Witness Update

in #witness-category3 years ago (edited)

I can't believe the time has passed so quickly since my last witness report. This must be one of the side effects of confinement. Let's see what has happened since then.

I will begin with my work relating to Hive globally and then outline what I have done regarding the projects that I personally manage.

Hive ecosystem

New Hive API public node

In my previous witness post, I mentioned my aim to provide the Hive network with an additional public API node.

A promise I kept as soon as @blocktrades and his team finished migrating Layer 2 social parts of Hive from hived to Hivemind. By the way, I did my best to help, to the extent of my means, to identify issues and contribute to their resolution if not to the improvement of Hivemind.

My Hive API node is available at https://hive-api.arcange.eu

Attending CodeDev meetings

CoreDev meetings are important moments for witnesses, whether they are developers or not. This is where current or upcoming developments are discussed. There are also discussions that take place in the chat or on-chain, but the dynamics are not the same. I find it unfortunate that there are no more witnesses participating.

Some like me are not very talkative, but I find it useless to say the same things twice (which is often the case when we agree with what has been said) and prefer to keep my interventions when they add value to the discussion.

Here a link to the last CodeDev meeting recording.

HiveFest

Of course, Hivefest has been an important moment in the past. It was not easy to organize this event with the sanitary conditions that we are experiencing, but it is a challenge that @roelandp has successfully taken up.

As with the previous edition, I stepped in directly with the HiveBuzz team to add our usual extra fun touch, as well as to offer to each participant a nice badge.

It was also an opportunity for me to make a presentation of the different projects that I manage like HiveBuzz, HiveSQL and Engage.

Personal projects

I have not been idle either on the level of my more "personal" projects, with sometimes big changes and sometimes smaller ones, but each time particular care to improve them.

Hive AutoClaim services

For those who don't know yet, Hive Autoclaim Services is a cloud service that automatically does all the dirty work for you and claims any available Hive and Hive-Engine tokens.

In October 2020, I decided to make use of the service completely free. Yes, you read that correctly, it is a free service that I offer to all users of the platform. It is active 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, even when your browser is closed, even when you are sleeping.

HiveSQL

HiveSQL also had to undergo a lot of updates to adapt to the new specs and configuration of the blockchain after the hardfork and add new features. It even had to be stopped for a while for major maintenance after its database was corrupted because of Hivemind flaws. Fortunately, all of this is now history.

But the main event that occurred about HiveSQL is when it became free again for everyone to use thanks to the support you have given to the related proposal.

HiveSQL is being used more and more by a growing number of bloggers and developers, which demonstrates the usefulness of such a tool and I can only be happy about it.

Engage

Engage is a conversation and community management application that I also regularly maintain. It helps you to manage your incoming flow of posts and comments with a dedicated, non-distracting interface.

I added a few new features like filtering on post, disabling templates and displaying post or comment's current payout, new features that have particularly pleased @inertia as he explains in his "Engage of Awesome" post.

HiveBuzz

How not to mention my work for Hivebuzz, a project now well known to all.

For several months now, we have been hosting the now famous Hive Power Up Day and the next one will be on April 1st.

With this event, I also wanted to strengthen the notion of community and mutual aid with the Power Up Helper and the idea of offering a delegation for users who regularly run a Power Up

It also required a lot of work to set up the Hive Tour. And it's not over as there are still many things to do.

Hive Recovery update

After publishing a first update to the Hive Recovery service, I decided to go back to the drawing board and redesign it from scratch to make it more simple and intuitive.

Hive Recovery is a service that runs continuously and on its own to help you secure and recover your account if it were to be compromised. I invite you to read its user guide and the last post I published about how important it is to carefully choose your recovery account.

New Hive .NET library

In between projects, I miraculously found some free time to develop and introduce a new Microsoft .NET library for Hive developers.

Languages

And finally, those who know me well know how much I love foreign languages. Their use on Hive is no exception. I have recently published an analysis on this subject.

