Too Old?

in #life7 years ago

I-1091028952-picsay.jpg

Age, it's a terrible thing. It catches up with you in all manner of ways that you don't expect. You go down the stairs in the morning and your knees ache slightly. You think, WTF man, I used to zoom down flights of stairs like this in one mighty leap?

Being a cheery sort of soul I usually bat away feelings of decrepitude in the same way I wave lazily at a bothersome fly.

After all, it is only a number right? However today I was presented with a genuine first world problem.

14961g679icsay_20170714134145988.jpg

That fantastical activity of youth. Getting jiggy to the beats in a darkened cavern. Preferably having imbibed lots of beer and tequila shots before hand.

14961g679icsay_20170714134438747.jpg

The thing is though...

When are you too old to go clubbing?

Today I was on my lunch break, happily minding my own business. I was sitting outside by the river near my workplace admiring my finely muscled arms as they dipped into a packet of crisps and transported them to my mouth. A fine activity which I have taken up with relish instead of smoking.

I might lament this new hobby in a month or two but heck, one problem at a time.

One of my work mates popped up like a zit before a wedding.

Alright dude, enjoying the sun?

Aye, its magic.

He opened his cigarettes, lit one and breathed out a satisfied cloud of smoke.

Want one?

14961g679icsay_20170714140743868.jpg

His offer was genuine but the rabid dog inside my head that passes for my brain on a Friday snarled with indignation.

Nah, it's cool mate. I've chucked it.

Really?

He looked at me in that slightly disappointed fatherly way that smokers do to ex smokers who have decided to leave the club and forge their own path.

I changed the subject rapidly so as not to spend my whole lunch break talking about cigarettes and asked him what he was up to at the weekend.

14961g679icsay_20170714145153657.jpg

Cannae wait man, got Praia the night. Mad after party in SWG3. It's gonna be mental.

That sentence above might not make much sense if you don't live in Glasgow. Essentially though, he was going on a mad dancey boat ride on the river (Praia) followed by an even madder after cruise club night. The very kind that I used to quite enjoy.

Hey, av goat a spare ticket. Ye up for it? We're gonnae tear the roof aff the place!

Errm, too short notice mate. Fatherhood and all that jazz. Sorry.

Of course man, of course. Hey, wait... Its the Optimo's 20th birthday party in a couple of weeks. You up for that?

The world stopped turning, his smokey smoke hung still before us both. This is exactly the kind of night I used to be a huge fan of. These nights are rarer now, what with being a dad and all. It's not as much fun to go out and come home at five in the morning half deaf and smelling of pizza. Then having to deal with a demanding toddler one hour later. I thought fast and furiously.

Should I go? Should I not go?

Was I too old at forty odd to go clubbing? My heart said no but an insidious voice in my head sneered at me.

Old bastart, you are too fucking old. Behave yourself. Dick.

The silence stretched out, my work mate took a big enthusiastic drag on his cigarette and blew out a massive cloud of smoke. Bollocks, some of it seemed to be getting in my eye.

Err, I will check with the missus dude. Should be cool

No worries, tap me up if you are goin and we will go as a squad, rip the arse right oot it!

He wandered off. My eye watered slightly. Was it the smoke? Or was it a tear for my erstwhile clubbing career? It had been so long.

Then I thought, Fuck it. I am gonna go. After all, who could resist the temptation to...

Rip the arse right oot it!

But still, that little voice mocks me. Old basturt. It says.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Same here mate! Gonna have two toddlers soon and that is hard to handle when you are hung over after a lot of pizza. ))

I will have two in October, it will be impossible to handle then!!!

You must go. And you are not only going for you. You are going for all of the guys our age who used to be cool. You are going for all the people who are still cool in their hearts... but super lame in their... well everything else. You must go. And you must have fun. then you need to post about this fun so we can live vicariously through you!

Well if that isn't the kind of endorsement that will give me the super boost I needed to go then I don;t know what is!

Tis done! I will go. I suspect the post I make on it may be more along the lines of the abject misery the day after lol!! Cheers dude!

