A little something on the side

in LeoFinance3 years ago

The future of earning is going to probably require multiple revenue streams, where many trickles roll in. On Hive and perhaps crypto in general, we are quite accustomed to the idea where for example, we can earn on content, comments, curation, HP interest, HBD interest, playing games, renting game cards, DeFi staking... and the list goes on. While none of these may be enormous, the strength of multiple revenue streams compounds as well as offers a greater level of risk mitigation by spreading earning sources.

P4280506.jpg

However, while we are still in the early stages of the new economy, earning a little something on the side isn't uncommon and there is a growing trend that in order to cover lifestyle and meet the needs to invest, more people are looking to add additional revenue sources. NAs not all jobs are going to offer enough extra to invest, it is possible to get secondary jobs to fill the gap, with a few part-time hours here and there able to make quite a different to an investment portfolio over the space of a year or two.

P4280394.jpg

A lot of people don't seriously consider this as an option as they think it cuts into too much of their free time, but if we are working a relatively normal work week of 40 hours, adding a couple five hour shifts doesn't change much to the time we have free, especially since the average American for example watches about a fulltime job's worth of screen entertainment per week anyway. I suspect that for the majority of what people watch, they would prefer the hourly in pay instead, the problem being though, the work has to be done.

P4280497.jpg

But, work is not a dirty word and while not all part-time jobs are awesome, in general, they aren't that bad and quite often, the people working there are fun to work with. This means, that it is possible to spend a few hours doing something completely different than the normal kind of work, a well as hang out with people who are not necessarily the usual suspects, which can bring a lot of value.

P4280428.jpg

I was reading an article about how people in Australia are hustling with side gigs in order to get the savings they need to get into a house or for investing. The people they interviewed had the same thoughts as me on it - it is far more fun than people think it is going to be. For me, the reason isn't just that I get to meet new people, but I also get to do new things and learn new skills, plus being surrounded with different kinds of conditions, I learn a lot that informs other parts of my life. For example, a lot of my articles are sourced from conversations that I have in my life with friends, family and the many strangers I get to speak with.

P4280542.jpg

Getting out of our comfortable boxes not only has value today and for the near-future, it also gets us into the habits and carrying some of the skillset needed to create those multiple income sources in the future too. While a lot of people think that intelligence might be the greatest predictor of success, I would suggest that without experience, intelligence largely just goes to waste. And, on top of the value of holding wide experience and skills, there is the value gained through a wider set of knowledge, which means more opportunities arise, without having to search for them - kind of like on Hive.

P4280407.jpg

"Work" itself is an opportunity to use skills to generate something meaningful, which is often taken as some kind of remuneration like money. However, work generates experience and if paying attention, that experience might be more valuable than what the work pays. For example, one of my friends met their partner, so they got something on the side, whilst getting something on the side. Side inception. Another friend I have started working a side-gig and enjoyed it so much, ended up firstly going fulltime and then, starting her own business that she has been running for several years now. For me, I always have several things bubbling away on the side burners, because I love the opportunity and the challenge it offers to move from one skillset to another, as well as coping with the "stress" of learning new things.

A lot of people see taking extra work as a sacrifice of some kind, which from an opportunity cost perspective, everything is. However, I would suggest that by learning to do it well, the personal value as well as the monetary value a side hustle can bring is worth more than the sacrifice made. Of course, balance has to be considered and the potential costs weighed up, but so too do the gains need to be considered.

If the future is about multiple revenue streams that supplement core incomes, which do you think are the ones you will have available and, do you have the resources and skills, or are you one path to have them now? A lot of people "wait til they must" before starting to learn or change, but by then, the bandwagon is already full.

Have you got something on the side going on?

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

For sure I got something on the side going on mate.
A full time job in the charity fields.
But luckily I am the boss and I can take hours away to work on hive.
Not that I earn a fantastic salary as it is 10% if that of what a commercial job's salary is, but it keeps me busy and I enjoy it.

Staying busy doing something useful is the point of life. Too many people are so busy doing nothing that life just passes them by.

Oh yes, it is a big worry and over here they even have a term called "Discouraged job seekers". People study for years and they cannot find a job as there is no work.
But I am working on a project that will encourage own small ventures.
Who knows, maybe some of them will grow into big ventures that can employ others.

Who knows, maybe some of them will grow into big ventures that can employ others.

All big ventures start as small ventures. Too many these days aren't willing to hustle to flesh it out.

Yep, you are right as when the hard work starts they run.
We lost many volunteers over the years and ended up doing all by ourselves.

Volunteers are always hard to find, even if it is in their best interest.

The excitemement at the start always wanes when the real work starts.

Well, my most recent side activity does not add income at all. In fact, it takes some. It's keeping a piece of family land in the best shape I am able to by manual labor once or twice a week. It does yield some home-grown food from time to time. Not enough to be worth the time and effort in terms of what money can buy at the store...but better quality in minor quantities.

What's valuable for me there, though, are the lessons and the potential. Someday, some of the trees will grow to be wise men. Someday, I shall learn of a profitable culture that grows itself well enough.