This is why I regularly have translated my posts and those of the projects I manage in different languages. It's also a lot of work or supervision.
A huge thank you to @victoriabsb and @louis88 for their regular help. If you would like to join this collective effort, don't hesitate to contact me.

I also had the opportunity to participate recently in the Hive MeetUP organized by the Hispanic community.

Taking a small break

There you go, I think that's about it I think I haven't forgotten anything.

The other side of the coin of this passionate work is that I neglected family, friends, other activities I'm involved in and more than all the rest time I should be giving myself.

So it is high time for me to take care of my health and my loved ones. Someone who cares more about me than I do (understand my doctor) "suggested" that it would be wise to take a small break, at least until Easter. I will (try to) take his advice and stay AFK for a bit.

But do not worry:


Discover my apps and services


Vote for me as a witness

Sort:  

Thank you for your work. There is so much great potential for the good, so far I can see, as a newbie, just a glimpse of this monster of a network and its community, I've still been tracking behind the rabbit. But it's stunning. Thanks!
I wish you the pink of health, and hopefully you had a well deserved rest.

You definitely get my vote as a witness!

Thank you for your support @growandbow, really appreciate it! 👍

I'm so glad you're listening to your very wise doctor & taking a bit of a break. In fact, I almost didn't want to reply to this & ping your notification! 😂

I know I've said it before, but thank you so much for everything you've done to support Hive Power Up Day, as well as the million-and-one amazing things you've created for the blockchain. Sending lots of restful & feel better soon wishes to you and yours. 🥰

Thank you Traci ❤️
Tried to stay AFK and not to look at my notifications, then came this issue with the HiveSQL proposal being unfunded.
Life is sometimes vexing. 😖

You are awesome and deserve some vacation and rest time 💕

Muchas gracias @victoriabsb.
Me tomaré un descanso de mis incesantes solicitudes de traducción. 😇

A busy and well-filled year, nice job 👍

I think there is a communication problem about the core dev meeting, I'm sure I'm not the only one who thought it was only for the core dev.


@mintrawa: Witness FR - Gen X - Geek 🤓 Gamer 🎮 traveler ⛩️
Don't miss the Hive Power UP Day! more info here

Merci @mintrawa.

The topics of CoreDev meetings are obviously about core development, but that doesn't stop people who aren't core-developers from attending and having a say.

Thanks for the precision about these meetings 🙂👍

Gracias por el trabajo que haces por Hive y espero que descanses mucho para que tus energías queden recargadas. También estoy pensando seriamente tomarme un tiempo; sin embargo, será un poco más difícil porque adquirí nuevas responsabilidades. Veré que puedo hacer. Te esperamos..!

Muchas gracias @fermionico. Buena suerte con tus nuevas responsabilidades.

Well deserved break. Come back stronger!

Thanks for all the hard work and great tools you have provided. Take care of yourself mate, have some well deserved time off 💪

Thanks for all the hard work and enjoy your well deserved family time!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 49 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3


Hey @arcange, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Enjoy your more than well deserved break. I appreciate the work you've done for the community and I appreciate you giving us an update on everything you've been up to.

Thank you @branbello. I think every witness should do a regular report about its activity on the blockchain;

I do too. I was actually mentioning that witnesses should regularly report in The Terminal discord a few days ago. The majority of the witness posts are incredibly outdated and don't offer insight to any of their current happenings or mindsets.

Thank you for your update, I really appreciate your work.

Hope you feel better soon - health before wealth as my mum would say!

Thank you @blockchainyouth, smart mum you have! 😉

Good luck bro

!PIZZA !KING !HUESO !PGM $LUV

Greetings from the Virtual World Community. We send you Hueso token to support your work.
Click on this banner, to be directed to the Virtual World Discord and learn more about the curation project.


Uses: 1/2
!LUV

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@xclanleo(1/5) tipped @arcange (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Saludos @curangel cómo hago para votar por usted, nunca lo echo y no sé cómo es este asunto de votos

Puedes hacerlo pinchando en el siguiente enlace:

https://vote.hive.uno/@arcange

o uno de estos:

😉 gracias