Hahaha! Not if you Rip the arse right oot it with the right strain instead of beer or Mexican worm hooch.
It's the best thing for 40-something joint capsules too...keeps them un-inflammed and well lubed.
Do I need to explain the benefits of well-placed lube when your 40+?
I think not. Nice post. :)

Well said, mate!

ahahahaha being to old for clubbing and getting drunk is a GOOD THING!
I just hope ur not to old to run around and play with ur younglings!
Love You Brudda!

Cheers man!! I will make sure to keep enough energy for both! The clubbing is a rare event these days thankfully!

hahahahahaahaha yea, its kinda fun but I find it much more rewarding to focus in on the true life importances and build around that.
Priorities~*~

I agree! The madness of my life lies largely in the past. I think it must be the prospect of second fatherhood I am getting one more night out of my system! :O)

hhahahahaaha live it up buddy!

Apparently a scientific study was recently conducted (I heard it on the radio so it's got to be ligit) that established 27 was the cut-off age for going clubbing.

That definer sounds like a legit study!! In that case I had better be careful I don't get caught by the club polees!

Yes seriously, better be careful!

To old, nah... Just everybody else getting younger right!

They are!! Every time I go out I notice this :0p

ah well, you are to old when you accually feel to old, otherwise you are not :)

I will go with that, the secret then will be in the beer which will make me feel like a young buck!!

I hope you went, you are never too old!! Although you might wish that you had listened to your sensible side when your hangover and toddler collide ;-)

Its in two weeks. I am determined to go. The next day will be awful. MAy as well get these things out the way before the baby arrives! Hows all things fathery with you?

HolySmoke! ... Once you start drinking you'll likely go for a cigarette... best to let your inclination lead you away from clubbing, and closer towards your Family !!

The cigarettes will be a challenge! I have a couple of weeks to get the temptation under control. I can do it! :O)

More Power to You !!!

Oh damnnnn, that I find myself relating to this dilemma if it were presented to me is alarming, of course I'm not too old to go clubbing...right? The only reason I haven't been clubbing in some time is that...well it's quite a drive to a proper club, which means I'd have to have somewhere to crash or a DD. Yes, that is a perfectly acceptable reason!

That we feel so much less inspired to do it, well that's because it's old news not because we're old. We've been there and done that, many, many times, and what we long for is new experiences by god, like me hying my arse to Scotland to have a beer at a rowdy pub with one of my favorite people 'round the globe!

Actually...the fact that it's on a boat, I can quite confidently say that did I have the opportunity to club out on a boat, I most definitely would. If they had such a thing around here, and really they should with all of these enormous lakes.

I sincerely look forward to that post ;)

If its a proper drive then fuck that I wouldnt go either! It is true though there is an aspect of ld news to it all. Thats why I only consider going to the finest of nights :O)

Hehe, the boat was a fantastic thing in the past. If I did a post it would be largely gibberish!!

IF you make it over it will be a fantastic experience!!!!

@meesterboom,

Congratulations! You have been chosen to appear on another amazing edition of "Who to Follow Daily". Thank you for adding so much value to the Steemit community. Steem on!

WTF! Hehe, I like the name! Cheers mate :O)

I first didn't even dare to use that abbreviation but eventually I thought "WTF, just use it" :P And now almost everyody seems to like it haha

It is cool, it works!!

Oh, and some point I will make it there, even if not this fall ;)

It will be waiting, brooding and silent until you come!

Aw, I am feeling the love!! Hurry up and reach the moon steemit, so by this time next year I can buy a little cottage in the Scottish country (by which I mean not the city ;)

Doing a short post this morning, some photos of a local coffee shop and a question. One that I am really interested in the answer to if anyone knows.

Are you quaking with curiosity? Haha!

I am quaking!!! I am also thinking WTF man, isnt it like four in the morning there!! You keep my kind of hours!!

If steem moons like that I will buy a place alongside neebur!

Yeah, it was that late, ugh, I sometimes have a bit of insomnia ;

Here's to hoping it moons!

hahahaha well said @dreemit !

Hahaha, think that is a great account name too... @oalbasturt

Yep man, it is a burden, I feel the pain. That day when you take a leak and notice you have to stand way closer to the pot. While back in them glory days, you'd clean the whole damn thing with your beam. Leaning blootered with your back against the opposite wall, which was at two meters (approx. 6 feet) distance, while talking with the troops and a pint in the other hand.

