwhile as I can better advise newer accounts and those who want help.

Definetely! It is good to never forget the beginnings and to be able to feel how it is like to be just a human trying to reach out to other humans. No matter the status. Because after all this is why we all really are here, to our core. People trying to find connection with other people. Simple as that. The rest is a bonus.

When people connect here the results are often lasting relationships although there are many who are more about receiving financial reward than connection and it's those who often get the engagement aspect wrong. Thanks for your comments. I hope you have a good day.

Connection for money, well that's just wrong. But it would not surprise me because people even get married for money, divorce for money or lie and cheat for money. So connection for money seems a little thing next to these lol

Ah thank you, hope your shoulder is better after the needle therapy lol. The week is almost gone. How's Merlin doing? Lucky cat, sitting all day while G Dog makes money to feed the meow meow😂

Money means more to humans than anything else it seems.

That is just sad. Sad.

It does takes work and take time but consistence will it faster

building your account can be done through engagement. It takes work, but it is entirely possible and you can make it happen if you want.

Wow, 400 comments. I am not even sure on the number I made last week. I think I should check the engagementleague cos my name appeared in top 100 🤗🤗.

More important than the number of comments is the quality. It's relationships that will build a brand here, not merely a lot of comments. It just takes a lot of comments to build the relationships sometimes.

A person is better to place 50 quality and valid comments a week than 400 rubbish ones like:

Yep
Yes
No
Ok
Nice post
Thank you
Cool
Wow...And so on.

That can come later, once the relationship in is established and solid.

Yeah, that's actually what I have been trying to do. To build a figure here.

It's been not so easy, as I am also a quite new to hive though I was on steemit but left early due to little understanding on how it works. Since I knew that engagement/interacting is the best way to get yourself around, I try my best to engage with others if you noticed.

I have noticed you engaging. Keep it up though, it takes time. Get involved in discussions, be friendly, relavent and timely and it'll start to come together.

Thanks very much. Will try my best as always.

Really good piece of advise. Will apply!

Nice post, thumbs up 👍

You are really engaged!
A bit off topic, but I realized something weird yesterday. I am relatively new on Hive, so it may be something you've already know. Comments sent from a platform different than yours could take longer to arrive (you can see the comment on Esteem, but not on Peakd for a time for example), and this delay breaks the continuity of conversation.

I've never noticed that. I don't use Esteem. I use peakd and hive interfaces only.

I don't think it matters though. I mean, you wouldn't want to leave it days before replying, but that sometimes happens too I guess. We all get busy. If the relationship is good then a little delay shouldn't matter too much.

Not that my blog is overflowing with comments, but I wouldn't leave any comment unanswered.
My mother didn't raise me to be rude:)
This delay caught my attention yesterday, and I wanted to share it even though it was off-topic.

You'll get comments on your own posts if you comment on others...Not always, but more of them at least. You have to keep front of people's mind. It's hard though, I know. I feel it too you know. I get really disappointed if I don't get some comments.

It sounds like you had a mum like me; Being rude wasn't much of an option. I didn't like the consequences I'd face if I was rude. 😁

Your experiment is inspiring. I'll try it when I have the time.

I'm also available if you have any questions. Happy to help where I can.

Thanks a lot.

Ah! So that's where you went. Hope my reply was good?
We also have a battle with combination as a new account to become noticed and I remember when Papillon started how people simply ignored us.

You had a brainwave here to test the situation and I think that people concentrate on the rep numbers when they receive comments.
A (70) or by luck an (80) will get a book reply, but a (40) or a (50) will get a brief note.
Such is life methinks.

A good message here for all of us to be more lenient with our replies!

Rep comes into it, I didn't write that into my post but yes, you're right. I'm at 76, the alt is just into the 60's, so I'm sure people consider that. It's not a big thing for me though, I look at the content, quality, and the commenting.

I hope @combination gets some traction. Will take some time. I haven't forgotten about doing that post either. Just waiting for it to go a few weeks.

The thing is that a lot of the newbies come in with ulterior motives.
I don't want to buy artworks or anything else and as soon as a regular engagement is established then I receive an offer.
Don't know if you also experienced this, so one has to be careful.
Refuse the offer and the person simply disappears to try their luck elsewhere.

I will DM you now about what we are doing with combination.

Yes, I get the same. People trying to scramble for anything they can get. The funny thing is that if they took some time to build relationships they may find they'd get what they want anyway.

Exactly. But it has to be genuine, as false praise delivers misery.

I don't want to buy artworks or anything else and as soon as a regular engagement is established then I receive an offer.

I purchased some art work (from a then Steemian) - and its on my loungue room wall. If it Hadn't met that individual on the blockchain - then I'd never have purchased their work - the support mechanisms, and discovery is the most magical part - we can see others as competitors, or collaborators.

My view is that most people on the hive blockchain just want to get their views out there, and engage with like minded people - but as with everything, it takes dedication and continued efforts to get people to form habits.

