Dropping targeted comments

in #community6 years ago

From time to time, my account gets mentioned on a list to target for comment rewards because I tend to reward most of the comments I get however, I don't reward any comments. The comments I upvote are the ones that add value to the conversation, the ones I enjoy, the ones from people who consistently comment and add value to the conversation with comments I enjoy. I understand that not everyone speaks English well, but generally speaking, if you do not actually understand the post, it is better not to comment perhaps because I am likely to start flagging those comments as spam again.

The next thing is that I am not a needy, insecure person who requires to be told how pretty I am so nonsense, disingenuous comments pandering to my ego are unlikely to get any support unless they also add something to the conversation of the post. Irrelevance is not really a trait I look for in a good comment and I dislike the Instagram-esque style of commenting with empty words of flattery. Even with translations apps and the like, I assume if someone is unable to form a somewhat coherent sentence for a comment, they are unlikely to have understood my article, story, poem, thoughts and any nuances they may or may not contain.

This isn't about the length of comments, it is about the value in my eyes and the ability they have to build relationships. When people (myself included) keep mentioning engagement, this is what is meant; it isn't the commenting alone, it is the comment's ability to create connections between people and develop personal relationships of some sort. This is why I can happily reward comments from some people that from the outside view wouldn't appear to add value to the conversation because, I know where they stand as we have a track record relationship already built.

I know it is a hard world out there and it is especially hard on Steem for people who struggle in English as there are very few language-based communities that have Steem Power behind them but, this can change significantly over time with price changes and mainstreaming. What this means is that for those who struggle in English, spending time developing and supporting language niches is an investment in the future here, as is powering up a little so as to be able to support others also.

The problem with targeting those who reward comments for reward alone is that while in the short-term there may be some gains, in the long term the relationship network isn't broad nor is it deep and those who reward comments can change their habit, leave the system or be forced to sell their stake for whatever reason. Then what? Building an account here is more than Steem Power, it is becoming part of the community it some way by offering something of value. If your comments, behaviour or content don't add something of value, why expect something of value in return?

There are lots of complexities and nuances in all things Steem but approaching it only to extract isn't likely going to work out well for anyone in the long run.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

I like to rewards people for comments pretty much for the same reasons you do. But what I think sometimes happens when people notice an author rewarding most of the comments in their posts, is a sense of entitlement. It's a damaging way of thinking.

is a sense of entitlement. It's a damaging way of thinking.

It runs through the entire system where people expect reward no matter what they bring to the table.

I've recently started downvoting spammy comments. For a long time I didn't believe in downvoting, and never did, but now I see it is an integral part of how this system functions without a central authority. We all become responsible for fighting spam.

I actually gave a 100% downvote today to someone who not only commented in a way that clearly showed he/she had just looked at the photo and not read the post, but also seemed to use 3 different sock puppet accounts to upvote their own post to about .16 so that it appeared first in the list of post comments. Or maybe it really is a group of spammers working together to reward each other's comments and encourage other readers to think it's a comment worth supporting. Whatever the plan, not working on my blog.

For a long time I didn't believe in downvoting, and never did, but now I see it is an integral part of how this system functions without a central authority.

It took me quite a while too.

We all become responsible for fighting spam.

We are all responsible for everything here and in time we will realise it more and more. People complain about Stinc but, in a decentralized community, their hands are somewhat tied.

Whatever the plan, not working on my blog.

Yep. They also do it with stolen accounts while they power them down sometimes. Smash em ;)

I think this is in line with my recent article on upvote paddlers who sent most of their time stroking the egos of top account users.

Personally I have a target of ten comments by per, however, that doesn't main my target is so important that I drop random and unrelated comments. And yes, I target some users who are generous with their upvotes, but if I dont have something to say I just upvote and move on. Something you have nothing to add to the conversation even though the article is a good one.
Also, being dependent on those upvotes to the point where you become a yesman is a no for me. Building strong bonds is based on honesty, and if that means not sharing the same perspective on an issue so be it.
I think genuine people on this platform appreciate honesty, as long as you state your honest opinion without malice

I love the term 'upvote paddlers' :-)

Lol it just popped in my head, i don't know if it makes that much sense...

There is nothing wrong with the targeting, I actually recommend it.

Building strong bonds is based on honesty, and if that means not sharing the same perspective on an issue so be it.

