Have you ever spent your birthday alone? I did for the first time on 2021.09.17, but at least I will not spend the Christmas alone (2021.11.18)

in #life2 years ago

img_0.6880250940727001.jpg

Literally nobody visited me on my birthday this year. Not even my own brother, but he lives only approximately 14 km away from me. He could easily visit me by bus. He have a 90% discount on public transport. Just like me. Both of us for multiple disabilities. So he just do not care about me.

I called him on the phone on Friday a few weeks ago to tell him that this felt bad (at least he said sorry for this), and I also told him that it would be good if he could visit me in the weekend. He said that "it is possible. We will see". But he did not even called me back in the weekend. He called me on 2021.11.12 in the middle of the night (at 02:55), telling me that he have not received a part of his pension-like income, and asked me if I received it. No "how are you?", no anything else. He did not even mentioned why he did not came this time either. He call me and come to me only if he needs something. And he also done many bad things to me in 2018.

He was not like this at all until 2017.12.17, when we lost our mother because of brain tumor (cancer). I thought that we had the best, most loving family. I wrote in multiple comments about the bad things my brother done both to himself and to me, so I am not going to go into the details of it in this post.

Instead I would like to mention some good news. I will not spend the Christmas alone. I talked with @dswigle in the morning. We spoke about spending the Christmas with someone. She suggested my sister, but that is not what is going to happen. I spoke to my former housemate on the phone (her name is Éva, "Eve" in English), because she lives much closer to me than my sister, and she agreed that I can spend the Christmas with her. She lives with her daughter, and the six years old son of her daughter, so this will hopefully be a family-like Christmas for me.

At least this is how the things are looking today (on 2021.11.18). There is a little bit more than one month until Christmas, and a lot of things can change until then.

By the way, @felixxx, I have not forgot about the $50 HBD bounty you announced 9 days ago. I started cleaning up the room a few days ago. I spend approximately 30 minutes each day, so this is like one step at a time. If everything will go well, then I will finish it in the weekend (or at the start of the next week). I will upload photos about the room, of course.

img_0.17485117731917013.jpg

About the condition of my Harris's hawk:
There is no visible change since I took her home. She is still in the box, because I cannot touch her operated leg. I do not want to risk another injury to her. One wrong move, and who knows what happens. So I keep her in the box for her own safety. At least in the near future. If I see that she is using her left leg again (including putting pressure on it), then I may take her out of the box.

Thank you for reading.
Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings from Hungary.


The cover image of this post is taken by me in the garden with my smartphone (Samsung Galaxy A12), and I edited it with Snapseed (Android application).

Original (unedited photo):

img_0.7693827676872538.jpg
3.19 MB, 4000x2250, F2.0, 1/60 s, 4.60mm, ISO 125.
White balance Auto.
2021.11.18, 15:07 CET.

Sort:  

Hello dear friend @xplosive I am very sorry for this family situation and the loss of your mother, it is a shame that your brother does not appreciate you and only sees you when he needs you. Many times we have better relationships with people outside the family, people are complicated
What comforts me to know that you will be accompanied next Christmas

I wish you a beautiful night dear friend

Many times we have better relationships with people outside the family

This is true. Even my boss and my co-workers care more about me than my brother. But I helped my brother multiple times in the previous three years. I even invited him once to eat at a restaurant (we had a good lunch), despite both of us living under the local minimum wage. Sometimes (nowadays more and more often) receive help from complete strangers. So even complete strangers care more about me than my own brother.

I do not understand why and how my brother changed so much suddenly at the end of 2017. Nowadays he is a complete opposite of his past himself.

But I do not want to think about this sad fact. Especially near Christmas.

What comforts me to know that you will be accompanied next Christmas

Me too. This is somewhat a good feeling.

I wish you a beautiful night dear friend

Thank you. I also wish a beautiful night. Sleep well.

That is awesome! I don't think anything should happen, but, it would be kind to make contact with here once in a while so it is not like dropping in out of nowhere. I am happy for you and I am sure this will be a wonderful Christmas for you.

