Comment commitment: 32,500 by 31 December 2020

in #comment-commitment4 years ago (edited)

A couple days ago I had a chat with another user on the enjoyment we get from comment-threads on hive. You know, reading other people's posts and commenting back and forth in a conversation with them. We both agreed on the importance of it from the relationship-building perspective also.

People are always talking about reward on hive, meaning monetary reward however there are other types as well: Fun and humour, exchanging knowledge and wisdom, sharing with others, general conversation and the reward that comes from forming good relationships. All good benefits. It's these things that help keep me motivated here...So, I make comments. A lot of them.

The user mentioned above, @bashadow, said he was looking to hit 20,000 comments by the end of the year which is a lot of comments. This made me think about where I might situate currently, with my own comment-count. Over to HiveBuzz I went to check my stats - Something I haven't done for a long time.

It seems I've made about 26,649 comments. But here's the thing, it's not just about how many there are...It's all about what they were - How valuable they were to the other user!

Making loads of one word comments like thanks, yes, no, ok and the like, along with those inane nice post comments, will mean almost nothing in the grand scheme of things. I'm not saying comments need to be long, just that they need to have substance, be relevant and interesting; This is especially so if you're seeking to build relationships.

Good commenting opens relationships, ineffective commenting can close them. It's a simple concept.

What you do is your own business though, and I'm sure there's people out there thinking I'm a total idiot, and that's their prerogative. However I engage a lot and make comments so I can build my small account into a bigger one. That's my prerogative.

My comment commitment.

Based on that comment-conversation I had with bashadow I decided to make a commitment to commenting.

I felt that a target of 32,500 comments by 31 December 2020 was a reasonable target. So, that's 5,851 comments between now and then. It's 142 days so 41 comments a day. Seems achievable.

Tracking comments

I track my commenting by using the Engagement League run by @abh12345.

It's easy as Asher does all the work...Except the commenting; I do that part. The results come out on Sunday and I can compare my results against others. Where I sit in respect of others doesn't bother me though, I like the fact I can see how many comments I made, the character count and where my comments were placed.

I'm not a fan of commenting just to get up the top of the Engagement League though. It's pretty obvious when someone does that. I prefer commenting for a more valuable reward - Relationships. What's great though, is the ability to track one's progress each week and so I recommend the EL to everyone.

Back to my 32,500 comments

I don't know if I'll reach the target although when broken down to a weekly target of 294 comments it doesn't seem so difficult. Plus, having the Engagement League will mean I'll know if I'm lagging or in front of my goal.

If you want to check your own statistics just go to HiveBuzz and type your name in the top right. Also, if you feel like making a comment commitment just do the numbers in the same way I did and post them below, or do your own comment commitment post tagging #comment-commitment so I can find it. Link it below if you like too. Oh, and feel free to use the logo image above as well if you want too.

Also, ask Asher to join you into the Engagement League - Just make a comment asking to be included via that link back there. Just a note, only the top 100 engagers are included in the results, but because you're an engagement legend you'll make it right?

So engage, or not...It's completely your choice. If you choose to do so, and enjoy it as I do, then maybe set yourself a goal for the end of the year, track it and see how you go. It might give you something to aim at, and if you comment well and with consistency I can assure you that your account will grow with followers, and financially.

Good luck hive team.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  

I find if I try to set goals on things like comments it becomes too stressful and I lose the enjoyment of just conversing. So I've stopped paying much attention to the hivebuzz achievements and just use the engagement league to check I've not dropped off too much. I do like that everyone has a different approach to suit them here, though. We each have to have our own reasons and motivation for sticking around and everyone's is different.

Yep, if everyone was the same it wold be a bit odd...Especially if everyone was like me. A world full of me's would be a horrible place.

Everyone is free to do as they wish, which is why I chose to do this post. It also gives me a reference point to give people strangers when they hit me up on discord out of the blue begging for my votes on their posts.

