Talking To A Rock

in Reflections5 months ago

Family is a pretty fascinating dynamic.


IMG_7451.jpeg


Show me two people from the same house with a clean slate and I'll show you at least one who's completely fulla shit.


IMG_7447.jpeg


Mine's a mess. What's left of it. They're toxic anyway. Always have been.

I was close to both of my uncles, go figure—Hells Angels - bar owners - beach - women. They both died about 10 years ago, I was still in my 30's. There's a couple of aunts left on that side, their sisters, my mothers sisters. They never really accepted me anyway.

It was always a competition. I didn't know it back then but now it's clear as mud. I can't be expected to understand favorite grandkid in a room full of grandkids, I was a fucking kid!! My aunts sure as shit did.

Hardly makes me angry at all, can you tell?


IMG_7445.jpeg


The people who should've been there the most when I needed them the most shit on me the most when I needed them the most. Been that way my whole life. Haven't spoken to that side of the family since my mothers funeral—no longer obligated; cousins, aunts, none of them. April will be 11 years. Buried her when I was 37.


IMG_7450.jpeg


Only parent I ever met. I have no brothers or sisters or children, had to improv that one on the fly.

Palla who?

First time I heard it, palliative. First time paying attention at least. That was the same day I learned pull the plug is a figure of speech. It's just a signature in the real world.

I've heard things about the guy who got my mother pregnant. I've always called him that. My grandfather called him sperm donor. Don't know much about him other than it sucks to be him—fathered someone as cool as me and never even met me. I bet he doesn't own a mirror.


IMG_4420.jpeg


I could probably use a fresh dose of anger management—been awhile. Never enlisted on my own, they were court ordered. The best, most therapeutic way to disguise anger is through humor, I've unveiled. I don't feel like being funny right now.


My wife's family is even more fucked up than mine. That's another one—even more fucked up than mine is surprisingly consistent. Interestingly enough, on the rare occasion I do engage lineage like this or catch someone else's story here or on YouTube or somewhere else, regardless who they are or where I'm at, more often than not, they're even more fucked up than I am.


IMG_7449.jpeg


Doesn't make it easier. I never had an uncle or family friend or anyone try any inappropriate advances on me, that's cool. Not everyone's so lucky.

And I'm not a psychopath.


IMG_7467.jpeg


Said you.

I saw a dad tag his young child's arm with a tattoo machine. Know a dude whose mother introduced him to heroin when he was 14. It was her dope. At least I never had to deal with that.


IMG_7453.jpeg


My wife has a brother, he's a couple years older than her—haven't said more than two words to each other in the 10 years I've known her. Every once in awhile, her grandparents or cousin or someone will tell us he locked himself up somewhere again and threatened to kill himself again so they called the cops, paramedics, et cetera, again and they came and took him away again.

They buried their dad almost 20 years ago. Pura was 22 so her brother would've been about 25 when he overdosed on opiates a week shy of his 55th birthday—dead.

And, their mother, I can't imagine what it's like to be her. She's in rehab again right now actually—90 days. 65 years old, never learned how to cope with the loss of her life partner. She doesn't have a phone yet. She usually calls Pura when they give her her phone back, takes a couple weeks. This is about the third or fourth time she's lost a job due to addiction.

I have to stop now. Sorry. Thanks.


IMG_7446.jpeg


FAC9D1F02A3847C8B80EA048A93E898A.jpeg

Sort:  

You’re in good company man, yours seems more extreme than mine but cutting those assholes off is a good move. That’s what we’ve done to keep our sanity. It hurts a little bit on the holidays but you then remember the shit they put you through and it’s alright. I appreciate you man!

75D8CA97-3D36-4D10-A180-490598F632DF.jpeg

F605A7A8-6964-46FF-BA50-4CDED25842DB.jpeg

16EE7E90-D66B-4306-A461-0E2418D6899C.jpeg

5A7FEED6-84A3-4D23-B4BB-2FB50BBE4431.jpeg

Wit ya bro's

I got lucky cuz my wife Kelly's @pooky-jax family is da shizz. I actually asked them if we could change my last name in the marriage to theirs. Then I had to tell em why. Uhhhgg.

Yeah dude I hear you on that. I'm close with my dad and have respect for him but the others are crap, otherwise I would've done that same thing!

Well, that and Krazzy Kelly probably won't go far on a firearm license.

It's just something they talk about at gun shows, more or less, but each piece sold comes with a concealed carry so, it's all talk anyway but I don't think she'd get an interview at the post office if she applied as Krazzy Kelly.

C c c c 🥶❄️🥶 old here in Cleveland TN. This morning.

How does Atlas like the cold. She seen snow yet.?

She has actually, within a week of bringing her home. She said, "In my country.. it does this in August."


Hey dude. You going North? If you wanna hit me up over on the you know where, you're dangerously close to me (and Atlas).

Or not. Brrrrrrr!