Thank you for letting me know the good news! Get cracking on that room! That is a huge bounty! I'll clean my house for that! :)

Have a great day!

it would be kind to make contact with here once in a while so it is not like dropping in out of nowhere.

We will talk (and maybe even meet) a few times until Christmas. She still lives in Szolnok, just in another house on the other side of the city. She have multiple jobs in the city. One of them is washing in a kitchen of an elementary school. She offered warm food for me, because a lot of food remains every day. She told me that the school is simply throwing away the remained food, which often includes even meat.

Get cracking on that room! That is a huge bounty! I'll clean my house for that! :)

I am doing it. Probably the cleaning will be complete in the weekend.

Yay!!

I finished the room cleaning today (2021.11.20): Room cleaning (2021.11.20).

That is awesome!!! Do we get pictures? Wait! I'll click the link!

I have spent birthdays alone. Not a big deal; I forget about other people's birthdays, too.

Feeling lonely, generally sucks, though.

Taking small steps in cleaning that room is fine. 30 mins daily taking better care of these things can have quite an impact. At the very least, when you do have guests over you have a clean place to invite them to.

Taking small steps in cleaning that room is fine. 30 mins daily taking better care of these things can have quite an impact.

Probably it will be done in the weekend. The wall painting is broken in a small area around my bed, but it was already broken when I first arrived here, so I am not going to paint the wall, but other than that the room will be clean.

Just put a poster over the holes, lol

Fortunately/luckily there are no holes in the wall. Or at least I do not know about any holes in the wall. Just/only the painting of the wall is broken, not the wall. This is how it looks like:

img_0.24149797831503098.jpg

About the house cleaning; believe me it's worse to do it in short sessions instead doing it for a whole afternoon, or whenever you have got a few hours. I encourage you to finish it at the next time! :)

Maybe you are right, and that would be indeed better.
I do not promise, but maybe I will finish it tomorrow.

Don’t need to promise, but must decide weather you do or do not :) !LOLZ

I've just written a song about a tortilla.
Well, it is more of a rap really.

@xplosive, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @szpb
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/1)

I finished it today (2021.11.20): Room cleaning (2021.11.20).

have bday tomorrow, i am doing a small bday party, but a lot have canceled, we are just in front of another lockdown :/ Happy Bday :) ps. last year I was alone at bday (lockdown)

have bday tomorrow

Thank you, but it was on September 17.

we are just in front of another lockdown

That is not good. Maybe we will also have some in the near future. Wearing masks on public transport became mandatory again in the recent past. But we are currently not in lockdown. For example nowadays you can go into a restaurant and order and eat food inside of it. Many people do it.

Greetings from Hungary.

I know how it feels , it has happened to me when I turned 30, I was in a toxic relationship then and it was a horrible day, ending up with me spending it mostly alone. It was sad but it also helped me become more strong and resilient. It was necessary to go through that in order to learn that I should love myself first the most.

Try not be lost in feeling neglected, it is sad mom has gone now you find yourself alone, it's tough.

Making your space feel like home sounds like something you look forward to, not being alone over the festive season a step in the right direction.

!BEER
!PIZZA

Try not be lost in feeling neglected, it is sad mom has gone now you find yourself alone, it's tough.

I live mostly alone since approximately the middle of 2018, but I am trying to be strong.

Making your space feel like home sounds like something you look forward to, not being alone over the festive season a step in the right direction.

A house is not a home without a loving family. Or at least this is how I currently see it. I have spent most of my life so far in a loving family. 25 years (1992-2017) out of 29 years. Nowadays I am trying not to be alone all the time.

Many are sitting home alone, put word out and possibly start something new in your town, a place to meet once a week for a coffee or tea and chat.

Offer your time to assist in care homes, animal shelters, places where you able to meet people outside of normal work, taking yourself out helps.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@joanstewart(4/10) tipped @xplosive (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.