5 Easy Ways To Change Your Social Media Experience NOW!

in #ocd4 years ago

Hey humans on the internet! (That's you!)

See this post?

It is a positive post coming at you! ❤️✨ (Cue beautiful photo to put you in the mood!)

I've been gone for a long time so I might as well come back in talking about social media behavior right? It seems more than perfect! ;)


cece agung.jpg


Grouchy pantses don't run away just yet... (I know your type, just give me a minute okay?)

I used to be what they called "a full-time Steemian" and back in those days things were going good... I mean really good for me until I realized "Holy &%$# I am on my laptop ALL OF THE TIME! Where is the time going?"

I really liked seeing my content doing so well (because I really believe in the messages I was sharing) but I didn't like some of the side effects that came with it all so I dropped off the face of the blockchain for a little while and have gained a lot of insight into online behavior since.

I have been noticing that just as I had my own social media battles, many other people are really struggling with social media falling into the big world-wide-web of jealousy, shame, hate, anger, bullying, time consumption, addiction etc... especially in this time of quarantine.

This is the first time in history that we have had such immediate access to as much connection and information as we do. It is downright, no sugar-coating or candy-covering over-whelming! We have at our fingertips access to almost anything we want to know or anyone we want to connect with. Where does that start and where does that end?

Social media (whether it's Tik Tok, Twitter, Facebook, or whatever the cool kids are using these days) is where a lot of us are turning to in order to get our socializing and feeling of connectivity in while we're on various forms of lock down or socially restricted movements.

While I know the struggle can be and is very real for some of us (probably more than want to admit it) I wanted to share some ways that I have alleviated some of the problems mentioned above for myself in the hope that it can help you!

Many of you know me as a plant based chef and inspiration coach (oh hey!) ✨ but what you might not know is my first formal educational training is in organizational communication and media studies is a large component of that. That said, I have some tricks of the trade up my sleeves to protect me from the craziness of it all!

Want to benefit as well?

I look at my own feeds and after lots of work and curating, here's what they are not...
🔥 Negative
🌈 Addictive

Now, why is that?

I am hyper aware of my behaviors. I know that I can get sucked into a screen just like the rest of us but I am also carrying knowledge and experience that can help get me out if I start to fall into the rabbit hole. (This is why you see me come and go here... watching my patterns and course correcting when I get too deep!)

social media.jpg


Here are 5 easy tips you can implement right now to change your social media experience!

1) DELETE!

I delete everything I don't want to see. There is an "x" for a reason!
You have the ability to sensor your feed (partly anyway)-- USE IT!

Take action and be active in your experience otherwise, you fall to the mercy of random algorithms. Your socials respond to what you do. If you like stuff a lot, you'll see more of it. You are creating your feeds by interaction so if you are mindlessly trolling, you might not like what you start to see as a result!

Remember: If you follow people or pages, you'll see that content so don't follow anyone or anything that you don't want to see! They are called Influencers for a reason!
This is why I refuse the whole "follow for follow" train because while you might get more "followers" you're also creating a chaotic feed that is not catered to your interests (plus, that is not authentic connection-- but I don't need to tell you that, you know!) 😉

2) SNOOZE!

I will snooze you if you're posting things that don't interest me and if you re-offend once that probationary period is over, I will block your posts. I mean strictly no offence to you and it doesn't mean we can't stay friends but I don't need to see anything that doesn't serve me-- there is WAY too much content online that could be what I WANT to see so I have no time for anything else!

I don't feel bad because I know I am protecting myself by keeping a clean feed that's catered to me and what helps me thrive! I used to get stuck in weird debates and conversations because I allowed all kinds of content to come into my feeds by not wanting to offend people that followed me or whatever the case was... Not anymore.

Ask yourself questions like:
"What do I like?"
"What am I interested in?"
"What do I actually want to see?"
"Does this make me feel good?"
"Is this bringing out the best me?"

Then go follow those sites, hashtags and people and drop the ones that you've identified as "not serving you"!

