G-dog's weekendy handyman tasks

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago

Rarely does a day go by in which I don't think about the weekend; It's not that I wish my life away, just that I love weekends as it's a time I feel more engaged with my life, my true life, and when Faith and I can lock out the rest of the world and do our own thing free from work commitments. So, here I am on a Thursday thinking about the weekend.

I'm going to shoot on Saturday, at the range. I didn't get to shoot much last weekend as I was instructing a new shooter, so this weekend it's all about me and sending a pile of rounds downrange. We'll probably head to the pub for lunch with some of the shooters as well, tell lies, pick on each other and generally talk shit. I'm not sure what Saturday night holds right now but Sunday...Chores!

Chores isn't the right word to be honest though...Home handyman tasks is more fitting.

I've been sitting here at work writing a list of things I'd like to achieve around the house on Sunday and whilst the list isn't massive, it's enough to take up the whole day which is ok by me. I like DIY stuff and Faith will help so it's a nice time to spend together. I've got to pick up some stuff from the hardware warehouse which we'll do on Saturday afternoon and then on Sunday, it's on y'all!

None of the tasks are all that difficult and they're not really DIY projects as such, more just little things that need to be done around the place; Houses always need work, touching up and a little maintenance here and there. I've put a few of these off for a while now and I figure it's time to get them done.

Faith and I are pretty good when working together on things like this although...Yeah, you knew there was going to be but right?

The thing is, Faith seems incapable of learning which tools are called what. Here's an example.

Me: Faith, can ya go grab a medium Phillips head screw driver for me?
Faith: OK
Me: Get on with what I'm doing.
Faith: Comes back with the largest flat head screw driver I own.
Me: Dafuq!

Another example?

Me: Can you grab me the stubby-nose pliers and small multigrips?
Faith: Sure can.
Me: Waiting, waiting waiting...
Faith: (Calling out from my workshop) Where are they?!
Me: In my big-ass tool box in a tray marked pliers and multigrips!
Faith: Comes back with hammer and a socket set.
Me: For fuck sake!

Ok, I'll admit that I'm exaggerating a bit here...But it's not far off the truth. Each time she does it I go to great length to explain what I wanted, why I wanted it and what it does so she knows for next time...Come next time...No clue.

Ok, I'm exaggerating again. 😂

To be honest, she's pretty good and has learned to work around it. If I ask for pointy-nose pliers I get everything single tool that looks like pliers...She hold them up and I point. Job done.

Of course, you may be wondering why I don't get the tools myself...Well sometimes I'm holding something, on a roof or on a ladder and it's not convenient. So, Faith is my apprentice...And not a very good one. It's all good though, we make it work and slowly she's learning how to do things, if not what things are called.

So, that's Sunday in the G-dog household. You'll note I have lunch on the list...Come on, I'm the G-dog you know, lunch is important! Faith usually makes sandwiches or some such thing, and we sit around outside contemplating the job we're on at that moment or chatting, usually with music on too...Good times.

So, that's my weekend in a loose nutshell, how about you?

What have y'all got planned or not planned for the upcoming weekend? I'd like to know so leave a comment. Also, don't forget to post your weekendy things in Engage the weekend Community - A community dedicated to the weekend!

Also, there's only slightly more than 24 hours before the #weekend-engagement topic post drops on my post-feed so look out for it and join in the engagement-fest with the other legit hivers!

Later y'all.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  

I'm not keen on DIY I used to be but these days if the Mrs wants anything doing it takes me two weeks to run out of excuses why I can't. LOL


"If you don't have enough power or Crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Haha, well...I've been there done that, but I also like to do things myself when I can, within my limits and also stretching them. Feels rewarding...Besides, it's good to show off my manly DIY prowess in front of my wife...Wouldn't want her losing interest! She likes it when I don my DIY utility belt.

!ENGAGE 25

Mate, I've just painted the whole house, put up two new blinds (I had to get my Dremel out for Pete's sake!), and had to give the loft hatch three coats of paint THREE! And the wife knows I'd rather be stung by jellyfish than paint it's sooooo boring. 😉


"If you don't have enough power or Crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!

Sounds like you have covered off on DIY for a while then. I should be good for a few weeks myself after Sunday.

Does 'Furniture moving' count? We had a new carpet laid today and muggins here had to shift everything at7:30am


"If you don't have enough power or Crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!

I'd say moving furniture is certainly counted as DIY for sure...Do it yourself, hmm, sometimes I watch TV by myself...Maybe that should count too. Nah, probably not.

LOL. It is, it is.


"If you don't have enough power or Crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

I think its endearing that Faith tries to help you and sometimes doesn't get the tools right. Its the effort and thought that counts.

