Uncle G-dog's weekend hive-giveaway winner(s)

in OCD4 years ago

Fortunately every working week is followed by a weekend and if you have followed my blog for long enough you'll know how much I love weekends. A lot, in case you don't know.

Last week I wrote a weekend post on Friday, a fairly typical post, but at the end of it decided to invite people to comment on my post with what their weekend was going to be all about. You can see the post here.

It was pretty simple...

Tell me about your planned, or unplanned weekend, be truthful, lie, make it up, be funny, serious...It didn't matter. All I wanted to see was something creative, and for people to have some fun with it. (Which they did.)

As an incentive, as if a person should need one for an opportunity to engage, I offered 10 hive for the one I thought was the coolest, most interesting, creative, enjoyable, crazy, mad, insane, etc. (You get the idea.)

So, considering it is Monday and the sun has set on another weekend, it is time to announce the user who will get the 10 hive.

PC080055.jpeg

Congratulations @ecotone you win!

Here's the weekend ecotone wrote about:

Since dining out is still risky because of the pandemic, our dog Sirius, a lovely, bright red Canis major, took us for a walk on his back to Douglas Adams’ “restaurant at the end of the universe” on Saturday evening. We enjoyed a nice dinner and immersed ourselves in the beauty of the glittering liquid diamond ocean on one side, and a dark and boundless universal abyss illuminated occasionally by the greenish-yellowish solar winds on the other while sipping our space martinis. Then we found a bar-planet with an atmosphere rich in helium and performed high-pitched karaoke until the wee hours of the night. I think I deserve a lazy Sunday at home.

There were some very interesting, and creative, entries posted and all worthy of the win, however I liked that this one took the weekend far out of this world ind into space.

Because there were so many cool entries I have decided to add a second prize also.

Congratulations @riverflows, you win also!

You can see her weekend below. This one cracked me up.

This weekend is the weekend to top all weekends. First, I'm going to wake up in a dark, slightly green lit hotel room in beautiful Melbourne. The view is stupendous - a old yet fairly nice atrium, with green glass lights. I don't need natural light, because the ambience of lamps is just fine. Then, I'm going to have a nice long shower. The ensuite smells aromatically of vinegar, as I knocked the lid off yesterday and spilt some, but it adds to the health spa vibe of the place. I'm going to stay in for at least half an hour, as I'm not paying for the water and I'm feeling rebellious. Besides, the water hides my tears.

Then, we're going for a nice long jog around the room. I'm looking forward to this, because I haven't jogged around the room since this morning, where I tripped over the lamp lead. We are looking forward to the new view we'll see if we jog counter clockwise. If I step up and down on the window sill, it'll be exactly like climbing a mountain, which is really the best thing to trekking in Nepal.

I'm going to finally, finally toast some bread with the iron. It's been a week long goal of mine, and everyone's doing it, so why not? Also, I'm going to try cooking two minute noodles in a zip log bag in the kettle. You only live once, right? You just have to sample all the cuisines on offer in these situations.

Saturday night is also WINE night. We've been avoiding it because we can't order cheap wine from Woolies, only from the hotel for $27 a bottle. But why not - you only live once, right? And I might break out those salt and pepper oat cakes I brought from England, though we ARE rationing those. Though we've watched pretty much everything on Netflix, perhaps we can find a dirty Spanish menage a trois tryst heist drama thriller on SBS.

Sunday, I'm not quite sure yet. Perhaps we'll just have a lazy day. It's a long walk from the bed to the kettle, but who knows, anything could happen.

This one made me laugh, a lot. Sure, some of the concepts may only translate if you are also an Aussie, but it's a great effort and I felt Riv deserved a consolation prize which she can enjoy once her quarantine misery has ended.

The proof of transfer is below, and yes, I am aware I did a typo in the transfer to ecotone; I am only human after all it seems.

image.png

This has been a bit of fun and so I think I might do something like this each week, not always about the weekend per se, but some other thing that will allow you guys to get creative, engage with me (and hopefully the others who make comments) and to have a bit of fun.