Thank you for the comment.

Agreed that discovery is the most magical part, especially when the gift of like minded people appears.
I must admit that I am also biased, as I lean towards the charity field and heart issues. But sadly I have no use for a new game controller, or many of the other offers out there.

Yes, I have respect for the efforts of others, especially if it is a person with good quality stuff that's only trying to make a living and maybe I used art as the wrong example, but I think that people should pick their targets more carefully.

Maybe I am wrong here and the only way to learn is from people like you that care enough to comment as you just did!

I went stalking around your profiles thinking "Art? Where?" - We're really blessed that there's an amazing community of artists and photographers on this blockchain. Visual splendour galore.

I was speaking with @mattclarke not too long ago, and he and I seem to have a similar notion - if I'm not buying crypto, why am I buying it? Worldly possessions can only do so much, erode, decay, and expend their useful endurance.

Meanwhile, what we do on a blockchain has the potential to last for eternity.

In a selfish way, I see this place as my epitaph for when I'm no longer "of this Earth".

I only used art as an example. Could have used car parts or any other medium.
You obviously love art and sorry if I offended, as it was not my intention.
In fact I have an artist as a friend on Hive, @georgeboya

In agreement regarding wordly posessions, as they also have no meaning to us. We are all only on a journey here and my view is that what we do for others is what counts.
That's why The Papillon Foundation here in South Africa is now in its 20th year.

You should have a look at our website to see what we do. http://www.papillonfoundation.com

Note that Papillon is in South Africa and we are not affiliated to any other entities across the world that uses the same brand name.

You don't sound like a selfish man to me and I like your idea about an "epitath"

We met in a weird way, but that's how life works and maybe we are intended to be friends!

Fine engagement/investigation work Galen!

I'd be interested to hear who responded well to the stranger, and who is pushing engagement for the right reasons.

Cheers!

I'll Discord you. :)

Lol... e-sneeakky-sneaakky you are! Really cool experiment. Well thought out and the like. :) I hope I engaged you if you engaged me. I respond with real comments to everyone who leaves me a comment that is more than one or two words. Even the 1-3 word comments I try to respond to (especially if they are new). Then again, I'm not popular enough to be flooded with tons of comments, and I can imagine it would become a lot to respond to from time to time...

Anyway, thanks for sharing this awesome experiment!

It can get a little difficult to respond to many comments, especially when a person is doing back-end stuff, posting etc. It's important though. It's the newer accounts that need to be doing it more however, not the older established ones. It is them, who need (want) to build after all right? I've had people contact me on Discord for support but when I go and see their activity it's next to nothing. Just hive, or a sign of the times in the real world too?

Good question. It may be a sign of the times. I hope not and/or I hope it will change. I suppose all we can do is put in our part. I pale in comparison to a lot of people here, but I do when I can mostly.

All we can ever ask of ourselves is our best efforts, and hope it is enough.

I feel like I need to get into memes just to express how those 'bad accounts' must feel now.

Or how they would feel if they knew about this - ironically those people are probably precisely the kind of people who wouldn't be reading this.

The title really doesn't do this post justice - it's one of the most interesting topics for content creators - I think it needs a more direct title!

Something like - I'm an Orca who pretended to be Minnow, here's what happened....

I'm a direct dude in real life here, not so much, but yes, I did consider something like that went the soft option instead.

It was a really interesting experiment. Unfortunately it won't make any difference. I've spoken about it off chain with a few but in the end it will end up making no difference...Except to how I view (and vote) those who didn't do the the right thing by a new account, despite what they say they do for the community and new users.

Thanks for commenting on the old (sneaky) G-dogs experiment. 🙂

I think I was always safe, I'm not the most engaged when it comes to comments, most of mine are quite short.

I think that's just me and comments in general thought.

I do at least acknowledge people who say more than 'great post'.

Depressing to say that despite that I've won prizes recently in Asher's League!

It was a great idea for an experiment! It really did need a more deserving title though!

Let's give this a try....

!ENGAGE 30

Gawd, now I see myself having to do another experiment just so I can deploy a more hard-hitting title on it! 😂

Sometimes engagement isn't possible for many reasons. At the moment, probably since last October, I've done a lot of it and it's possible for me to do so, but that may change at some stage. I get it, people get busy.

What I don't like...People presenting themselves as something but in reality being the opposite. I have a file in my noggin reserved for people like that.

I spoke with Asher and two others who knew what I was doing, and the account from which I was doing it and maybe if I did it again I'd involved him more (tracking stats) as if he has anything else to do! 🤔

You can be head of the Titling department.

Thanks for the ENGAGE, much appreciated.

I really appreciate your discretion over this btw - defo best to not call people out - the data's there - so word will get around - no need to name and shame - unless they start to sell themselves on 'engagement'.

Titling - I've never come across that term before!

