2021 Tuvalu 1 oz Silver Black Flag (The Red Flag Fleet)

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Ching Shih ('Madame Ching') a.k.a. Cheng I Sao, was a Chinese pirate leader who terrorized the China Seas during the Jiaqing Emperor period of the Qing dynasty in the early 19th century. She commanded over 1800 junks (traditional Chinese sailing ships) crewed by 60,000 to 80,000 pirates:71 – men, women, and occasionally children. Her ships entered into conflicts with several major powers, such as the East India Company, the Portuguese Empire, and the Qing government.

Ching Shih and her crew's exploits have since been featured in numerous books, novels, video games, and films about pirates and their way of life in China as well as in a global context. Based on her influence and achievements as a pirate, which included commanding a vast fleet of around 1,500-1,800 ships crewed by 80,000 sailors during her peak, she is accepted by many as being the most successful pirate in history.


This coin features Ching Shih, the most well-known female pirate in history, and The Red Flag Fleet. Ching Shih had a reputation as a shrewd businesswoman when she met and married the Red Flag Fleet commander, Cheng I. In 1807, when Cheng I died, Cheng I Sao became known as Ching Shih, or Cheng’s Widow, a name that would become synonymous in history with the mighty Red Flag Fleet.

2021 Tuvalu Silver Black Flag (The Red Flag Fleet)

The third release in the popular Black Flag series features Ching Shih and The Red Flag Fleet, a limited mintage of only 15,000, sovereign coin backed by Tuvalu government.


Obverse: Features the Ian Rank-Broadley likeness of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, the monetary denomination, the coin’s weight and fineness, and the 2021 year-date.



Reverse: Features a representation of Ching Shih along with her Red Flag Fleet of ships. The design of a skull is formed from the rough waves of the ocean. The design also features the words "THE RED FLAG FLEET", "BLACK FLAG: CHING SHIH", the weight, fineness, and The Perth Mint's traditional 'P' mint mark.



Numista


😍#ilikeitalot!😍


My 2021 coins, so far:

And here is my 2020 Tuvala Silver Black Flag (Royal Fortune)


Source: Apmex, JM Bullion, SD Bullion, Wikipedia

Best Regards,

@silversaver888

I am not a financial adviser. This article is not meant to be financial advice. My articles on cryptos and precious metals share my personal opinion, experiences, and general information on cryptos and precious metals.
All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone6, unless specified.

Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!


Join the Ladies of Hive Community and the Ladies of Hive in discord.

Would you like to support The Ladies of Hive Community?

Consider giving a delegation!

25 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 150 HP - 200 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP - 5000 HP


Posted Using [LeoFinance Beta](https://leofinance.io/@silversaver888/2021-tuvalu-1-oz-silver-black-flag-the-red-flag-fleet)

Sort:  

I love that you provide so much detail on the coins.

Hi @cryptictruth!
I am learning history with you!

Great Sis, you covered the major points. ☠️ A cunning gal and fearless.

I am quite familiar with this exceptional Pirate's history.
Amazing how little known she is in the West.
The coin's design is a dramatic departure from the other Queen Anne's and the Royal Fortune leaving me to believe that the third coin would be consistent in featuring the Ship rather than the Pirate who Captained it.
First issue is that we don't know the name of the Ship/junk she'd sail most often leaving the coin designer a problem of series consistency. The name of the ship is more often have the name of the owner than a Name upon it's own so technically it should follow the pattern; Queen Ann's Revenge, The Royal Fortune, Ching Shih's Junk. Get the ideal? Otherwise, using her new Husband's (actually her Son) Pagoda ship would be an option but wouldn't be accurate.
I can go on but ...still a nice coin.