It's Monday today so I have a few days to come up with a topic for this Friday; I'm happy to take suggestions though, so feel free to comment below. Keep in mind this is to have fun, engage and be creative.

Just on another note, I survived my shoulder injection today, quite obviously. As it turns out it was only a little painful although my arm is pretty heavy right now. I'll survive though. I think.

Thanks to everyone who participated in my little hive-giveaway over the weekend. I hope you will do so this week also, once I announce the topic.

Take care y'all. Remember to engage. Then, after you have done that, engage some more, and then a little more.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Join the Engagement League by following the link and asking Asher to include you. It allows you to track your hive engagement statistics without lifting a finger, and compare yourself against the best in the business weekly. It's a good way to get your name out there and amongst some of hive's best engagers.

Sort:  

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Whether incentives or not, I'm always ascertained that your blogs has this relatability really. And engagement sometimes works with this. I'm happy for the guys that won, they deserve it. And hoping to see you back at the engagement league.

Hi there and thank you. As you no doubt know, I'm pro-engagement and so will promote it at every opportunity. I'm taking a break from the EL at the moment, but not from engagement. I think it's good to let others see their name up the top, and provided they are not just engaging for the sake of winning the league then their engagement is for the right reason. I'll be back in the EL at some stage soon.

We are alike, as I have won two, or three competitions here and never entered again. The thought was also to give others a chance!

Both the answers are full of sensations, especially @riverflows. I can never add such variety of spices in my writing style. Well done!
Hive✊️

I'm sure you could write similar mate, it just takes a little creativity. When I judge writing for competitions or curation I always take into consideration that English may not be their first language and rarely would I penalise someone for it. I hope to see you engage some more and would love to see you push your writing to new hights.

It's nice to hear your survived the shoulder injection 😅😅

Congrats to the winners of the giveaway.

Thanks to everyone who participated in my little hive-giveaway over the weekend. I hope you will do so this week also, once I announce the topic

You welcome. Sure, let's hear the topic and I would be sure to engage.

I'll release this weekends topic at some stage on Friday...I'm not sure what it will be yet, something to have some fun with though.

That is a pretty cool idea it will hopefully get people more motivated and get them doing some interesting things willl be looking forward to your next topic 👍

Users should engage no matter what, but it's fun to get them doing so prompted by the madness within my noggin. We'll see what I come up with this week.

This is true if i had more hours in the day i certainly would be doing that i am surprised how fast time gets away on you when i am on my computer need more hours and now that i am back at work i have even less hours to play on my computer but will do my best 😊

Be looking forward to it @galenkp 👍

Time is certainly one of the most precious commodities. Hopefully you manage to find some to do those things in life that you value. If you have some time drop into hive, if not, then do what you have to do and get on here when you can.

I will certainly schedule myself around @hive it has opened up a lot of interesting doors for me that's for sure.

You have a great evening @galenkp 👍

Hive is a good hobby. As my only social media I see it as a bit of an outlet. With me working form home I have a bit more time now than usually. I'll make the most of it.

Unfortunately my work is all outside work so bit hard to be on a computer for me and i hate working of a mobile phone but i will manage to keep it up for sure 👍

Both excellent write-ups for different reasons.

Sad to find out @riverflows 5 star quarantine doesn't include free booze, brutal paying $27 a bottle!

Thanks for mentioning the EL!

The El finds it's way into many posts I do. I have a snippet saved to peakd and simply copy and paste it in. You see what you've done? Brainwashed me. Lol.

I think they jack up the price of the wine knowing people will order it anyway...Anything to dull the boredom maybe?

Congratulations guys! Well deserved winnings

Yes, I think so too. Everyone played well though. We'll see how it goes this week. People may lose interest, but it would be good to see some more have a go.