Strangers do that?! How creepy.

Imagine having to life with yourself instead of Faith. 🤔 Pretty sure I wouldn't want to live with myself! 😅

People on hive, yes. They disguise it with a hello dear opening line (which creeps me out) then proceed to ask how they can get more votes. I try to help then it disintergrates into asking for my vote. I try to be nice but rarely are any of them receptive to my good advice. (It never involves getting my vote). I send them off to post with passion, personality and effort and to engage in the same way.

Oh yeah, if I was my next door neighbour I'd kill me. 😂 A world full of me's would be a hideous place.

Hello me it's me again...😆

Hello Dear...
😁

Although I obviously and quite correctly view myself through the lens of legend... (I threw all the other lenses in the trash, I didn't find they served me!) I would not like to encounter even one other me!!!

I know all of my flaws and secret things that I honestly detest (but accept) I think I would be incredibly judgemental about Steven Mk II.

I haven't forgotten about the comment commitment. I like to gamify my journey from time to time to mix things up and hold myself accountable.

I think I've settled on a sufficiently round target... Back to solidify it shortly lol.

(( You knew I was gonna overthink this, right?))

Hope you are well friend, catch-up soon 🙂

With a build up like this I'm expecting something suitably spectacular you know. There will be no accepting of anything less than that. Just saying. You can't build it up bigger then Ben Hur then deliver a piddly result you know. 😂

It will be a 56 comment increase total by Dec 31st... BUT It will be accompanied by a 12,000 word post!!!

Can't say fairer than that dude! :D

People strangers beg for your votes? I hadn't thought of doing that 😁

Lol...Give it a try. You might get lucky. 🤔

You can reach that for sure. Anyway, yeah very true. I don't like doing stuff or I don't like competing just to earn. I'm a liar if I told you that I'm here not because of the money. We have that, most of us think like that. But the thing is, we need to build relationships with one another. And I agree with what you were talking.

The pursuit of money here on hive needs to run parallel with the pursuit of relationships, in my humble opinion. I don't know how many people have come and gone over the years, all I know is that those who come along and work towards building solid relationships tend to stick around, and their post rewards tend to rise commensurate to their efforts in building relationships.

From my perspective, I am happy to throw a vote on a good post here and there, it's clear I do so. But would a user benefit from one good vote from me? Or many good votes? They will only get many if they engage with me, build a relationship. I could list many who have done so, and have gotten votes from me on an ongoing basis.

Furthermore, I know a few people in the background, relationships I have created...I often promote new people, my new relationships to those other, often more powerful, accounts. So, the rewards aren't just limited to my votes alone.

Engagement to build an account works as I did it myself, am still doing it. So, those smart people chasing rewards chase relationships first.

What I write is just my opinion and I'm sure there will be people out there who disagree with me. I just say what works for me I guess.

Thanks for commenting.

True, that's a nice move. Make a relationship of different people so they will go back day by day or any other day. The thing is when you built a relationship already. You already have an audience of supporters by doing it.

Yes, when people focus on rewards and when they didn't earn it. They will leave for sure because it's not fun to stat when you don't earn anything and you're not making any friends. Very nice words, you just gave me an idea of what to post. lol

You're welcome for the posting idea. All the best with it, and your future engagement.

What a great idea - almost a comment power up commitment!
As you mention, we have some of the tools in place to track our progress - HiveBuzz for total comments, the Engagement League for week by week. SBI used to do little network charts showing who was relating to who, that would be good for reviewing over time. I think the charts related to who voted for who, so it would be a good way to see how commenting increased your network, and grew your account in every way (I appeciate what you are saying about relationships and fun and I agree, I'm musing whether we have all the tools in place to see our progress in different aspects).

Hey Shani, thanks for commenting.

I'm pleased you agree and think my idea isn't dumb. I wasn't sure if it would be seen a stupid or not. I guess it doesn't matter really though, either way.