And now, almost leaning against the rim. Waiting for it to start and knowing ye just cannot walk away after you think you're done... Because there is the last drop and then some. But still refuse to sit down, because, well you know, that looks silly on a urinoir, while between young clubbling dudes. They already called you gramps and were asking if ye were here to pick up yer daughter or somethin'.

Anyhoo, with that little puf pattern thing, I see you went to stage two: "Hmm, what to eat next..." At one part, good sign, good. And you already understood the next level, but it will work out fine mate!

There are great things to do for men that have reached a certain mature age. At least that I was told when I was supposed to have reached the age of the wise Abraham. Well, never mind that last bit...

Cheers mate, it aint half bad getting older.

It's worse. ;-)

Its worse!! ROFL!!

You hit a very true point. All this close to the bowl nonsense! WTF, I mean I was used to extinguishing burning buildings in my heyday. Now I would have to be inside scatterring a few drops around, hehe

Yes indeed, crisps are a very good way of keeping myself occupied when I have a bad moment. Of course soon there will be posts entitled with such nonsense as Losing all that beef or Look at the state of me!

Hahaha, yes, wherever there was a fire, they'd find the help of a young dude with a full beered up bladder to put it out. While still be holding a pint in the other hand, keeping it going, while smiling at the new girlfriend.

Glory days, passing by... :-)

With those future post, you will absolutely get a lot of replies on those!
But first enjoy the taste and smell returning.

I have noticed the taste. The smell is probably doomed thanks to a rubbish noise to begin with!

I sez..."Gopher it dude". You really drove home how I too miss the scene. Not going out until the stylish time of 11:00 PM. The telltale smell of past-shampooable beer-soaked shag carpet, not being able to hear right for a day or two, swearing you'll 'never do that again'...at least till NEXT Friday night at 11:00, taking on all comers in foosball, or "last call, last call" beckoning for 'one more' before riding the bike home in the rain. Doesn't get much better than that. And it IS Saturday night tonight. Hmmm...

Ah, isnt that the best bit entirely! Swearing you will never do it again until the next week when asi if by a piece of deja vu magic you are doing exactly the same again!!

Sort of like Groundhog Day at the Pub, only Mr. Murray didn't have a noggin splitter every time the alarm clock went off..

Funny, but sad. When I said, "I'm scared 'getting old'" Someone said, "Don't let your inside get old. You'll not be sad or scary." Not sure it is right, but it was comforting. @meesterboom

Well that sounds quite comforting. I like that !

I remember when I was in my twenties me and my mates would make fun of the creepy old dudes in the nightclubs, now we are the creepy old dudes at the night clubs.LOL

I did exactly the same!! It crosses my mind at times! The only one thing in our favour is that there seems to be more of a mix in clubs these das unlike in the past! Well I say that cos I find it comforting lol

Never too old for a good time. It is not age (the number) that matters, but rather, how your mind feels. My dad is getting close to sixty and "feels" like he is in his thirties..lol. So what age do you"feel"? :)

Its funny you should say that! I feel in my thirties too!!

There you go! Then you are thirty! :)

Never too old for sure! I know it is a feeling we kind of get sometimes but fuck it.

That is my favourite saying man!! Exactamundo!! Fuck it!

Never too old for a cold bavarian beer my buddy. Feel free to come

Never ever too old for a beer!!

run fast!
age is right behind you
go hide in the club he'll catch you there too

in my country we have a saying "Only water buffalo age" ;)
so that's maybe why they're banned in clubs hahah

Have a fun clubbing weekend chico!

I will lass. Well not this weekend but in a couple of weeks. This weekend is all about building that big girls bed!!

Water buffalo. I think it would be a fine thing if they went to clubs!

Haha, I agree. Good one.

Hooray, see my latest post for a milestone celebration

Thats right!!!!!

@meesterboom if you enjoy it, go for it!

You are not too old unless you get an irresistable urge the next morning to write the DJ a letter thanking him for "such a lovely evening".

Hahahhahaha, oh that one made me splutter with laughing! That is a definite sign of getting too old for it!!