What you surround yourself with will help shape you and thereby your experience so by being specific about who you want to be, you can alter your life dramatically just by using this tip!

3) ADS!

I exit all targeted ads I don't like. No thank you!

Truth be told, I actually love most things they try to sell me now 😂.

Social media uses your info to target you to sell you stuff FYI! Whether you like it or not (So you might as well like it!)

I didn't create this madness, but it is what it is. Until we all move off of the big socials that are selling our info to the highest bidder, be aware that this is going on and protect yourself how you see necessary!

4) LIKE!

As I have been mentioning, my feeds are based off of what I want to see which is basically food and magic.

I learn and grow from most of what I see so I'm actually (almost) always in a state of learning and teaching myself when I am on social media.

That means NO! I won't like you because you like me! Just because you like my content, does not mean I will like yours and please do not take that personally!

People get way too upset about others not liking them back or not following them back but guys... come on. That doesn't make sense! No one owes anyone anything in this game. If you like something, like it/follow it/upvote it. If you don't, don't! It's really THAT simple.

5) AUTHENTICITY!

I only post what I want to post when I want to post it. Every time I have tried to post what I thought someone else would want, it didn't work.

How many of you are guilty of this? You think... "if I use this hashtag, more people will like my content" or "___ topic is super hot right now, I should get in on this!"

Well, friends... that kind of writing doesn't have the same authenticity and connection that will arise naturally from passionate content.

Trust me, I know! I was all over the place when I first started writing and I got a lot of criticism because I wasn't staying in a "niche"... Thing is, I was writing what inspired me and that's when I was having fun and enjoying it!

Honestly, I started writing this because I got passionate about it and I hope you are able to pick that up while you read it!

❤️ So, how can you change your social media habits to SERVE YOU?

Your feed can be FILLED of things...
✨ To learn from
✨ Ways to connect with others
✨ and so much more...

How great is that?

If something is making you feel horrible or sucking up all of your time or energy... That sounds like it's not good for you so probably can go, right? Use discernment and be compassionate and fair to yourself! 😘

❤️ Pay attention to what's catching your attention!❤️

Social media is a double edged sword, it has an enormous capacity to cause comparison and thus judgement and that leads to many negative feelings psychologically but alternatively, it can cause connection and education.

Take control of your feeds! ❤️❤️❤️
Love and Light ✨
Cece 😘🧙
This post is original content by Cece Heart
upvote.gif
ceceheart.jpg

What did you miss from me? Here's what I've been up to lately
(and there is plenty more where that came from!)

Crust-Lust: Perfect Pie Crust
Iced Brown Morning Potion
I Don't Know What This Is But It's Delicious
Not Hamburger Helper
What About Elevenses?
The Winter Olympics Nail Driving Champion + Hot Chili Pot
I'll Take Fries With That Rainbow
The Avo-calypse
Why Rejection is a Reflection
Deep Dippin' Cheap & Easy
Make Your Leftovers Great Again
📺Vlog: Introvert Crawls Out Of Cave
Veggie Patties
📺Vlog: Your Food Tinder Date
Close Your Eyes: Poem
Easy Bowl Life Is Where It's At
📺Vlog: Intuition In A Time of Uncertainty
The WRap Star
Hot Bowl You Can Eat All Day!
📺Vlog: Hacks to Make Quarantine Work for You!
Intro to Hive
The Tale of the Wild Wild Cookie
Must Share Thoughts on Quarantine
4 Delicious Quarantine Snacks
To Quiche or Not to Quiche
Gluten Free Crust
Fysh Curry
Coffee Talk
Guiltless Brownies
Green Protein Fiend
Balinese Rendang
Loaded Jicama Fries
Cookies and Cream
CocoNutty Dream Cream Curry
Spinach and Quinoa Bathing in Tahini
Deliciously Unsuspecting Cabbage Fry
Pesto Impresso

Sort:  

I think I pass.
I have deleted instagram a long time ago.
I have an extension which blocks any facbook content and replaces the entire UI with qoutes :p
I do have to use messenger for work x)

Does you consider YT a social media?