Anyway, for the time being, I take it as paying homage to the land itself.

better quality in minor quantities

Better quality is worth more to your health than a truck load of bad food my friend.

Nothing like having one's fingers in the ground and seeing the results.
You pay homage to the land and the land will pay homage to you.

So yes, it is indeed a great thing that you are doing and who knows what awaits in the future.

!BEER


Hey @manoldonchev, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

Well unfortunately, I'm not a Russian female model so my side-hustle is pretty much limited to Hive goings on, which isn't the worst place to be at all :)

hahaha

I am sure in a short skirt, you'll do okay at the local truck stop :)

And yep, Hive has got to be one of the best side-hustles out there, for those who can navigate it.

I think i will stick with pooling PIZZA and STARBITS, playing a bit of Splinterlands, and putting you all asleep with some charts :)

I've not calculated what is coming in each day or over a month, I suspect it is ahead of my not too bad salary.

You cold offer a slice of with every client.
You can call it, Trick and !PIZZA

I've not calculated what is coming in each day or over a month, I suspect it is ahead of my not too bad salary.

I would suspect so. I am probably coming close to mine, if I add up everything.

SPS drop helps - but I'm not selling much at all so who knows where it will be when the time comes.

Oh yea, I get a bit from that too - not that much, but it does make a dent - if I wasn't a holder.

I think this is very true and many should be doing this if they can. Having Hive shows the difference however just by staking and growing you are doing another job anyway. If other s could see the potential of what is really here things could change. Personally I think many like to talk more than the actions and why they fail at so many things. Blame the tools when if they just looked they are around.
Many revenue streams is how I see this playing out and when Hive does well then it is a huge bonus having everything else.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Personally I think many like to talk more than the actions and why they fail at so many things.

Absolutely.

Blame the tools when if they just looked they are around.

They don't know what they are actually looking at though - all they have is their conditioning to filter it.

Lol. I have made more in 4 years (March) than any part time job could ever pay for. I have taken little bits of liquidity and have invested into defi and a few alt coins as back up which at some point I am hoping to bring back to Hive. Some are staked though creating another revenue stream so Hive has generated 3 sources of income if I had to think about it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have made more in 4 years (March) than any part time job could ever pay for.

Pretty amazing, eh? I am doing okay too :)

There are so many little trickles and compounds here and surrounding, that it is crazy that so few are willing to put the effort in to build for themselves, and the community.

Crazy yes. If you build the community around you through support then you are building foundations for later so it is a 50/50 and not only one way. I do have hopes of one day sitting back and just curating and having a day off at some point. The ones who don't stake are going to regret what they have lost as support is never guaranteed.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Gaming on blockchain will be my second source of earning . I think buying physical properies and setting your own business takes lot of energy, attention and solid foundation. Online earning is emerging as new source of income generating platform. I hope crypto will bring revolutionary movement in it sooner or later.

At the end of the day, it is good to use the digital to own a little physical too - to diversify.

The last two years have convinced me that I can no longer work for anyone. The more you try, the more they exploit you, and you are usually paid the same as those who don't worry much. And it’s not just a matter of money, there’s something in humanity as well. (I'm probably living at the wrong time.) So, to protect my family, I decided to work from home, for myself. If I have projects, great, and if I don’t I will be patient. And look at the miracles, now they ask how much they should pay.
I adore HIVE. One day it may be my only obligation. For now, that is impossible.

I do both - I work as an employee and also have my own business. The employed job is full time, but it is my side-gig, my business my main and HIVE and crypto out-perform them both - depending on the season :)

Hopefully, in time, a lot of people will be able to earn decent incomes on Hive.

Indeed with the rate at which the world is growing and considering how covid-19 affected the economy, it is wise to have multiple sources of income and if I am to choose, it will surely include online skills which cannot be affected very much by natural disaster or pandemics.

if I am to choose, it will surely include online skills which cannot be affected very much by natural disaster or pandemics.

For sure. If work from home is the norm- then make sure it is worth it :)

Hive has been like my second job or part-time job. As much free time as I find apart from work or daily life, I come here, upvote and comment on the posts I like.

I agree that intelligence only itself is not enough to reach the success. People should know how to direct their intelligence. I know some intelligent people around me, but they live an ordinary life.

Directing intelligence is one of the intelligences I guess. Some smart people have very little ability on how to focus their energies to accomplish something.

Nicely said 😁

Thanks :)

I'm a bit backwards, the main thing should be a side hustle and I should be pursuing the main thing harder but I started the main thing purely because help was needed and I could help and I wasn't intending for it to get any further than that XD

Just another example of how fyn takes what is normally a good idea and gets it completely wrong :)

I think you are not alone. My dad was an artist, but he was also a teacher from the age of 16 to 80. Did he pass as a an artist or a teacher?

Your words and photos are bubbling to me, Taraz. I can dig it. My side gig? idk, man. They're all my main thangs! Haha. Still, I diversify.

Diversify my love.

Not a bad post title.