BTW check this out - the amount of raw data involved in working out curation returns on one post - you'll recognize the poster I'm sure!

http://scot-api.steem-engine.com/@tarazkp/how-does-curation-work-on-hive-what-are-the-rules-posting-and-voting-limits?hive=1

Yeah, I wasn't sure about the word...

Maybe, title-ing? Fuck it, it's Sunday morning, near enough is good enough.

Yes, I would never call someone out as it would affect their account but I think people will get what they deserve, good or bad, over time.

That Taraz guy...Something wrong with him...Seems dodgy. 😂

It's Sunday morning here too...

20200621_012519.jpg

I think I just found a new way of gaming @abh12345's league.

Perhaps you could make Taraz head of 'dodging'.

I actually thought you meant 'Tilting' as in tilting towards a better system - the concept of 'title' didn't even register without the 'E' - it's a tricky thing language!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

What a great experiment and I can certainly see how much work it must have been! Wow! I have all I can do to keep up with making comments on the posts in my communities and returning comments that are made on my posts! You definitely deserve the king of engagement award! It was interesting to hear what your observations were after doing this.
!tip

It was hard work for sure, but gave me so much intel on engagement, for new accounts and on who is doing what I see as the right thing, and the wrong. Still, it's a personal choice and people can do as they please.

It showed me that building through engagement works (which I knew) and gave me some stats to prove it.

I'll not want to do it again in a hurry. 🙂 Too much work Melinda. ☹️

Anytime any new users have come to me asking for advice on how to grow their accounts I've told them that in my opinion engagement is the single most important factor. Often times I realize later that they don't want advice, they just want votes! I don't know how many new users have actually listened and carried on with making comments, but I strongly suspect that it is very few of them. It seems like so many people are looking for the easier softer way to get rich here. You provide not only a glowing example, but now some personal data on how it really works.
!ENGAGE 50

I get the same...The asking for advice, but actually just begging for votes, thing. I was inundated with it on Discord in the last month's. Slowed down now though.

Engagement works, no doubt. If everyone got it then things would look different here. Oh well, I'll keep plugging away and hope some learn.

Thanks for the ENGAGE.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

🎁 Hi @galenkp! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Letter I For The Alphabet Hunt Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thanks for running this experiment. I do instant now what you meant by it being to run two accounts.

You did make some serious amount of engagement happen. I’m glad to hear you managed to do so well.

I’d like to make an observation though. For someone who is new to hive there is one more thing that makes it difficult to engage in rewarding engagement. Knowing who to engage with.

Consider a newbie that has found a topic somewhere online and has managed to sign up without outside help and is therefore totally in his/her own. They don’t know about know about hive-engine yet, so likely they end up going to the trending topics trying to find good quality content.

How long does it take them to find ocd, neoxian city, palnet, leofinance etc. and how long before they strike up meaningful conversation?

How many have given up before that point? I’m afraid it’s the majority of signups. Mostly because the majority of people on hive is still here with a tv broadcasting mentality.

Still, if you want it and you go for it. If you put in the work, then through meaningful engagement anyone can become a whale on hive.

I myself made good progress this week. My hive power grew from 6 HP to 25HP through some lovely tips and a big upvote.

It's good to see that your account has increased. You mention it was through tips...Did they come out of the blue or were they in response to something you did? I would imagine they were the latter, responses to some actions or activity from yourself. If that's the case you should do more of that as it seems to be working.

I understand what it was like for a new account, I was one myself three years ago and finding people to interact with was a trial and error process, it's like anyone pioneering in a particular area; Mistakes are made, then adjustments and one moves forward, possibly to make more mistakes.

I find it interesting though, that people whinge and complain about being new and small, and yet fail to engage with someone (let's say me) when the opportunity is freely given. On Friday I even offered 40 hive, just for a comment left, and yet so few smaller accounts engaged with it...So, the hive will go to a more established user who read the post and engaged.

And therein lies the issue...People are quick to complain about what they don't have, rather than work towards what they want. There's no free rides here, although I offered one on Friday and still it was not accepted by many at all. Back when I was very new I would have jumped at the opportunity to won some free hive from just a simple comment.

Knowing who to engage with isn't the issue, I see that as another excuse. Engage with everyone, work out who engages back and do so some more. Engagement isn't about targeting big accounts or curation projects for reward. A user doing that will almost certainly get no reward from it.

If I have misunderstood your comment fell free to clarify, but please don't forget that three years ago I was no different to any other user starting from scratch, so, I understand. There is no free ride here, only the one that a user creates for themselves.

The good thing is that you seem to know the right way to go. Well done.

I agree with what you said. For me it has been a journey indeed to figure out who responds to my comments and posts.

The tips came as a result of meaningful posts and comments indeed, so I’ll certainly continue with that.

Too bad I missed your 40 hive for a comment post. I would’ve certainly jumped at the opportunity.

You haven't missed that post. Look at my blog feed and you'll find it clearly titled.

Keep up the good work.