There were really cool entries and I enjoyed reading them all. But @riverflows' weekend made me laugh out loud. We all experienced similar things in the lockdown, but all i did was complain -her using humor to deal with the mandatory quarantine in a hotel room is amazing. I am very happy to be sharing the first place with her.
And thank you, @galenkp, for your efforts to boost the engagement on Hive.
You are in Australia, right? If you want a ride to the outer space every now and then -maybe when your arm gets better-, give a whistle to Sirius - he will be hanging out in your sky during the summer.

Yes, I'm Australian, born and bred, and very proud of it too! I think, as good as Australia is, that a trip to outer space now and then could be good for the soul. i'll put Sirius on speed-dial.

Yes, many good entries; It shows, very clearly, that people can engage, can show personality and passion...That was the point of doing it. An experiment of sorts. I hope you participate gain.

I am looking forward to next one.

Sounds like everyone had a riveting weekend. I am looking forward to another epic week at home with the highlight going to shop for groceries. A little sad but fuck it what can we do. Have a great week you lucky bastard being able to get out and about.

Lol, nothing like a little grocery shopping to break up the week! Get snacks. Snacks make lockdown more tolerable.; More fun in fact.

Have a great weekend...Feel free to live vicariously through others.

That was a pair of crackers to choose!

Weekends rawk. They really do, I barely start the week and have the countdown on

Lol, you need to overlap the current weekend with the countdown to the next one...It's the only way to go.

Yeah, Riv's cracked me up...Better here than, well anyone else, because it must be hideous! Ecotone took us out of this world so I liked that too; I like a little space travel every now and then.

Who doesn't like a bit of space travel!! I liked ribs one for the gratuitous wine mention too, hehe

I hope you will have a go for this weekend. Any topic suggestions?

Fuck knows!! I could try but I tend to blabber a load of pish from my brain! Will have a think!

Well, you blabber pish, and dribble pumpkin soup all the way down my shirt at dinner (tonight) Seems like we are even. Lol.

Blabbering and dribbling. It's the dream team!! :0)

How to let off steam during lockdown?

Tasty! Wrong answers only... Could be fun.

Wrong answers win!! Every time!! I will try for something to enter!

Great selections! Iron your bread to make toast...oook,this sounds so funky that I almost want to try🤔🙈

I hope you will participate in this weekends topic...I'm not sure what it will be, but something. Get your creative hat on. (I might limit the characters or words this week, there were some long comments last time.)

Hahaha, I actually congratulate you on the idea, it is really nice and once I feel inspired I can't focus on anything else like worries and stuff like that. Limiting the number of characters would be wise, there are some who really write and write and write.... 👀👀😂😂

there are some who really write and write and write...

Hmm, yes there are indeed. Lol.

I've got a few ideas, and am open to suggestions.

Favourite food and why. Or worst food experience. But then there would be too many "how I threw up" kind of stories lol. I have food in my mind now😂

Food is always good! I want to open it up so that people can write literally anything. I think it could be fun and will probably do it each week. Maybe pick up a sponsor or two. Could be a good way to expose people to other people, get some introductions happening.

Exactly! That is why I loved the initiative, it helps people open up more. Mmmm foood😍😍

Nice choice and winner! maybe i can join next weekend. I'm not sure what to do. but I wish something good. :)
and have a nice day

I will set the topic to comment on this Friday. Read the post and simply comment with what you feel works for you. I'm looking for creativity, fun.

I will set a new topic each Friday.

Nice one to get people engaging, lol. I really don't get how you find the time to engage as much as you do while also being so busy (so it seems reading your posts). It's great though, having the best of both (online and offline) worlds :)

I'm miraculous. That's how I do it. Lol.

hahahahha, ok, I believe you!

You have a great idea going on here will try and get in on it ...Cheers !!

Oh cool, I'll be posting the topic Friday each week around 09:30 GMT (Friday night 7pm my time) and will announce the winner(s) Monday.

If you want to jump in, if not all good. More the merrier, (and probably funnier too).

That's great will try and remember to check it out Friday night...Cheers !!