Its supposed to be raining potentially non stop through Saturday so im not sure about my weekend. Probably reading. Hoping i csn come up with something fun though.

Personally im looking forward to your weekend engagement post. That's a party every time.

I recoated my roof in March. Haven't had a drop of rain since, so I can't do anything to repair the holes in my ceiling. I took out a couple of panels to try to localize the roof leaks in the kitchen, in the bathroom the tile got good and wet and fell all by itself. I was sitting there doing my thing when it fell and you can bet I was done in less than a second!

I actually wish it would rain enough to test the roof. Then I'd have a really long term project to brag about any time some asshat brings it up.

She tries her hardest but doesn't get it right much. I don't get too upset because it's often more hilarious than annoying. Is this a hammer, she says holding up a hacksaw. (Another exaggeration of course.)

We've got rain for the next several days here which I don't mind although depending on its severity on Saturday it may dictate whether I go to the range or not. Still, they weather dudes rarely get it right so I just push on regardless.

Screenshot_20200917-135003_BOM Weather.jpg

I'll come up with a topic sooner or later...Still working on it...The hamster that runs on the wheel in my noggin making my brain work has been a bit slack lately...Hopefully he comes good by Friday.

Hey rain is always good. Pretty sure thats going to get in the way of s lot of stuff on your chores list for sunday.

Pfft! Your weather guys are a lot more accurate than ours. Higgens storm chasers are pretty accurate and the BOM live radar (raindar) is awesome.

Yep, BOM is where that snap came from.

If the rain comes in on Sunday I'll probably leave the downpipe thing, pressure cleaning and the mozzie screen replacement. Most other things should be achievable...Or maybe I'll watch TV and eat lunch all day.

Tv! Tv! Tv!!! That's what I would do

Don't fucking lead me astray you!

Nothing planned yet for the weekend I will see what happens. Hope you both have a good weekend.

You're travelling right?

Nah I am back home for now as of yesterday.

Bugger. Oh well, you'll get back out I'm sure.

Yeah I will mate👍

Right, Faith, you HAVE to join HIVE and tell us the things your G-Dog is shit at 🤣

Yay for the weekend...!

Lol...I have an alt account that she may take over at some stage, she just doesn't have the time...Nor do I want her divulging all the idiot things I do! 🤣

Oh yeah, the weekend...It means #weekend-engagement topic and I think I have a good one ready for this week! Feel free to post in this community Riv, if you have anything weekendy; The more the better.

I should do!!!!! Bit of writers block currently, or just busy with life. But since you asked....

Come on Faith.. you need to even out the score here. I gotcha, sister!!! Besides, who cares what they call that thingamajiggy, as long as they make themselves useful, amirite??

Lol...I just showed her this...Explaining that I made her look like a tool novice in my post...She gave me a open handed smack to the back of my noggin.

Ha, well deserved!!!!

I agree...But then most of what I do deserves a few Benny Hill slaps. Lol. (I trust you're old enough to know the reference.)

I'm not sure about our weekend, so far a slightly busy week for us. I thought last weekend was going to be a sit around watch the rain and play games. But the sun came out, it was very nice, no wind so Sunday we went to the mountains, Weekends are always up in the air for us, pretty much what ever happens to catch our fancy, mostly our normal shopping, but also some photo hunting excursions.

I guess I get more focused on weekend as I pretend to work during the week as does Faith. We love our weekends and whether e plan something or not, do something or not, we enjoy them. This one could really suck ass though, depending on what happens tomorrow with Faith's mum, but we'll have to wait and see.

Hope she gets good news, I hated having to wait around for my own hammer to fall on yeah we got it, no we did't, yeah still clear.

Thanks mate, only a few hours to go now. Faith was pretty sad last night, just fearful of what may come. We'll see though, cross that bridge if we come to it.

If I had read your exaggeration regarding Faith to my mom she would have commented, "Men are cut from the same scissors."

I could mention one of those lists when I lived with my husband.

Well let's go to the grain, I would like to say that since Thursday I have done a general cleaning of my house and at the end of the afternoon I will go shopping for the week, on Friday, Saturday and Sunday, I am completely free, without making many plans because we are still in quarantine and the best prevention is to stay home.

Since we cannot go out on Saturdays we dedicate them to the kitchen, my daughter is in charge of making the desserts and I vary the menu every Saturday.

When my son comes with his family it's great for me.

Haha, well I think you're mum is a very smart woman!

It seems like you haven't got much on the weekend, so maybe you'll spend some time on the #weekend-engagement topic this week? A fun topic this week. All the best, and don't forget to post your weekendy stuff in this community.