I laughed -- and also cried -- because this is true. My clubbing days aren't also (mostly) over. Because nothing takes the fun out of a good party like realizing you're the oldest one in the room. 😟

That is the problem which you have nailed on the head. Its fine when you go out and there are similarly aged people around but when you realise you are the oldest its a horror and a half!!

what is wrong to be old it's ok for me you are baby you grow up you get old every period is wonderful and necessary so enjoy your time don't think for age

I am trying indeed, its important to enjoy every phase of this crazy life!

You must go.. And write a post about the adventure. So don't get too drunk ;)

I like your style

Oh yes, a post is definitely in order. I'm going!!

How is that that song goes? Powder Blues Band...
Like a Mississippi bull frog sit'n on a hollow stump...I got so many women I don't know which way to jump. I'm gonna flip flop 'n fly...don't care if I die

Now I'm unsure your woman will understand that you're now a looker and not a player. Even if you do allow the morning mirror to deceive ya...whatever get's you out the door to work and not back under the covers. But you'll have a week of Sundays to convince her after coming back home from a well earned blow back to revisit an obvious missed part of your past.

Hell it'll likely take you the same week of Sundays to get over the shock to the system but shock that monkey you must...for old time's sake. Just remember, no smoking (never take another puff is the mantra on tear outs like these) You can look...but you cannot touch...and keep them hot torque toddies and high-test beers coming till you right and properly won't remember exactly what happened.

Life is short and getting shorter every year. Light the other end of the candle...just this one more time. this is the little devilish bugger on your left shoulder signing off...until the night of Optimo.

I fully intend no puffing! I shall watch others and make slight disapproving faces and talk about how bad it is for them lol

It may take some time to recover but I am sure it will be worth it for old times sake as you say!

You best be clubbing for the lot of us forty odds...living vicariously thru any one of us that does something interesting, without injury...

Injury is the most important thing to avoid!!

It's OK. You will figure out what to do with the kids the day after.

Yeah. Put them in a box or something ;0)

Go for it. I never really got into clubbing, but I did like ones that played tame music like pop and indie in my day. Closing in to 40 myself, but my ideal night would a good chat with my girlfriends or watching a favourite film star on a film, curled up on sofa, with a fruit cider.

It was indie music that was my favourite too. Then as I got older oddly started going to dancey clubs. Very bizarre!

And that doesn't sound like too bad a night at all!

Go for it! No matter how old we are the things we used to enjoy in our youth always generate good energy and make us feel alive inside.

I like that thinking. Here's to good energy!!!

Nice one. I can understand your ambivalence. I'm with you on maybe being too old for it, because for me to go clubbing now, I would have to get out of bed after sleeping for three or four hours to arrive at the same time as the younger clubbers.

Hehe, I am fortunate in that I have always been a night owl!

Hmmmm perhaps you should finish that little girl bed first...

I know, I am on the final stretch. But disastrously my plans to finish it tomorrow may have been kaiboshed by the good lady being exhauseted with her pregnancy and I might have to abort tomorrow to give her some time!

My baby is older than you so please dont think you are old, how must I feel now if you feel like it go and read my post of today to see what happens when you are really old. Nice post

In that case, I feel like a proper young un ;0)

You just need to be young at heart and don't let age redefine your life
Keep young
And live a happy healthy life

I like the sound of that. It's a Motto I am going to follow!

Do your best and Keep it young
Much love

Cheers! And right back atcha!

Enjoy it! Just be careful not to rip your own arse right oot it!!! Or have the missus rip it oot for ya! Lol

I will try and keep the ripping of any kind to a bare minimum!!

Just the right amount of ripping of course!

Just a touch

"Av like the Glasgow's accent" 😉 great entertainment to read on my holiday, love it! Keep us up to date if you decide to go to the party! My brain has a huge imagination capacity, I already see your dance moves in my mind 😎

My dance moves are awful!! I have decided to go so will indeed keep you updated!!!

The accent is cool eh! :0)

I dunno @meesterboom... the wifey likes to tell me that we're not "too old." we're just "wiser." Which-- I think-- is another way of saying that going on an all-night binger that leaves the room spinning for 48-hours after... that just isn't "a good time," anymore. Besides... kids, and things...