Well my friend, you are doing better than myself (and probably most people!) :) I use Messenger a lot for connecting with my friends and family that are all over the place. It's just easier since everyone is there. IG I actually was very late on. I didn't download it for years and then I got it and use it sporadically. I do definitely consider YT part of this -- I don't really enter into that realm unless I'm listening to music but a lot of people get stuck for hours watching videos and then look up to find their day gone! My friend just called me last week about how she got stuck in a rabbit hole of theories that ended up being an entire day's journey! :) I think allllll of these examples come down to how you use them and if it's positively affecting you or draining you.

My problem was also with Instagram.

I watch a lot on youtube. A lot of the time is what I would consider educational videoes. But sometimes its just gameplay, as long as there is a good balance I am fine with it, not sure what I would do otherwise :p

I dont think those rabit holes a bad, if its something there interest you :D

I think I am affected positive to some extent :D

Social media is such a minefield... I've actually created my own platform on gfam.live to try and establish a system that puts the creators way before the platform. No idea if it's going to work, but it's fun to try.

Totally! That's another thing! SOOOO many platforms are coming out which is on one hand awesome but then of course there are the most popular ones that connect us to many different avenues/audiences so it would be impossible to keep up actively with them all right? I mean I kind of rotate on a daily basis checking them and trying to keep basic functions but it's quite overwhelming to me :) Good luck with your one! I think that platforms that reward their content creators will always do well as people recognize that need!

I hope so! I do hope that creators are starting to get over giving out their content for only likes and follows instead of being paid for their efforts.

Ironically I've had to spend way more time on traditional social media in order to socialize my own site... and it's been so hard to gain any traction... so many voices shouting into the wind.

First things first: Sam is really glad to see you. He thinks about you and the things you share from time to time and is sad when you aren't here. I could go either way :)

I don't do much social media except for Hive. I don't really need the social part and I'm old enough to not care what anybody else thinks. I guard my follows very jealously. At least once a month I go through the list and prune as needed. One thing I don't prune is high quality peeps that have left. I want to KNOW if they come back around. I genuinely care about the people that I follow, else I wouldn't.

I do not care how many followers I have. It has no impact on me at all.

Good to see you kid. I've missed your wisdom.

Aww well you tell Sam I have missed him too... and while you're not too sentimental yourself, you should know that I also missed you! :)

Do you find that a lot of the old Steemit community came over here? I dropped back in when the fork was happening but I haven't been keeping up with how things are going. I know that someone asked me the other day why I didn't keep my Steemit account rolling and why I don't just c&p everything on both platforms but I was a big fan of the movement over here and what it meant ethically so here I am. How's everything going with Sam? <3

Most of the community came here. I'm completely gone, and not unhappy with it. The end was ugly.

Communities are starting to take hold. I'm a member of a few, and find that a lot of the 'oldies' are around too. I recommend PowerHouseCreatives @powerhousecreatives (the old SteemitBloggers). Pretty active and generally concerned about one another. If you want more, you know how to find Sam. He'll let me know right away :)

Sam is still the best dog in Yuma. Just a good boy.

How are you doing with the CV? In all honesty, I'm struggling. My personal life is as good as it's ever been and public life is such a mess I have trouble balancing the two some of the time.

Really good to see you. Really good.

Thank you for this info! Lately, I think a lot about how overexposure of information affects my life and being so much time glued to a screen consuming information is very exhausting.

It's true what you say about how everything we consume influences us, and it's really important to have a filter with what we follow. I really liked the set of questions you provided, I will put it into practice to make a cleanup in my social media, it's necessary.

PD: I love the way you write, I feel like I'm chatting face to face with you 😅, it feels very friendly 😊

Loading...

I love your sincerity! And I feel identify. Totally I agree I was in steemit a lot of time and I feel missed A lot of things in my life! Because everything was my computer, the information an the blog. I love this platform because you see A LOT talented people around! and that is amazing. But the time that u still sit in a chair and front of the screen must be worth it! Thank u for your tips!