Blooming cactus - Lobivia arachnacantha

in Succulent growers3 years ago

Lobivia Arachnacantha yellow 2021 9.jpg

This is probably one of the last flowers from my cacti I will show this season. Unless I find some lost photos that I forgot about that is. The blooming season is over and now they just look like green spiky mess until next spring. Some still show one little flower now and then, but I already showed them when they were in full bloom earlier in spring, so I don't see the point of repeating doing it again.

Lobivia arachnacantha


Lobivia Arachnacantha yellow 2021 2.jpg

This cactus is native to Bolivia and Argentina and grows on higher elevations among rocks and some small bushes or grasses. It is nit big and never will be. It will produce multiple offshoots though and spread sideways a bit. You can see on the photos that my one already started to do it.

Lobivia Arachnacantha yellow 2021 3.jpg

Lobivia Arachnacantha yellow 2021 5.jpg

It is small, but it's tough as a rock! It can handle hot days with full sun but also freezing cold temperatures in winter for short periods of time. To survive the winter cold it needs to be kept completely dry though, otherwise it will rot and die in no time!

Lobivia Arachnacantha yellow 2021 6.jpg

Lobivia Arachnacantha yellow 2021 7.jpg

Lobivia Arachnacantha yellow 2021 8.jpg

The flowers are gigantic! One of the biggest from the cacti I own (most Lobivia type has quite big blooms) especially if you compare it to the size of the cactus. The main stem is about 2-3 cm across. The flowers are probably double that.

I also found a little unwarted guest while I was shooting - mealybug! Those little shits attack and can kill a cactus and you don't even know why it dies. Sneaky little ****.

Lobivia Arachnacantha yellow 2021 4.jpg

As a bonus another guest, but a very wanted one - my furry quality control assistant :)

Lobivia Arachnacantha yellow 2021 1.jpg

Lobivia Arachnacantha yellow 2021 10.jpg

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum
image.png
Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana
image.png
Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King
image.png
Gymnocalycium Bruchii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii
image.png
Sulcorebutia frankiana
image.png
Chamaelobivia no ID
image.png
Rebutia Albiflora
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri
image.png
Gymnocalycium damsii var. tucavocense
image.png
Notocactus Ottonis
image.png
Gymnocalycium Friedrichii
image.png
Turbinicarpus Viereckii
image.png
Rebutia neocumingii
image.png
Notocactus Rubrigemmatus
image.png
Lobivia no ID
image.png
Sulcorebutia albissima
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha II
image.png
Notocactus mueller-melchersii
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Aylostera heliosa var. condorensis

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 68 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

It is basically blooming season here.

Here too... for everything else. Those usually bloom in spring and early summer.
Now they grow and then go dormant for winter.

We had lots of rains this summer. The temps are receding to 100-105°F so I can start enjoying morning walks again. Maybe ill get some barrel cactus shots for ya soon. I am hoping the mesquites bloom one last time for a bean harvest...

Hi, I have manually curated your content as you have posted a photo that I found interesting. Your post will be included in my Photophile series of posts and let me share you some !PIZZA and !BEER for the curation!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Connect

Trade


@ewkaw! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @photophile.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

Cool! Thanks :)


Hey @ewkaw, here is a little bit of BEER from @photophile for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Lovely captures. Nice one!

Thanks a lot :)

These thorny plants are impressive in their beauty. As always, I like your photos on a dark background. It looks really cool. Nice post. Thank you.

Thank you! Pity they don't bloom longer. Just few days for each flower.

Thank you very much for responding to my comment. Have a good evening. 🙏

my furry quality control assistant

It was a good day, yellow cacti flower and the control assistant doesn't look so angry :D
Lucky we :)

Maybe she reconsidered and now yellow flowers are OK...

#goodday

I think you will have to check her attitude towards yellow cacti flowers these days :D

#LetMeKnow :)

That will take a while. Nothing yellow in bloom now.
Maybe she will just forget by next season..

Loving that vibrant yellow to the flower, hope one of mine turns out to have yellow flowers too.. but so far just pink.

I would like to have some of those in light pink too. I have two similar like that and red.

Beauty! 👍

Yeaaaa :D