I suppose it's a matter of perspective. You just reminded me that my "intro" post here on Steemit was entitled "Too Old For This?"

Hehe, the wife says something similar to me. I like the idea of being wise despite knowing it's probably not the case :0)

I think I remember your intro post!

I stopped clubbing at 30. It was the best thing I ever did for my health. At one point I was doing Bikram Yoga and you could squeeze my mats out at the end of class into vodka bottles.

Oh I know that feeling. I used to do Kung Fu and in the Saturday morning class I frankly stank of booze and got a beating each time. I think the only way I knew I was getting good was when I could handle it despite being hungover as hell!!

there are benefits to be a professional drinker...and then there are benefits lol.

There are that is true!

Yoga is the answer my friend!

I have contemplated it! Not entirely sure where to start though...

Hey, age ain't nothin' but a number! At least it can be more or that than not, if you take good care of yourself.

I try to take care of myself so think yes, it is a number that can be happily ignored!

Incredibly funny... and I get it. FIGHT THE POWER MAN! Any thoughts @ekpickle ?

I'm gonna fight it!! Fight it like there is no tomorrow!

Me too brother.... me too!

Never to old!! XD

That's my kind of talk!!!

Well yeap I am in the same position now as my parents when I was 12 years old. I use to believe that I will never be the as old as they were. Now I am 38 still haven't decided to have a child but when I'm in a club sometimes I get talked at the third person. Let's dance for this :))

you have to decide to have kids cuz someday you will want to make kids but you can't do ,kids are great and you will enjoy your time with them

You are cool. When I was in my thirties I thought nothing of it. As I get on a little bit further sometimes I fear it. But I am going, I fear nothing, Raaar!!! :0)

AGE IS AN ISSUE OF MIND OVER MATTER.
IF YOU DON’T MIND, IT DOESN’T MATTER. -MARK TWAIN

I know that one, the man was a genius!

I think so too!

Your posts always crack me up mate. You're never too old for clubbing. I've got a mate who still goes clubbing at 65. It's his retirement hobby. Explains why he's partially deaf I suspect. No one knows how to keep the party going like a scot!

Hahahhaha, there is a limit and whilst kudos to your mate I think I might chuck it a tad before then!!

Oh well may I be the first to welcome you to old fogeydom! Oh yes! At 40+ you are quite knocking on the door, my friend. However, there is ONE bright spot... As the host of the #oldtimers tag, I officially say you, dear Sir, are welcome to post to it being a proper oldtimer and all. Its kind of like AARP for Steemers!

I didnt know there was such a tag! I shall think about using it in future now that I am one of the gang!! lol!! Cheers dude!

Old are the rags dear friend @ meesterboom, the age assures him who is allowed to accent, as my friend Arjona says, "do not take years to his life, put life to those years that is mucho better"
I wish you a good start, my dear friend.

Thank you @jlufer!! I like that saying!

If I call you old then I have to call myself old. So I'll just say, you seem young.

Yay, sounds good!!

This post received a 2.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @meesterboom! For more information, click here!

Come on bro.. You ain't no old basturt.. Unless you're 100 years old, you have a ton of time!! Just take some HGH shots and you'll be sorted xD

Congratulations @meesterboom!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 10 with 109 comments

Nah you're too old for clubbing LOL.
But seriously just whatever makes you happy just do it. Some people are not able to do stuffs like me just don,t plan things like an activity like that.

HAHA! I don't know why it is, but I've always been too old to go clubbing. Even when I was 20 I felt like I was too old. Probably because I'm an old sould. I guess that's a good enough excuse. However, I did force myself to try it a few times, just to see if I had a hidden desire for it. But, I always end up having a philosophical conversation just outside the premise, while waiting for my friends.

Oh, and eating crisps isn't something you would lament!!! Oops, me thinks I overdid the exclamation points. As much as I want to press the backspace button, my fingers aren't letting me.

A new study (based on actual science!) has determined that 37 is the age when you're too old for clubbing.

http://mixmag.net/read/apparently-37-is-the-age-when-youre-too-old-to-go-clubbing-news

There are 2 pages
Pages