I agree with this. The discussion is what has value which means, if a comment doesn't really add to the discussion, why reward it? I try to be as generous as I can with my time responding to comments so I think some reciprocity is required at least sometimes.

btw, you can target me all you want as you always add value. :)

btw, you can target me all you want as you always add value. :)

Lol, I just got my ego stroked, look at how I am smiling.

Thanks anyway. Well, I will keep doing my best to add value (that sounds like a cliche nowadays)

I do agree that one must have something productive to say to add to the Forum as a comment for blogs. Relevance matters. However on the flip side one must have the wisdom to discern between genuine heartfelt compliments and non genuine. For some folks offering a compliment for poetry or writing is there a way of showing gratitude for truly appreciate in your talent. It's not about feeding an eco but rather expressing appreciation for the talent of others. Definitely a good read and thank you for sharing my friend.

Absolutely. There is a difference in approach generally and, there is a track record at play. This is why someone who says. "good post" can get rewarded. If i haven't seen an account before, I often check their content/comment sections to see where they stand.

You sir are very pretty and your photos are inspirational dear.

But the aliens have landed, so you need to follow me urgently.

lol.

Talking of language groups, still piggybacking pretending to be Australian? :P

Another Kiwi just started out on Steemit yesterday so we are nearly up into double figures!

The problem is mate that people write their narrative set in their own personal perspective which is of course understandable. However, many of the non English speakers here come from less affluent situations and their need is now.
If we attempt to put ourselves into their narrative, their actions suddenly become clearer.
I totally agree with what you say about looking at things in the long term, but if you were from a place or situation where it was a daily struggle to put food on the table and you came across Steemit, and a chance to get a few dollars, wouldn't you go all out to try and work the system as much as possible for personal gain in the shortest time possible?
I see things from both sides of the coin, so perhaps we all need to cut each other a little slack and be a little more tolerent.
Just my thoughts. Love the glasses by the way. Make you look so handsome ;-)

If we attempt to put ourselves into their narrative, their actions suddenly become clearer.

I understand the reasons but, it still doesn't work if it is a charity only platform.

wouldn't you go all out to try and work the system as much as possible for personal gain in the shortest time possible?

Yes I would. I would be commenting like a demon and posting the best goddam material i could possibly create. I would be part of every community and learning all i can so I can earn efficiently and effectively rather than on nonsense volume.

I see things from both sides of the coin, so perhaps we all need to cut each other a little slack and be a little more tolerent.

As do I. I am not naive in this area and when it comes to language tolerance, I have been teaching people from A1 to C2 for the last 15 years so it isn't a language issue.

Just my thoughts. Love the glasses by the way. Make you look so handsome ;-)

I use them as an attractor of comments :D

Tart ;-)

@tarazkp, are you listening to me, hey @tarazkp!

OK, ott... but I get some of this too, and the bigger you get the more of it comes your way. You seem to get 11-14 a day and I get in that region too.

You could just not look in your mentions section and then you wouldn't notice, but the you might miss something that is significant.

I get the mentions through Gina on Discord. It is funny, sometimes they are plagiarised pieces that have been plagiarised from people who mention me :D

I don't actually mind the targeting, but if it is going to result in. "Nice post, you are areally pretty!!" nonsense, I'd rather not. I find that every 3 months or so I have to go through and flag for a week or two.

They may well find you pretty... the smile, teeth and shades is what you perceive to people... ;)

Good morning there!

My account gets mentioned too for rewarding comments.(probably by the same user). As I've said before Steemit is a miniature of our real world. Therefore some will build strong relationships with you while others will just drop a shitty comment hoping you'll hit the upvote button.
You can easily distinguish who has read your article...
That second group are mostly newcomers who don't really know how this whole thing works...

As said, I don't mind the targeting as it can be a good way for a new account to earn a little and learn a lot but, they still have to add something of value. For now, I am going to flag the obvious and ignore the borderline more often.

Yeah, I get that. I hate the empty. Your work is amazing I am so pleased to have received your article type of thing.

I have been quite lenient with the comment flagging of late but might start back at it again

It tends to escalate quickly and degrade at the same time.

Yeah, it does seem to have faded slightly for now thankfully.

Did I say how pretty your post was? :0D

Did I say how pretty your post was? :0D

Awwwww. i was waiting with tears i my eyes. Thank you!!!!

Bahahaaaha!!