I think it would be cool to have an in-depth, but easy method for users to track themselves. It's possible of course, but multiple sites are required. There are those with greater skill than me and so I'm sure there must be a way.

I hope a few jump on and do this #comment-commitment thing, but I'm happy to be the only one...After all, it's in aid of my own account and relationships; We must each forge our own paths. I'm happy to have a few join in though...Might make me feel less lonesome. 😝

Might make me feel less lonesome.

Awww😍

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Your comments are always very much appreciated! I’ll give you many munkkis if you reach your goal, one if not 😝

You had me at many munkiis Eve! 😝 (That emoji is me when I see many munkkis!)

Because I'm still a small account I feel it's important to comment. Some are more complex and long, others fun and light-hearted. It's nice to hear you appreciate them and I hope all of the people I comment on appreciate it.

In return, I like getting your comments. They are often fun and make me smile. For your efforts in commenting on my posts you can also give me many munkkis! Lol.

This platform is really about engaging with people, most of the things I've learnt that I didn't know before were stuff people told me by engaging with them, the people who I hold close to me on here are connections that was established through engaging with them.

One thing that differentiates this place from other social mediums like twitter is that people are more willing to engage here and there is room for it.

There's this feeling of oneness amongst Hivers that is not present on Twitter, or perhaps its just me.

I checked my comments now and saw 8600....Wheeew, I guess I could take that up a notch...

I keep trying to tell newbies I'm able to come across that to enjoy this place, engagement is paramount. Extremely paramount to ones growth.

I like what you said about the oneness of hive. That's actually a really good way to put it.

Just on your comment-numbers; I reckon a person is better off to place 10-15 really good comments a day than 50 low-quality ones. It's about relevance, showing personality and passion. Shit comments will not pay off as well as good ones.

Thanks for commenting. Keep up the good work.

Yep that's totally right.

Thanks for your encouragements Uncle G

You're welcome mate. You travelled a circuitous route to find the right path, getting involved with some characters who promoted a shortcut...There isn't one though...Just engage,build relationships and post well and you'll move forward. You do a good job, keep it up.

I love your commitment to engagement, and for bringing a sense of joy everytime I read your comments. They say Aussies are loud and chatty... I can see that now 😬. I can definitely see you getting to 35,000 comments by the end of the year, so I'd be glad to contribute a bit to that...

In person I am shy and introverted...Unless I'm around friends...Then I'm the real me. I don't think I'm loud and chatty by nature, but Australian's can be I guess. It's because we are so open usually. And often fucking drunk. 😂

That last bit was a joke.

Wait, are you sure that last bit was a joke? I thought you bunch of pricks were wild bastards after a few rounds of beer! Jokes aside though, I'm glad you're not shy and introverted over here 😆

Come on, man. You know I have commitment problems. I've been married three times...

Do you believe that's the first time I've been to HiveBuzz? It is. I get pretty focused on what I'm doing and how I'm doing it and don't much care how that stacks up to anybody else. Might also help explain 3 marriages.

So. Time divided by distance (or comments as it were) would expect me to get about 1500 more comments in by New Year's Eve (my join date is Jan.3 which really makes calculations easy).

I'll commit to 2250 from here to New Years. It's only 16 per day or so and I'd like to be over that a ways. But it's the commitment thing, you know.

That's the way...Your commitment means I don't look like Nigel no friends on this #comment-commitment thing. Yay, I have one friend. The road won't be as lonely now. 😉

I'm going to do a post each month as an update. You should too.

First you want commitment?
Now you want me to do a post every month?

You are pushing that friends thing just a bit, aren't you? 😂

"I'll take it under advisement"

Thanks for the transfer for the week ten of weekend-engagement, just saw it.

Commitment-phobic huh? Lol.

Always find it good to set oneself a target to hit😜 and thanks for the HiveBuzz tip.

Yep, goals + plans = positive results.