F - word. Then that first screen shot. But they kept going. Cool to see you got some love.

I don't even know Wtf I'm thinking straying outta character like that, seriously, I went through this thing where I wanted to kinda explain my foundation to you and everyone who's kept up with me this whole time.

I can't even live in the same state. Notice I'm on the other side of the country now. There's a memory on every corner. Dude I hate visiting. I need to stop again.

Even the music. It's everywhere. On the other sides of oceans is American music. You'd be shocked how many places I heard The Roots.

Really, I've wondered if The Roots are aware how much The Seed gets played.

Anyway, and I really don't know what's better. Probably never will. I watch Pura try to juggle theirs while I shut mine off and I honestly don't know which is better.

That's it.

read the following in the wwe/wwf wrestler voice

Fa Fa Fa Finalllly...

Someone...

With...

A More Fucked Up (family) Lineage...

Than Me.!!

tell me again about that humor/anger coping behavior

I saw the eyebrow and all! He's wearing black drawls, dang you know how to tell a story.

:knuckles:

I am sorry you had such a tough life, I can only imagine the pain and emotional stress you went through as a child and as a young man.
Thank goodness you and Pura found each other, you two are like peas and carrots.😉❤️

Hello farm-mom.

No complaints. It had to go that way to get where we are. I wouldn't change anything. I think about how things might've gone if I had two legs all the time but that's all. Holiday story stuff, et cetera, I just read your blogs. = }

Man we all have our shit hey. I'm yet to meet a family who is perfect, even though many like to give the impression they are. I used to be embarrassed and shy to talk about my fam or bring friends home etc until I realised that everyone has skeletons in their closet.

I like to think it's made me more resilient and a better person for it. I like who I am, cracks and all. Some people learn lessons from their experiences and become better others hold on to it in different ways, like lock themselves up again!

We all gotta do what's best for us.

!HUG
!LUV
!PIZZA

Good morning, Ms Pants. It's morning where I am. Can't pick'em right?

One thing I got is firepower. Whole arsenal. There was a time once when a junky was in the worst shape because life this and life that, problems and issues, addiction was their only crutch.

That's not a good enough reason so, when I hear of people struggling like that I'm.. c'mere, let me tell you a story.

Good day art the fart! It's mid day where I am so I can't help it! I've already lived half my day.

Now I want to hear this story, sounds like a great one.

I know it's a crutch but can't help think it's one that comes from weakness. Get your mind right is what I always want to say!

And freezing! Brr! Morning and a Fahrenheit number that starts with 2.

@mimismartypants sent you LUV 🙂 (2/3)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Dear @dandays, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @mimismartypants.
(1/3)

Insert validating statement with option for fist bump to the survivors of fucked up shit.

Don't always know how to make a delicate response when I read the raw, but always want to say "I see you. I hear you." I'm proud of you and Pura for finding your awesomeness in spite of (or because of?) adversity.

Fist bump, hug, whaddup!! knuckles.

I can't tell. You don't stop by all the time but when you do you're good at knowing what to say. I realize now the similarity in that sentence but it's not a spin on the worlds most interesting man.

<3

Wait, which one of us is the world's most interesting man, now?

Elbow nudge and raised glass. (what's in the glass? french vanilla creamer. straight up.)

All hazelnut will ever be is a good 2nd!

Hazelnut gelato, on the other hand... you could start world wars with that shit. Good thing not many people know about it.

Sometimes i say to myself, Life is chaotic mystery.

Hello. Sorry if I'm mistaken but for someone who's been here as long as me, I don't think we've met.

Thanks for finding me.

Chaotic. Mhm. And lifey, too.

Not a pretty picture you have painted, but you seem to have weathered the storm and come out the other side doing very well. Memories can be painful but the other side of that coin is that fond memories, ones that you have been collecting since you met a woman that makes you feel like the luckiest guy on the face of the earth, will one day help to extinguish the flames of hell that you endured for a good part of your life.
I read this along with some of the comments depicting similar situations.
I have never experienced anything remotely similar to your deal and so appreciate the family that kept me on the straight and narrow. When they say that it takes a tribe to raise a child, I was fortunate enough to experience just that.

Peace brother.

I saw three Sweed comments like yes! I better get comfortable.

Never disappointing.

Whaddup. You think I was being condescending all those times I said they're lucky to have you? I thought it was obvious, I'm only condescending all the other times. = }

Much love sir. I could feel the emotion. Not sure what I was thinking, it just came out, we got more news again and this happened.

Condescending no, confident, and truthful beyond most people's ability, yes.

Love you too, both of you.

Not sure what news you got, but it doesn't sound good.

You say you're not in the mood to be funny, but even before you said it, you already were. And after a few lines, yet again, you were, effortlessly.

You're totally right, family's really something, some worse than others. Then again, it's really worse for everyone viewing from the inside out and only when we stop for a moment to compare, do we realise, "at least I don't have it that bad." It's important though, for the purposes of gratitude, pushing through and not wallowing in the negatives.

