G-dog's weekend-engagement week seven: Winners announcement [135 hive in prizes handed out]

in OCD4 years ago

Some may say that July 27th is a day of little significance...A day of little import to the human race. That is incorrect. It's not insignificant...It's momentous!

So, a few things happened in history on the 27th July: The first tobacco was brought from England to Virginia in the US by Walter Raleigh in 1556. The Atlantic telegraph cable, some 2713 kilometres long, was successfully laid in 1866 and who could ever forget the Battle of Killicrankie in 1689 between the Jacobite forces and the Royalists (The Jacobites won) Ah yes, good times. Good times....

Yep, a few things happened...But what makes it momentous? Surely not some battle or a little tobacco making its way to America. Nope, something far more legit!

The #weekend-engagement prize announcement!

That's right hive team, it's prize handout time in G-dog's #weekend-engagement topic! It's time to see who won some hive this week.

Firstly, a big thank you to the sponsors who, week on week, support this engagement initiative; Without their support maybe the 27th July would have fallen into anonymity! Thanks to you all.

@krazzytrukker 20 hive
@mamalikh13 13 hive
@preparedwombat 5 hive
@tarazkp 20 hive
@stevenwood 10 hive
@abh12345 20 hive
@globalcurrencies 5 hive
@galenkp 22 hive
@meesterboom 20 hive

If you want to sponsor the #weekend-engagement concept feel free to transfer the hive to my wallet with the message weekend-engagement sponsorship and you'll get mentioned in the post.

In week seven I asked, what you would do if you found a time machine, and advised that points would be awarded for:

  • Being creative and interesting
  • Applying humour and a sense of fun
  • Being original and showing personality

Thanks to those who answered and who followed the brief offered. I always try to make the rules as lose as possible, but with an emphasis on fun and creativity...This is supposed to be fun after all.

Congratulations to the following: I have transferred your winnings.

@scubahead 35 hive (Your entry made me laugh out loud)
@biggypauls 20 hive (See comment above)
@por500bolos 15 hive
@stevenwood 10 hive
@mikepm74 10 hive
@niallon11 10 hive
@zacknorman97 10 hive
@bidesign 10 hive
@janaveda 10 hive
@hlezama 5 hive

Well done to those hive-team members above, your place in history is confirmed. Thanks also to everyone who participated. We generated around 300 comments on the blockchain this week and I hope you all had some fun.

A note about why I do this concept.

It started seven weeks ago with me having the idea to reward a user or two with a little hive for a comment-engagement on one of my posts I think I started with 10 hive. Engagement over the weekend is a little slower so why not spice it up right?

From there I added more and more hive and some of the legit hive-team came on board with some sponsorship - This increased the prize pool. So far 160 hive in rewards is the biggest we've had with this week is the second largest prize pool.

But winning hive aside, there are other benefits...Yep, the engagement itself!

Posts like mine, initiatives like the #weekend-engagement topic and others, give you a chance to engage with other users in a fun way, to join in with the rest of the community and to put yourself on the radar. You don't have to enter, not everyone wants a chance to win free hive I guess, but commenting on a few of the entries may help you form a new relationship or two and that's what this is all about.

We need a strong blockchain for us all to win here, to benefit, and engagement and community-oriented no-strings-attached initiatives can help make us strong. So, I ask you you to seek out some new users, ones that can benefit through something like this, and to promote the #weekend-engagement to them...Only if you want to though.

I'll have another topic for week eight which will be released Friday this week, 31st July. You'll have all weekend to answer, engage and have some fun. The winners will be announced the following Monday.

I hope to see you all back for more, and some new faces...We all know someone that could benefit from a little more exposure and some additional hive right? Help them out, and help yourself.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

...And whilst on the topic of engagement...Join the Engagement League
Sort:  

Keep it up brother! <3 <3 <3

Will do so! Hey, thanks to you for your sponsorship mate, really. It's unasked for and not expected which makes your generosity all the more valuable and special. I really appreciate it and I reckon the participants do also. You're a champ.

I've done nothing brother. I'm just glad to be a help. <3

Modesty is a nice personality trait, as is kindness and humility. Classy bro, classy.

Much love brother! :) <3

Congrats to all the winners and thank you to everyone who is taking part. These posts are a lot of fun in the comment section :)

Yeah, the comments is where it's at, which is the whole point really.

I did something a little different with the prizes this week selecting only ten to share the prize pool. I wanted to reward those who followed the brief and got into the spirit of creativity and fun...@scubahead made me laugh out loud...When people get that reaction out of me there's going to be some reward.

