🍔Forget Sloppy Joe's & Have Sloppy Cece's Instead! (Vegan/Gluten Free)🍔

in #ocd4 years ago

I mean, who is this "Joe" anyway? Move out tha' way Joe! Cece's taking over this recipe!


sloppy joe1.jpg


Do you have a favorite comfort food from childhood?

Sloppy Joe's are one of the first things I remember making with my dad but, most of the ingredients in the recipe we used waaaay back then were not within my realm of dietary ethics now.

Therefore, this is my take on a sloppy Joe AKA sloppy Cece 😂! Vegan, gluten free, sugar free, and made from scratch! YUM!

Pinto beans take over the base, swimming in deliciously slow cooked veggies and spices and it's sandwiched by homemade coconut, almond garlic buns!

David Katz, MD said in an interview I was listening to recently, if every American subbed beans for beef, the US could come close to meeting their GHG goals even if people continued in all other habits the same! That's a huge shift for one small substitution!

As an added bonus, it would also mean less deforestation and would free up more than 50% of crop land in USA!

So bring on the beans and leggooo that environmental implication!


sloppy joe2.jpg


What You Need:


Slow Cooked:

  • 1 cup pinto beans (soaked overnight and cooked most of the way)
  • 2-3 tomatoes (diced)
  • 1 red bell pepper (diced)
  • 4-5 shallots and/or 1 onion (minced)
  • 1-2 carrots (diced)
  • 3-4 garlic cloves or go on and get garlicly... maybe I used a whole head (minced)
  • 1/2 green cabbage (thinly sliced)
  • 1/2 zucchini (diced)
  • 1 red chili pepper (spice up to your preference)
  • 1 cup veggie broth
  • 1 tbsp Bragg's liquid aminos
  • 1/2 tsp Pink Himalayan sea salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp paprika

What To Do:


  1. Soak your pinto beans overnight in filtered water
  2. Drain the beans in the morning and cook them until they're pretty tender (not all the way)
  3. Mince up your garlic, carrots and onion in some coconut oil on medium heat. Cook for about 5 minutes.
  4. Dice up the chili pepper, bell pepper, tomatoes, zucchini and cabbage. Set the cabbage and zucchini aside.
  5. In a slow cooker, throw in the tomatoes, bell pepper, chili pepper, beans and the garlic/carrot/onion mixture with the veggie broth, spices and Bragg's
  6. Let everything cook in there for as long as you have time for. I set mine to slow and let it go for 3 hours then took my first round out (because it smelled so good I got impatient) then the second round was about 5 1/2 hours and even more delicious!
    Add the cabbage and zucchini about 30 mins before you plan on eating making sure to stir a few times to have it all cooked!
  7. Serve on a gluten free bun and if you spread on some vegan cream cheeze no one will complain!

cheese.jpg


So, I am gluten free and I'm eating low carb right now so I MADE MY OWN BUNS in the heat of the moment and I'll share that whole recipe experience with you in another post but they were delicious and made from almond and coconut flour!

Messiness guaranteed!


sloppy joe4.jpg



I wish you yummy in your tummy!
Love and Light ✨
Cece 😘🧙
This post is original content by Cece Heart
upvote.gif

cece red dress.jpg

What did you miss from me? Here's what I've been up to lately
(and there is plenty more where that came from!)

Crust-Lust: Perfect Pie Crust
Iced Brown Morning Potion
I Don't Know What This Is But It's Delicious
Not Hamburger Helper
What About Elevenses?
The Winter Olympics Nail Driving Champion + Hot Chili Pot
I'll Take Fries With That Rainbow
The Avo-calypse
Why Rejection is a Reflection
Deep Dippin' Cheap & Easy
Make Your Leftovers Great Again
📺Vlog: Introvert Crawls Out Of Cave
Veggie Patties
📺Vlog: Your Food Tinder Date
Close Your Eyes: Poem
Easy Bowl Life Is Where It's At
📺Vlog: Intuition In A Time of Uncertainty
The WRap Star
Hot Bowl You Can Eat All Day!
📺Vlog: Hacks to Make Quarantine Work for You!
Intro to Hive
The Tale of the Wild Wild Cookie
Must Share Thoughts on Quarantine
4 Delicious Quarantine Snacks
To Quiche or Not to Quiche
Gluten Free Crust
Fysh Curry
Coffee Talk
Guiltless Brownies
Green Protein Fiend
Balinese Rendang
Loaded Jicama Fries
Cookies and Cream
CocoNutty Dream Cream Curry
Spinach and Quinoa Bathing in Tahini
Deliciously Unsuspecting Cabbage Fry
Pesto Impresso

Sort:  

Ah sloppy Ceces are now my new favourite thing lol I want a junk food dish reimagined and named after me, lol #lifegoals

Haha YES @chekohler, it's in the future for you! I can see it now! :)

Loving the enthusiasm, I believe it too! I can't wait for my moment

@porters here on behalf of @NaturalMedicine – M-m-m! Another delicious and nutritious meal! Love your recipes and how true the difference it would make to switch from beef to beans! Thanks for sharing! Can't wait for the bun recipe!

curation.png

We'd love you to enter our Wild Edibles Challenge
, which you can read about here. There's 100 HIVE on offer & lots of LOTUS to win!

Thanks @porters! I made the bun recipe on the fly and honestly wasn't very sure how they would turn out so I don't have exact measurements but I'll hack it and post it soon because they were super yum! <3 Lots of love to you!

Being Australian, I'd never heard of sloppy Joe's til recently. They sound pretty gross.. I'd rather your version any day!

What No Spinach?

IMG_20200504_194011693.jpg

Yea I grow spinach in the garden. :)

Congratulations @heart-to-heart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 37000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 38000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!