Two New Products And My First Sale

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

Yesterday I thought I have to skip today's #NeedleworkMonday but here I am with my entry. Lucky me, I was able to finish two of my sewing machine mats, that I started working on two weeks ago. Unfinished projects are not my thing but I had other things to do. Let's look at the bright side, better late than never and now I've got two new products to list in my Etsy shop. So first I'd like to show you what I've been working on and then I'll show you what I've sold.

IMG_20200720_195128a.jpg

Patchwork Sewing Machine Mat

It's been a few months since I started making denim bags and no matter how careful I am with the fabrics, there are leftovers that I don't want to throw away. My goal is to recycle, upcycle and use whatever I can so it doesn't go to waste.

IMG_20200720_194712a.jpg

These pieces are perfect for a patchwork piece and I'm not the only one who like patchwork.

IMG_20200720_194744a.jpg

For this one I used two pockets. The problem with pockets is that a pair of jeans has two pockets and the bigger the size, the bigger the pockets.

IMG_20200720_194738a.jpg

I don't mind big size jeans as I get more fabric but the huge pockets are hard to use.

IMG_20200720_194525a.jpg

Squares

My sewing machine is made of squares and I love it. I thought I'd make one for my Etsy shop and here it is.

IMG_20200720_193653a.jpg

These are 12cm x12cm squares with 1cm allowance. For this one I had to create the pockets, so I thought I'd make three pockets, with red lining.

IMG_20200720_193727a.jpg

IMG_20200720_193702a.jpg

Also used a label from a pair of jeans to make it more interesting.

IMG_20200720_194552a.jpg

IMG_20200720_194559a.jpg

Tomorrow I'm going to list them and see who's going to adopt them.

IMG_20200528_165841za.jpg

My First Sale

My Etsy Shop is pretty new, not to mention I've been busy and had no time for marketing, so I wasn't expecting anything, but here it is, my first sale. This bag is on it's way to the United States, shipped last week.

I'm hoping to show you some bags next week as I've got a few jeans, colorful fabric, perfect for what I want.

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9nT7KeiMB9KVfUa5ijoGTf59nmtyu23kq42h3js2FP4qtCzyy5SRhpzH4rQcEazTK2M1jZFYsiF5KiM4hsgJx8VZaJLrdjU.jpg
source

#NeedleWorkMonday founder: @crosheille
Hostesses (admins): @muscara, @shanibeer and @marblely

Please feel free to check out my Etsy store.

Check out my other sewing posts:

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 14 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
2

It is very original I love it, I am going to make this idea that I always lose the scissors, Thanks for sharing

Thank you.

Congrats on your first sale! Your bags are so creative :D

Many thanks. I'm trying to be creati but I'm at the beginning still, at the beginning of the year I had no idea how to use the sewing machine 😂

Congratulations on your sale!

I have a now empty Etsy shop too - it was fun while it lasted. My biggest mistake in selling was ignoring the marketing and expecting sales to
come from within the site.

Lots of luck to you and may you sell lots.

Thank you very much! What's happened to your shop?

I grew out of my original one, I had a lot of fun with it though. I was selling mail art and sometimes tarot readings.

The one I am building now has some ebooks and is part of my next project.

It's such a great feeling to make a sale!

Nothing like that first sale! I remember how excited I was.

Lol, you're right, it feels good to know someone liked your work enough to pay for it, right?

Your balance is below 0.3 HIVE. Your account is running low and should be replenished. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://hive.blog/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-s-faq