Thanks to your sponsorship and that of the other people who do so, we can offer a little extra hive in prizes and I don't get why other people aren't jumping on board...Free hive? I'd sign up for sure...But no signing up required, just engagement! I guess not everyone like sot get free hive.

I’m obviously late to the game but this question sounds fun.
I’d go back to the early 2000’s and warn Tom not to sell MySpace then have him buy Facebook and bury it. It would save so many lives. I’d also warn myself not to fuck that bar slut in Friedricksburg in 2015.

Haha!

Yep, going back in time to ensure Facebook never happens is a legit use of a time machine for sure!

Also...Friedricksburg 2015; Sounds like interesting times...The fact you'd like to erase your tryst with that lady indicates that no good came from it...Could be a good story there I think!

Thanks for your comment. I'll be releasing another topic this Friday so maybe you'll drop past.

!ENGAGE 30

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hey thanks for being creative and keeping people engaged!!!

Hey there Tim, thanks for your message and nice words. I'm an engagement advocate I guess...And who doesn't like some fun right? I appreciate your comment greatly.

!ENGAGE 25

What you say "engagement advocate" the first thing I think of is that you support people getting engaged to get married. I guess I support that as well so either way, it's really cool thanks bro! 🙂😉

Hmm, yeah I hadn't thought of it that way, but why not! 😂

I've been around since June 2017 and built my account by engaging with others (a lot) and by building relationships. These days I figure I might as well help others do the same. I'm glad you stopped by. Have a good one! (A good day.)

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week
Your post generated a lot of interactions and was the most commented of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

haha my murderous rampage through time wins the day whooop whoop. Thanks a lot @galenkp. This Hive will be used in my Friday Filipino Five give away so it's much appreciated as I can re distribute it to others in the Hive making cool content and getting that engagement going.

Yeah, you seem to have similar ways of dealing with people that I do...So...Winner! Lol.

I figured you'd put that hive to good use also, spread the love and all. Way to go. Try and get those you've on-boarded to join in man...Great way to engage, get exposed and have some fun...Plus win some decent hive for little more than a comment.

see if I can get @millycf1976 on the weekend engagement as well as @iamyohann and @diveratt. They should have some good input

No problem if they don't want to...But free hive and a chance to get exposed amongst some of the bigger accounts on the blockchain could be a decent opportunity. It's all a personal choice though.

just makes sense and its a hoot also. I'd used that time travel rant at the bar here many times as @biggypauls can attest to so when you posted it I was like haha I know exactly what i am going to do. It's a fun side post if you will. I've enjoyed all of them

Thanks scuba, I try to make them fun. It's the comments thread that is the best with the #weekend-engagement topic...Some of them are hilarious!

looking forward to the next one!

This is such fun. Where else can you say crazy shit to perfect strangers without fear of getting your nose broken?

It really is a big pot of fun stuff. Thank you for doing it!

I'm glad you're enjoying it, that was the plan really; Enjoyment. I hope you'll play along on Friday this week.

I engaged. Not on the winning side this time around. Congrats to all the winners and to all those who participated. At least, that created some buzz. Let me google ( oh oh presearch) what @galenkp laughs at 😇😂

Not everyone can win unfortunately, but there's always this week. A new topic will be out on Friday.

Yeah. I am trying to engage more on posts across the platform. Your engagement contest is a perfect way to meet new people and getting noticed by others on Hive. 😇

Good man! Engagement is the way you'll grow your profile, relationships and account. It's what I did for the last three years and I know it works.

Congratulations to everybody! Increasing engagement is great!

Cheers for the rewards, mate. With the price of Hive as it is, it's enough to reward me with some tasty Oreos! Thanks for keeping us community ever so engaged, for the friends that we made along the way, and not to mention all the laughter. If I ever time travel back to Ancient Greece, what should I bring back as a souvenir, you wonder?

Posted using Dapplr

If you're heading back to Greece feel free to bring me back a few bags of gold.

Does Persian gold sound good to you? My mate, Alexander the Great - and he assures me that no man-love is to happen between us lads - is taking us out to loot Babylon next week. He tells me that Persian Gold has a better grade, so I could bring back a whole wheelbarrow of that. Would be worth more than Greek gold in any case.

Yeah, that'll do...Any gold really, .9999 is preferable though. None of that 9 carat shit...Also, just watch your back...Alexander is wily like a fox and might try and put one over you...or into you.

Perfect mate, I've found this big ol' golden statue of some lad called Nebuchadnezzar. I think I'd scrape and chisel a few gold bits from his balls, and call that a mission success! I'm definitely keeping my eye on Alexander. I've put on a chastity belt just to make sure he doesn't stick his little Alexander in places where it shouldn't belong 😳

image.png

Lol, chastity belt. There's a post (with photos) there mate...You gotta!