;)

As sad as it seems, a few weeks ago I calculated how many passive or semi-passive income streams I have and counted 11. Many are peanuts but some are getting all the larger (you know which ones). How many people on the 9-5 have zero? I bet there are lots.

We get what we create and what we make out of all this. Authoring is not one of my 11, that requires effort. There could well be more.. 2c a day doesn't count.

Many have zero. Itt feels at times they must be actively avoiding improving their financial wellbeing.

I have a few larger, but I count writing as one. While not passive, I enjoy it a lot.

At some point, employed work will be the side gig.

It's took me a long time to get to this mindset. I'm currently out of work and am dreading starting back up. Farting about on HIVE all day is more fun.

according to Keychain my account value jumped overnight. This increase seems too good to be truth. Is It some kind of a bug?

No bug. HIVE hit almost 1.60 overnight. Currently at about 1.15

thank you very much. Maybe I should go to sleep again...😜

I wouldn't mind. I have too much work to do though :D

You know, this is a rare time in the United States, where almost whereever I go, I see signs of "we are hiring". Here is the trick, its not good news :)

Lot of these are near minimum wage job. I was talking to the receptionist at a Mariott Resort in Phoenix, AZ. Just couple of days back during my trip. We stayed 1 night at this place before we went to the GC. This young lady gets paid $15/hr, no benefits. Mind you, this is not flipping burger, or harvesting tomatoes. She have to look good and smile and check-in guests. Need decent professional clothing. That is $2400 a month, at 40 hours/per week. She is happy to have a job and not complaining, but did mention that if she does baby-sitting, she can earn more money, but obviously that is not a resume builder!

Phoenix is not an expensive place in the US, and she is single, so she can get by okay. Also she is saving money and hoping to get into nursing school, so there is a silver lining in future, but point is, if you have a side hustle (like baby-sitting for example) you may not want to take this job at the Mariott. Especially if you are still getting some government subsidy. This is a very interesting dynamics.

Absolutely, a side hustle has to be acknowledged for what it is too, so unless choosing a useful job that does add to a resume or, brings other benefits, the money is all that matters. Flipping burgers can be fun. I have friends who do some basic course and teach Zumba classes - as that way they can stay fit doing what they enjoy and earn at the same time - one of the people doing this is a person who is a management-level professional in an IT company in her early 50s. She loves it.

but point is, if you have a side hustle (like baby-sitting for example) you may not want to take this job at the Mariott.

For sure. I'd be flipping burgers before part-time at a hotel - it is brainless, people are fun and I can think other things while doing all of the tasks.

But, for someone working 40h and not having enough to invest, a side hustle can give that extra 10% or so to create some kind of portfolio. In crypto, that might be enough given time :)

I would suggest that without experience, intelligence largely just goes to waste.

Very true. Looking at how the real world differs from the classroom is a prime example. Our experiences make, break or shape us

Yep. School is a good indicator of wasted intelligence, when people use it to get scored, not create value.

One nice thing to know is when money comes from different sources

Its so nice when you are not dependent on just one source of income.

Currently, I am learning copy writing and I really hope to be really good at it.

I don't know how but I intend to make it a side hustle

I also intend to learn investing properly by going to schools and making it a side hustle too.

I want to keep on learning till the day I die.

Currently, I am learning copy writing and I really hope to be really good at it.

That sounds like a decent idea, and I think there is some demand for it.

I also intend to learn investing properly by going to schools and making it a side hustle too.

Do a lot of learning online and by playing around with this too, as I assume schools are going to only play safe in traditional investing.

I want to keep on learning till the day I die.

One of the very few things we can do for a lifetime, is learn.

Do a lot of learning online and by playing around with this too, as I assume schools are going to only play safe in traditional investing

Thank you for this suggestion. I have been playing around and I think I am doing great tho

PIZZA!
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@tarazkp(1/20) tipped @abh12345 (x1)
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Being a self-employed musician, I have always had side jobs. I understand diversifying and have used it to my benefit. Gone are the pensions and working for the same company for 30 years. Hive is a side investment for me, though I would welcome more crypto writing sites like Hive.

You live the gig life and I think more people will have to get accustomed to it. It isn't easy to learn, so it is best to start early and begin small, rather than waiting until it is a necessity.

Hive is a side investment for me, though I would welcome more crypto writing sites like Hive.

One of the benefits on Hive is that there are also possibilities within Hive and I think more will arrive.

I would suggest that without experience, intelligence largely just goes to waste.

Very true. Looking at how the real world differs from the classroom is a prime example. Our experiences make, break or shape us

I doubt the future is about to have multiple revenue streams for everyone, i would say for some who are resourceful, and can think out of the box its an option, a quite good option to make their independence, since these streams can generate the equivalent of the main income source, or even more.
It is also important to mention everywhere around the globe there are people who have 2nd and even 3rd jobs but all even the main pays poorly, for them its not an option, but a must and the chances for them to make steps toward their financial independence is negligible.

I'm curious about; on a daily basis, how much of your time spent here on hive @tarazkp ?

Congrats all the community member of hive , Wr are heading to moon. 🚀. Elon musk filled his bag of Shiba and Hive😀