Somehow, I have a feeling that you will make it :O)

Set the bar too low you reckon Boomdawg?

Nah, not at all but you are a determined geezer and that's why I know you will make it! In fact you will crush it!

I thought it would be an interesting thing to actually track to see how close I get...Maybe I'll exceed the goal...Hmm, maybe ai should set a stretch-goal also. I reckon I can do it and once I set a goal...Well, not achieving it never feels right...And so I get it done. We'll see...I've called myself out on the chain now so my reputation is on the line. 41 comments a day? Should be acheivable over a week when averaged out. 🤔😉

You could do 100 a day and have half the week off!

Well, I did over a hundred yesterday so...Maybe today off?

A well deserved one!!

I was shooting for and generally try for 10 comments a day, some days I make it or more, some days not so much. I am going to have to double up if I want to hit my goal of 20,000, to about 21 comments a day, (thanks for days remaining count, saved me from having to look it up). The engagement league was where I first started to seriously keep track of the numbers, it is a great tool.

thanks for days remaining count

You're welcome. Invoice in the mail. Lol.

It's 142 days so

Damn I goofed, I put 147 days, anyways I made my commitment post, since you said you put a reminder in your calendar, send me one the week before the end of the year so I remember to include it in my year end round up post. (Although i think i included that info last year, I just did not feel like scrolling back through history.

142 or 147 it would make no difference to the daily count.

I'll add you to my reminder set for the 24th, one week out from D-day.

That will work good, it will be a nice add to the end of year review.

Yep, we can revel in the glory of achieving our goals! Oh the joy.

I enjoyed doing my previous two end of year post, this one is going to feel a bit different with the Steem/Hive split. I am looking forward to the first anniversary of Hive post. Of one full year on Hive. I don't even want to take any guesses of where I will be then with the up coming HF and possibly having two under the Hive belt by then. I am sure my comment count will be up a bit by then though, along with my HP.

I've never really done one...Maybe this year is the year! It would be nice to throw in some good stats. I made orca this year so that's something to talk about I guess.

It's easy as Asher does all the work...Except the commenting; I do that part.

It's you and others doing the work, I'm just the presenter :)

I think you've set yourself a fair old target, good luck!

We'll see how close I get...Or if I fail miserably and have to hang my head in shame.

Make it or not, i'm sure what's written will be appreciated :)

That's true...And a good way for me to weasel out of my abject failure, should it happen. 😂

I'm pretty confident though.

Oh man. Let me have a good think on this one ... I shall be back with a suitably large number soon.

I am gonna be Dolphin by Christmas day so a comment and maybe even a post target would be amazing accompanying goals too.

If I have many weeks like the last couple I will be left with thousands to make In December lol.

Without the engagement you and I would likely not have met, or much later perhaps, that would have been a bloody travesty, you Sir, despite being a grumpy Aussie are one of the highlights of the chainflip for me!

Take good care man 😁

I have visions of you pushing out 13,000 comments in the last week of December...In between helpings of left-over Christmas dinner. A timelapse video of this would be really nice. Just saying.

Yeah, I've met so many people who have become solid relationships here simply through engagement, either theirs or mine. It's one of the cool things here. Sure, people come and go, unfollow and mute etc. But it's those that stick around and engage back that help make it all enjoyable for me.

I'll await your figure.

Great target! Watching statistics is always amazing, those numbers speak for themselves

I'll probably make it quite easily to be honest, unless the wheels fall off the wagon along the way...My hands drop off, head falls off and rolls away, HIVE goes to $1,000...I could die, have a car accident and become a vegetable...Any number of things could happen. But I reckon I'll be revelling in the glory of hitting my target come 31 December.

Hahahah. So many things could happen in the next very 10 minutes. I am so sure you will reach it, you are very determined and focused by nature

The next ten minutes? Well, I just had dinner (it's 1930 here) and I reckon dessert might happen in the next ten minutes. Chocolate maybe too...

Ah what a feast!