Tranks for your Support. Amazing :)

You're welcome. I am an advocate for engagement here on hive as a way to build relationships, profiles and the community. This is one of my concepts, the #weekend-engagement topic which comes out every Friday afternoon and runs until Sunday night each weekend. Last week, week 14, someone suggested you as an account to check out...So seems like you're doing some great work, getting noticed.

Feel free to join in the #weekend-engagement topic anytime, you are most welcome.

Looks like a busy weekend for you! Lol.

Mine would be a little more dedicated to relaxing as soon as I:

  • make some shopping
  • cook
  • buy some presents
  • buy another gem
  • buy a train ticket for my visit home (haven't been home since December!)

After all that work you'll need to relax!

Been a while since you went home...Do you live far from there?

Around 200 km away but since I don't have a car and the train tickets are pretty expensive.. I tend to postpone doing it and most often I get visited by my parents once a month which makes everything easier :)

Ah ok, pretty close. Yeah, nice that they come to see you and hopefully they bring presents! Lol.

They are the biggest present I could ever get ❤️

Nicely said Gabriela. You're a champ.

I think she's playing you dog, purposefully not remembering the tools so she doesn't have to fetch them for you too often :P

Haha, yeah probably. I do the same with: Making the bed, doing laundry, the dishes, making dinner, dusting...Lol. Nah, not really, well, kinda.

I made it sound worse than she is though, she's a reasonable apprentice really.

🙂

You both have your strengths :D

Lol...Yeah, I guess. Mine is avoiding household chores! 🤣

Sidenote: send a little something for your weekend engagement thingy :)

Oh really? That's nice...Thanks Eve. It will be week 15 this week...Never though it would go so long... Hopefully it's making a difference, but either way it's a bit of fun. Thanks for the sponsorship Eve, it's greatly appreciated. 💙

You are doing the good work. I'm just too lazy to take part so I want to help encourage people who are active :)

You are exaggerating but it isn't far from the truth. Lols, that was funny. Well, how will she know much, she really into those things you asking her to bring from the looks of it. Haha uncle G-Dog, just like she may ask you to get some ladies stuffs and you come back with something weirder

Mate, she asks me to get skim milk at the supermarket and I come home with iced coffee and a chocolate bar! (Not really.)

She doesn't do too badly though, she's not an idiot, I just wrote it like that to have a laugh. She has a sense of humour so won't mind. She's actually pretty good when it comes to helping me do stuff and I help her learn when she gets it wrong...It's usually funny when she turns up with the wrong thing...bring me the rivets, she turns up with bolts. 🤣

Mate, she asks me to get skim milk at the supermarket and I come home with iced coffee and a chocolate bar! (Not really.)

I really couldn't hold myself of laughing out loud like that. It nice though, if not anything, the joy and humor that will be attached to whatever you are doing / or she is doing (vice versa) is unlike any other.

I like to add humour into my relationship. In my business I'm not humorous, it's a serious job, but at home sometimes I'm a joker. I'm often told I'm too serious but only by people who don't know me. It's all situational I guess; There's a time and place for everything.

Well, I myself have been describe the exact way. They say I am always too serious and I hardly laugh at jokes but only those who knew me well knows I am a talkative and a joker in almost everything and every time. Guess people can only the real you by moving in closer and not concluding on the surface

I don't allow many to see the true me...I reserve that for close friends. Certain people see certain things; I'm many different things I guess and I act appropriately for each situation you know? At the gun range I'm one version, work I'm another, with someone I just met socially I'm this and with those I've known for a long time I'm that. I guess most people do that.

Yea, most people do. I can say it more like a default setting to most because they have no clue or idea of how they switch sides as much as this. It just happens and it happens well. But do you know there are lots of people that will brand you as a pompous human being because of this lifestyle - speaking from experience because this is the reactions I have received from most individuals.

Although there are times when mood swing makes me fall out of order - but it happens very rarely. A friend of mine had even talked with me concerning matter as such saying that people who tend to have sides like that of coin in multiples are always partial. And I began ask myself, when the fuck does partiality gets involved.

At least Faith tries to help. Sam just stands there wagging his tail to see what fun thing we are going to do next.

I have buckets. In one I put all the tools I think I'll need. In the other I put the tools I might possibly need if things go to shit. Then I go to my tool box as needed.

I'm such a slug I haven't even decided when exactly the weekend will be or how long. Probably will start Friday morning and go through Sunday. Which means I may get a jump on the scheduled tasks today and will leave Monday for overflow. It's a tough life.

I'll no doubt post a weekend engagement post and participate in what ever you have up your sleeve for the Friday engagement fun. I also know that I'll watch the UNDEFEATED Arizona Cardinals play on Sunday. We haven't been this hot this late in the season for a long time (1-0).

I watched a game the other day...Enjoyed it. I used to play and when I stopped I found it difficult to get excited about the games considering I wasn't out there. I don't watch many games.