Hmm honestly, I think there is something to targeting your comments to whales (or rich folk anyway) who might reward them. I mean on this draught? Even that counts for a lot of people on this platform.
And you're right, mostly, but here you can't only be talking about the 'great post sir' comments. I mean I admit I've also targeted my comments at times towards "big" accounts, in hope that they might notice me. It's a way to grow, I believe. As you say, it all depends on what you comment - whether it adds to the conversation or not. But even if it does add to the conversation, it's still targeting.
I (and surely, I'm not the only one) am smart enough that if I wanted to target you, I wouldn't leave 'great post', I'd engage and talk about what you wrote, but my motivation could very well be the same.
Bottom line is, valuable to the community or not, we all expect something. I'm pretty sure that most people here are in for the money. OR that it plays a huge part for them, at the very least.

That being said, great post, nice hair! Interesting shoes, sir. :)

I've also targeted my comments at times towards "big" accounts, in hope that they might notice me. It's a way to grow, I believe. As you say, it all depends on what you comment - whether it adds to the conversation or not. But even if it does add to the conversation, it's still targeting.

There is value in this and I think people should spend time thinking about what value they bring if looking for attention. Obviously you are not ignorant to this.

Bottom line is, valuable to the community or not, we all expect something. I'm pretty sure that most people here are in for the money. OR that it plays a huge part for them, at the very least.

Everyone is needy perhaps but finding what they need is the difficulty. The shoes are new, thanks :D

The 'relationship building' part seems, to me (maybe I'm incorrect), very dependent on the discord side of things, and live chatting?

That being the case, then some us, who just want to use the platform, will never really 'build'?
( I do enough live chat for other work, and doing live chats here is not the aim - or the motivation - for joining steemit).

Is this a correct summation, do you think..?

The 'relationship building' part seems, to me (maybe I'm incorrect), very dependent on the discord side of things, and live chatting?

Generally I don't have people I talk with in chat who I haven't first spent some time getting to know on chain. It can be different with community groups but the one to one relationship is almost always started under the post.

That being the case, then some us, who just want to use the platform, will never really 'build'?
( I do enough live chat for other work, and doing live chats here is not the aim - or the motivation - for joining steemit).

There are many ways to use the platform but in general, if people don't spend some time building relationships with their audience they are going to have trouble having an engaged audience. Some people just like to dump their thoughts here which is perfectly fine but if they also expect certain feedback, they are going to have to develop discussions.

Cannot agree more. Sometimes I can even understand the comment!
But at the moment, due to the low value of Steem I did have to stop upvoting comments on my post.
If I would do this, it would destroy my voting power.
As a work around I will visit their latest post and upvote that if not already done and if it above the dust threshold!

Cheers,
Peter

As a work around I will visit their latest post and upvote that if not already done and if it above the dust threshold!

This is a good thing to do and even dropping a comment instead. Anything to build :)

Ego strokers and upvote paddlers. It's a very shallow way of thinking. Read the article and comment but as you say add some value. I have no problem with people coming to me either as I also upvote every comment as long as it is valid and not just two words. I understand accounts need to grow as well and we are here to help.

I understand accounts need to grow as well and we are here to help.

Yes but it still can't be everyone gets a prize as it sets a standard of a descending scale of quality.

Very true it is not just a hand out.

Today my post recived back to back spam comments which were automated you are right that people don't even read the article and comment I wrote a science fiction and someone commented you are beautiful two comments are spammed by cheetah and one is here I muted him means how that sci fi tells him about me I have not shared my picture yet or any personal info it was disappointing as well as saddeing because when a post is published we want to see engaging people their views how do they think but these people ruin everything.

It is difficult to get decent comments on posts and takes a lot of work over a long period of time. The engagement goes both ways so the poster needs to discuss in comments too :) Bots are stupid commentors.

You are right sir to build a genuine connection we need to understand our readers too i hope my interaction will be better in future😊

the idea comment is because understand the contents of the publication and come up your point of view to what the author has ... otherwise not worth comment ... I speak Spanish and use the Google translate and acknowledge that sometimes the translator changes a little sense of what I write and I try to fix it ... I think you've noticed this ... especially when comments long.

I am okay at blur interpreting from translation but for many, they don't even try to say anything useful. :)

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.106 which ranks you at #254 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 253).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 388 contributions, your post is ranked at #8.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server