Well, I did bring a camera until some Greek bastard smashed it into pieces, thinking it was some sort of Persian sorcery. It was stainless steel, had a padlock on it, plus a little porthole for number ones (and twos), and everything!

This was a lot of fun. I never would have found it if you had not commented on another post that I had engaged with, so, yeah, engagement works!

I'm sending my prize money back for Week 8, with maybe a little extra if I have any liquid in my wallet at the moment. haha.

This is a really fun way to inspire engagement! I will definitely be back to check out the week 8 topic. I might not have anything to enter every week, but if the topics get my creative juices flowing I am for sure down with that.

Now I have to check out the Engagement League.... I still have a lot of catching up to do after being away from the platform for a year!

Hi Mike, I'm glad you joined in and had some fun and thanks also for your support for week 8 which my wallet received, that is much appreciated! It is through the generosity of folks like you that allows a few accounts to can gain some hive and also get a little extra exposure.

Engagement works, you an I know that, and I hope to spread the word and get it happening for some of the newer accounts.

Again, thanks for participating and for paying it forward.

Dude thanks, it's great to see how something so simple has got folk chatting, more power to you and this initiative. Cheers to all that took part I had some funny interactions with some of you. Look forward to next week sure it will be a cracker:)

Tha ks mate, and it's cool that you've gotten involved and are having some fun. Not sure what's happening this week, will have to have a think...Might take me all day at work today! 😂

Well as long as you are making good use of your work time that's all cool:) Too many people waste time doing the job they are paid for:)

Exactly...I can tell you and I are on the same wavelength in many aspects of thought... 😂

Haha, work is for losers😂

OH hang on i'm not working and skint, shit iv'e got something wrong here.

Lol...Nah you're right...It's for losers...But that's the way society is these days...Keeps the masses in slavery a.k.a. work.

I scrape by with my rent from UK property, trying my hardest to not work too hard, promised myself I would retire at 50, 53 now so something went wrong.

Hello @galenkp,

Pleasantly surprised by the award. About ten days ago, I made a commitment to myself to get more involved in getting to know other members of the Hive community, without thinking much about the rewards, which I certainly need, I think these will come in consequences.

I really enjoyed the dynamics of the challenge and the thoughts of the participants. I take this opportunity to congratulate, not only the winners, but also the sponsors, and all those who participated in the fun occurrence.

Thank you very much.

Hi there and thanks for your kind message.

I'm glad you're engaging more and getting to know the community, that's what it takes to get on the radar and to build relationships.

The sponsors have been very generous in support of this initiative and it's nice to see that quite a few have gotten on board. I hope you will join in again this week.

I always miss your contests, I do not realize when you do them to participate @galenkp I would have settled for the 5 hives.

The topic comes out on Friday and the contest runs all weekend, like it has every week.

This is nice
Kudos to everyone who is staying engage

Thanks for your comment. Maybe you'd like to get involved sometime too.

Congrats to all the winners 🎉🎉 especially @scubahead his entry was really funny🤣and worth it🥰. Nice job you are doing for the hive community @galenkp

Thanks mate, yeah a well-deserved winner I think. Good to see people still engaging and having fun too!

Woow Thanks Elder Bro Galen =)

Haha..Hey, slow down with the elder...I'm not that old am I? I'm only 50...Ah fuck it, yep, it's old as fuck! Lol.

Congratulations to all the winners!I missed out, and I forgot to donate! Boo-hiss! I will pay more attention.

(Had a sister go to the hospital, no being able to breathe... Covid?) No, pneumonia, but, enough to excite everyone.

Thanks for having such a kick butt contest!

!tip

Hopefully she's better, or getting that way. I have a head cold at the moment...Not COVID or pneumonia but annoying enough!

No stress on missing last week's topic...Another one on Friday this week...That's the good thing about Fridays, they just keep coming. 🙂

I know~!! LOL Isn't that crazy?

Thankfully Friday's are persistent though as they herald the weekend.

🎁 Hi @galenkp! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

So there were a couple of comments on that post huh? Maybe next time it will get 3 or 4. :)
Seriously, 300 is pretty good.

Haha, yeah just a few. Let's see how we go this week!

You're very generous!

Thank you for saying so...The sponsors are also and it's been a great little concept for people to get involved with.

Awesome job to the winners! I saw some of the good ones and there was some awesome entries!

A few gave me a laugh...That's a good thing.

Congratulations!