Always, with love and Gold 🤗 🌺 💖

PS. My way back guess as the 3rd coin as The Golden Hind of Francis Drake

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

At first, I wondered why she. But as I read more, it figured!
But I am learning about the coins as I receive them. Perhaps they would feature the Golden Hind, who knows!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm beginning to think Ching Shih was chosen in this fashion for politically correct reasons. Being in effectual command of many Junks, I would have designed the coin more consistent with the series thus far by picturing several Junks and the Legend be " ☠ THE RED FLAG FLEET- BLACK FLAG: CHING SHIH - .9999 AG ☠" Then a well written coin description as to tease the buyer into reading or researching the Legendary Ching Shih.

And despite all she did, she was pardoned by the Emperor and retired as the owner and operator of a Gambling Establishment and Brothel. No verifiably known picture of Ching Shih exists.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You're prolly right, but she is powerful.
She was forgiven? She must be GOOD!
Gambling and brothel... hehehe!

The Minister of the Imperial Navy had to negotiate a settlement, I think she threatened to restart the conflict and carnage inland if she and the majority of her pirates were to peaceably withdraw and all charges dropped. In the deal, some pirates were laid blame and were detained and executed that were likely her political enemies. So the Minister blinked and caved to her terms to keep the peace. I think she knew her time has come to retire, she could take on the Imperial Navy but with the powerful Portuguese Warships allied with the Navy?

Have a good day, sis!
!ENGAGE 25

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Chinese history is full of amazing characters given the sheer size of the country. I think I watched a few Chinese dramas that featured this character. Although I didn't remember that is translated to Cheng's widow.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, a character alright!
But silently though, that society is matriarchial!

🥰🌺🤙!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ms. Saver @silversaver888 It Happened today, I got the Stoutland Card which Finishes the Evolution of Your POKEMON Yorkie Cards. I will Get Them in the Mail to You Over the Next Week and You will be a POKEMON BREEDER.......... Exciting !!

image.png
Lillipup is based on a dog, specifically a Yorkshire Terrier. Lillipup also has some characteristics of other Terriers

Oh gosh!!!!
My first Pokeman cards!
And a YORKIE!!!
Wait... I've gotta study them!
I'm surprised, @stokjockey!!!

!ENGAGE 25

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hello @silversaver888,
Ching Shih is the most powerful pirate in history..

Luck and success to you!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hello @anacratinasilva!
Hehehe, girl power!!!
Indeed, she is the most powerful pirate!

Thank you for dropping by! I just followed you!
!ENGAGE 20

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

hello dear friend @ silversaver888 good afternoon
two days ago I missed your publications, today I was anxiously waiting to see it
I must study more Chinese history, did not know the existence of this pirate.

What a beauty of a coin, what a delicacy, I really appreciate that you let us know and all the history of it, it is always good to learn something new

have a wonderful weekend

Oh, I thought you tire of me!
And I didn't want to bother you!
This means... I can go visit you @jlufer!!!!'

The times of all those Chinese dynasties and China eventually came to be is filled with exciting stories like this. I spent quite some time on YouTube watching videos about them.

Posted using Dapplr

Interesting stories!!!
It makes coins like this so fascinating!

🥰🌺🤙!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Indeed it does! :)
Especially with a !BEER

Very nice! I was unaware that there was a lady pirate! Nice! A great addition for your stack @silversaver888, sis! Take care and thanks for sharing!

Based on what I read, she may be the most powerful pirate! And a woman! In a world and a field dominated by males, I think she was a force!

Have a wonderful evening, sis @elizabethbit!
🥰🌺🤙!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I imagine she was! Take care @silversaver888!🤗❤️🌸😘

Ching Shih, wielded a lot of power @silversaver888! To command 60,000 to 80,000 Pirates! I wonder how she kept control of this many people???
The Red Flag Fleet..thats a coin to put on the list my friend!😍😍😀

That's what it says! Powerful woman.
Tell me when you get one!.
Have a nice afternoon, @silvetop!

Enjoy the weekend @silversaver888....awesome silver my friend😍😍😀

this is so beautiful hope some day i could hold one 🙂

Yes, someday you will hold one, I have no doubt about it, @psycgkrhoz!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 49 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7


Hey @silversaver888, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.

Thanks, @star.lord!