Blooming cactus - Chamaelobivia

in Succulent growers4 years ago (edited)

It is sparkly,
It is pink,
and it is gorgeous!

I don't have a full name for this one. I am guess it is one of the cool Chamaelobivia hybrids, but since I got it without a full name, I will not even dare to guess what it is. There is so many. And even more that are just hybrids without any registered name. A mongrel if you wish :)

Chamaelobivia hybrid


chamaelobivia pink 5.jpg

Currently I have 6 (I think) of those cacti. One is a specie (photo of it in the end) and the rest are hybrids. From what I saw the hybrids are just so much cooler! They have much bigger flowers and they come in different colours. Last year I was showing you some lovely orange one that decided skip blooming this year (such a pity, I love it!), and the classic Silvestrii that is also in bloom now.
And there are two more that I grew from seed that I have no idea what colour they will be (one will bloom soon) and one more little cutting that maybe will bloom next year.

I am starring to like those more and more. They are often called weeds or pests by some cactus growers, because they grow fast and propagate very easily though cuttings that they produce every year. You can see on this one few little ofshoots too. Those will most likely bloom next year already and in the meantime more little ones will grow. I guess those harder to grow ones are more cherished :p
But I like the easy ones. And this is one of them. It is not very picky and as you can see it blooms gorgeous!
And so far it looks like it is stay pretty compact with rather small spines. The red colour is from a little bit too much sun, but it is absolutely fine and healthy!

chamaelobivia pink 7.jpg

chamaelobivia pink 8.jpg

Look at that center! :)

chamaelobivia pink 2.jpg

chamaelobivia pink 3.jpg

chamaelobivia pink 4.jpg

chamaelobivia pink 6.jpg

Since I had two of this type blooming in the same time (the red and pink from photo below) I tried to cross pollinate them. They are growing from seed quite fast too, so it would be fun to see what colour it will be. Pity I don't have any white one to mix the colours.

Here you can see how much bigger the hybrids flower is.
Orange specie on the left, pink hybrid on the right.

chamaelobivia pink 1.jpg

Of course before I could even start to take all the photos, the flower had to be checked and approved by the assistant :p

chamaelobivia pink 10.jpg

chamaelobivia pink 9.jpg

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum
image.png
Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King

Gymnocalycium Brushii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii
image.png
Sulcorebutia frankiana

cactus banner.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

Q banner.png

»»-------------¤-------------««

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 4 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5


Hey @ewkaw, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I have picked your post for my daily hive voting initiative, Keep it up and Hive On!!

Thank you :)

Hahaha! I thought you assistant was going to taste the flower! Lovely pink, the flower is very big fir a small cactus!
Your assistant is working u to go hard! Haha.

She doesn't munch those. Yet.
Yea... I was surprised to see it so huge! Love it :D

Your assistant is top notch professional! LoL

She has been training for years!
She better be! I don't feed her for nothing!

What a gorgeous series of photos! Such beauty here! I especially like the side-shots, with the flower in profile and the light shining through the petals! 💗

Thank you! I am so happy with this little one. More flowers next year! :)

It's wonderful how such a seemingly not very attractive plant can produce such nice blossoms :)

I know right? :D

Spectacular, indeed :)

nice

Very beautiful photos of cacti!
Congratulations!

Thank you! I love that flower :)