I'm sure you'll find some something to keep you occupied and will drop into the WE post etc. I'll be around too of course, maybe not as much during Sunday, but I'll find the time...Always do.

Very smart thinking on Faith's part ... to get out of helping .. well played 😁

Haha, yeah she's a bloody scallywag!

Besides, she can hold his cashew gluttony and dishwasher detergent wrapping skills over his head as needed.

Every proper project requires somebody to be the gopher (or go-for, not sure how you would spell that in this instance)! I know the struggle with tools, I can ask for the lineman's pliers and the channel locks, what I get...is a tossup, but usually not the named tools. Lol, you just reminded me that I have a leaky sink that I need to troubleshoot and possibly repair :)

Shoot a few rounds for me! Y'all going to be doing pistol work or firing off something a little more high velocity?

She often has on short shorts and a little top when she's helping me in the yard...I don't mind that she gets the wrong tools...🤣

Over the years we've done a lot of DIY stuff together because in the early days we couldn't afford to pay people. She grew up without a father from the age of 11 (cancer) and so she never really got to learn anything much. Over the years she's picked up a lot. She painted the inside of our whole house only a few years ago...A big effort. Did it herself, didn't want me to help. She's done some other projects too. She's capable...Just gets befuddled with the tools!. She learns though, at glacial speed, but progress is progress. 😉

Good luck fixing that sink, you'll need the pliers, a multimeter and and a drill bit. 🤣

I'll be handgun shooting this weekend. IPSC (International Practical Shooting Confederation is the discipline). Like that run and gun stuff on YouTube that Keanu Reeves does at Taran Tactical when he's training for John Wick films. I'll not be transitioning between guns though, just the hand gun this weekend. I'll send 300 rounds or so...It's a lot of fun.

That always makes things more pleasant. You forgot the torque wrench, can't fix a sink without that!

IPSC, nice! I'm familiar with it but have never done it myself, most of my shooting has been done on ranges of the more improvised variety. On a vaguely related note, have you ever heard of the Knob Creek Machine Gun Shoot? It usually happens about twice a year at a range about a half hour from here and it is something to behold (I just wouldn't want to pay the ammo bill). You can normally 'rent' automatic weapons there to shoot but for these, people from all over bring out their machine guns to show off and turn a LOT of money into noise and light.

Video of the night shoot there:

Oh yeah, I've heard of that shoot. Pretty insane. Like you say, the ammo bill must be immense, but it's a bit of fun.

I'd possibly shoot the drone.

I did a three gun event last year and at the end they have a log chop just because. People form teams of three: One rifle, one shotgun and one handgun, and they have to cut down a 4x4 log set up down range. There were 15 teams so 45 shooters and on the go everyone opens up on their designated log. It was pretty cool. Not as cool as this video, but cool nonetheless.

I saw a video of an M134 Minigun fucking up a car once...It's pretty brutal what that many 7.62 rounds do to a solid object when

What is a weekend?

For the last 28 years I take whatever days I can off and call it a "Monthend."

Checklist √.gif

I used to get all excited about fridays. I still do. But it sucks when your running 20 hours by monday...

Well, weekends happen no matter what I guess...The week happens, then it ends and a new one begins. We all have them, it's a matter of perspective I guess. For the sake of fun and engagement you could make something up and get involved with the weekend feeling I suppose. No one would know you've made it up and it might be fun. Or not.

Have tasty lunch... This is the best thing from the entire list😂

I agree completely.

Given that you seem to struggle to operate a dishwasher I think she can be forgiven for not being able to tell which type of tool is specifically what ;D

also it sounds like something I would do deliberately to piss off J ;D

Lol...Well to be completely accurate it wasn't the dishwasher that befuddled me but the dishwasher tablet. Some may say I'm splitting hairs here and it's one and the same, but I'm sticking to my guns on the matter.

That's probably worse given that you could argue that the dishwasher is a complicated machine with many settings but the tablet...just had a package on it XD

 4 years ago (edited) 

Ah yes, I am a knucklehead at times; I try not to be, but sometimes that bloody hamster in my noggin stops running and knuckleadiness ensues.

I also make lists of things I need to do. And even add in things like lunch sometimes. Gotta write them down or I will forget. Also, I can then refer to it and show that I am doing things besides just sitting around. :)

Marsha Mason (comedian and actress) had a great stand up line for that very thing.

"I hate when skinny people say stupid shit like 'I forgot to eat lunch'. I've forgotten my middle name, have forgotten where I am at, have forgotten my underwear. But I ain't never forgotten to eat."

Lol...I don't trust people who forget to eat.

I'm not a list guy in every aspect of life, but I like crossing things off as done, so I make them sometimes. I will cross a few of tomorrow, including lunch.