If I referenced your funny remarks to reply with laughs, or other, this might be another comment, turned post. :)

It's always a delight to read you.

Cheers sire!

Well that didn't hurt to read.

Thank you.

Sorry about your friend. Those have happened to me too. People I thought would be there forever, have known more than 4 decades, et cetera, gone. And it's always over a misunderstanding.

Words. Guess I never realized how dangerous they can be.

It's good to know I'm not less of a person or anything like that. So it happens.

Indeed, words are. I'm learning to be more careful with choosing them, whilst still having my dignity in tact.

💙

original talk

Three word response.

The way I figure it, family is the folk waiting for you when you get out of jail.

If that rock starts talking back to you, you let me know.

The way I figure it, family is the folk waiting for you when you get out of jail.

You're the luckiest guy in this conversation.

It does. It's me who wouldn't say anything, the rock won't leave me alone.

Dear me, your story makes me feel lucky, family-wise!!

My problems were more along the lines of @cmplxty's meme:

image.png

Family that push us away when we're are down do more damage than anything else. They make us feel unworthy, unsure, unloved. They rob us of our connection to self. Of course, they were robbed themselves to be able to act this way. So many of them present as caring and kind, but when it comes to family, their inner beasts take over.

You had an awful lot of losses ten years ago. Is this an anniversary of your mother's death, which sounds like it must have been awful?

Cool pile of rocks anyway. That's that.

You, I know, have a vague idea what I said. I love me some Owasco attention but now I wanna call you. What's your WhatsApp?

We should get together and let our dogs play.

I lost my truest friend, the one who helped me build my first Harley, and my biggest fan, Chris, I called him my biggest fan, at the same time, too. My knee went out, again, I couldn't work so I had all the time in the world to think. Then the IRS came at me for siiii.. My dog died, too, The Rook, she was 10 months, 10 years.

Anyway, what's your number?

<3

I don't even know what whatsapp is!!! You could contact me on discord, but I can't figure out how to do that on this new computer - I need an invitation or something? Or you can email me at [email protected]. I think I still know how to get into that address.

I'm sorry you had such a hard time!!! Things fall apart sometimes, don't they? Then something fabulous happens. If I've got the timeline close, you met Pura soon after this spate of awfulness.

Here we go again, just when I think I'm the least tech savvy... = }

Within months. Crazy, right? But she's from the Bay Area and I'm from LA so we kept in contact via phone for about half a year til she moved, then I moved, then I, she, now, et cetera.

Which is a damn good thing by the way. She's a 10. I never would've stood a chance had I not had those 6 months to win the conversation game and instead tried doing so in person, face to face, with a 10 are you kidding me?!? Yeah, F'ing right! I needed that phone distance.

lol. You're a ten too my friend. You just had so many assholes in your younger years that you didn't know it.

Only a little price to pay for a part time Hells Angel, finding his "Pure(a) ROCK Sugar" of life?
😘

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2KAXrGzMiUE&pp=ygUKUm9jayBzdWdhcg%3D%3D

The license plate said STBN CBN! Ha.. Ha.. Ha.. Ha. I was in a funk and then that! <3


Huuuuuh! Total Recall!!!!!!! Sound from ages ago I didnt hear for... feels like 100 years 😯

Thank you ❤️

You are most welcome. <3 I was just telling someone else I wonder if The Roots know how many countries The Seed is played.

I've toned down my music experiences in past years here because the more I get to know people around the globe, the more I realize not everyone grew up where I did. I don't mean to sound braggy.

I'm not sure how many time I've seen The Roots perform. I don't think more than 10. At most, 15.

See what I mean?

Just saw this post and damn, my heart aches for kids that don't get a fair shake. Makes me want to go round knocking heads together. My family is far from perfect but I never had to wonder or worry. Most likely some secrets went to the grave and will never be told.

Hello, you. Meh, fair shmair. You didn't miss much.

East on the heads, I'm totally out of the character who listens to rocks now so it's all good.

!HUG

!MUCHTHANKS @eii.

@eii, sorry!

You are out of hugs for today.

You can call the HUG bot a maximum of 3 per day.

The current call limits are:

HUG in walletcalls per day
01
12
103

Family is a great thing to have. Especially family that truly loves from the heart. They are truly golden and one must cherish them

Did you push a button for that or do you always talk like a button?

Probably both 😁

I hardly noticed.

Why do you say that first

What, that you talk like a button?

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@eii(5/5) tipped @dandays
mimismartypants tipped dandays

!BEER
!BBH
!WINE

@dandays! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @eii. (4/5)

!LOLZ
!LUV
!PIZZA

@eii sent you LUV 🙂 (5/5)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

I understand 25 letters of the alphabet.
I still can't figure out y.

Credit: reddit
@dandays, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of eii

(4/8)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!


Hey @dandays, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.