Blooming cactus - Unusuall Mammillaria Prolifera

in Succulent growers3 years ago

Green mammillaria prolifera 2021 1.jpg

If I was a good girl I would keep a nice track on the cacti I sowed. When I sowed them, where are the seeds from and all that cool geeky stuffs.
But apparently I am not. And I always think I will remember. Its only one like this anyway, I cannot confuse it with anything else.

And then next year I look at some of them and I have no idea what they are.

This one here is actually one of a kind and I know I grew it from seed and from a bunch of other cacti this was the only one like this. But is it 3 or 5 years old? That I cant remember... and I did not bother to put the tag on it at the right time.

Mammillaria Prolifera



Green mammillaria prolifera 2021 2.jpg

It is a type of Mammillaria Prolifera and I have a few of them. But I have never seen them in this colour. To be so green with such yellow spines. It is absolutely lovely! And since I repotted it this spring to much bigger pot it grows like crazy (maybe it is 3 years old then...).

The flowers are quite typical: small with very delicate colour. They do impress when they bloom in large amounts and the red berries pop from between them. I might get both of that next year. The fruits from this years flowers will only start to show next spring.

Green mammillaria prolifera 2021 3.jpg

Green mammillaria prolifera 2021 4.jpg

As I mentioned, I grew this one from seed and it is not very hard. Especially that they bloom very willingly and multiple times a year. Each fruit gives quite a bit of seeds too, so in no time you can have a nice green field.

But look how many little offshots it grows! Every year. And this is so much easier and also faster way to propagate. I will snap one or two of those just to have a backup and without the hassle of sowing them. They will root in no time and might bloom next year.

Green mammillaria prolifera 2021 5.jpg

Green mammillaria prolifera 2021 6.jpg

Green mammillaria prolifera 2021 7.jpg

Just to show that it is different, a group shot with the more common (for me anyway) ones.

Green mammillaria prolifera 2021 8.jpg

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum
image.png
Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana
image.png
Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King
image.png
Gymnocalycium Bruchii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii
image.png
Sulcorebutia frankiana
image.png
Chamaelobivia no ID
image.png
Rebutia Albiflora
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri
image.png
Gymnocalycium damsii var. tucavocense
image.png
Notocactus Ottonis
image.png
Gymnocalycium Friedrichii
image.png
Turbinicarpus Viereckii
image.png
Rebutia neocumingii
image.png
Notocactus Rubrigemmatus
image.png
Lobivia no ID
image.png
Sulcorebutia albissima

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 59 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

At least looking at the photos of this species I already recognize them, it really is a special cactus despite being small, I am very happy with them, and it does not stop giving flowers, I think that is the best of all, I like all your work, from gardening to photos, and I was thinking that making a detailed record is not a bad idea, especially when the growth is slow and can take years.

Thank you!

it does not stop giving flowers

Yea! They can bloom almost all year round :)

I started to keep some simple files one some that bloomed. It helps to compare them to previous years.
And posting about them helps me keep the track and kind of makes me update the files. If I didn't publish anything I probably wouldn't even take photos :p Would just enjoy the view.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations!
I like this Mammillaria :-)
My Mammillaria has already finished flowering.
I also forget to put labels :-) so you're not the only one :-)

Haha they are equally nice even without labels :)

Wow! This is a beautiful one. Can't wait for mine to bloom.

Fingers crossed! They are adorable flowers :)
Don't forget to show off :D