The Reports from the Witnesses 2018-02-04

in #witness-category6 years ago

The Reports from the Witnesses aims to provide the community with a summary of what all the witnesses have been up to. Every week, I collect all of the reports from the individual witnesses and assemble them into a single aggregated report. New witness announcements and witness retirement announcements are included in the report as well.

Witnesses can continue posting their posts to the witness-category and/or witness-update tags, and I will assemble everything I find there. If I miss any reports, just let me know and I will correct it. If you want to direct message me a report via chat, that is fine too.

Historic Reports from the Witnesses can be found here:
https://steemit.com/created/reportsfromthewitnesses

So without further ado, I bring you the fifty ninth edition of 'Reports from the Witnesses'!


Reports from the Witnesses 2018-02-04

@jesta - Witness Position #1

@gtg - Witness Position #3

@cervantes - Witness Position #29

@therealwolf - Witness Position #49

@themarkymark - Witness Position #58

@dragosroua - Witness Position #60

@patrice - Witness Position #62

@chitty - Witness Position #63

@steemgigs - Witness Position #67

@krnel - Witness Position #71

@sircork - Witness Position #78

@bitrocker2020 - Witness Position #83

@felixxx - Witness Position #89

@suggeelson - Witness Position #91

@jrswab - Witness Position #102

@skenan - Witness Position #104

@samrg472 - Witness Position #109

@guiltyparties - Witness Position #112

@stoodkev - Witness Position #128

@pcste - Witness Position #129

@isnochys - Witness Position #130

@enginewitty - Witness Position #132

@nnnarvaez - Witness Position #144

@kennybll - Witness Position #157

@crt - Witness Position #159

@ety001 - Witness Position #191

@forykw - Witness Position #259

@evildido - Witness Position #311

@fazlayrabby - Witness Position #364

New Witness Announcements:

@zappl - 1/29/2018

@resteemable - 1/30/2018

@b0y2k - 2/3/2018

@xsorbik - 2/4/2018


Some Notes:

  • Many witnesses do not report every week, and prefer to only report when they have updates.
  • I recommend that you include communication as one of your criteria for evaluating witnesses, but keep in mind - it is not the only criteria. There are some witnesses that prefer to work "behind the scenes", and do not do much as far as reports.
  • For witnesses that are not currently posting any reports, I would encourage you to provide the community with at least some insight into what you are currently working on :)

Remember to vote for witnesses!
https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you aren't sure who to vote for, check out this Witness Voting Guide.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this update @timcliff. I have been thinking about the witness updates a lot lately, and the more that I think about it, the more that I see these updates as updates for potential investors.

I work full time in ICO consultancy, online course creation, and now Steemit blogging. I have also founded a tech start-up, so I have experience in pitching to potential investors. Because of my background, I was thinking about how Steemit could be shown as more lucrative to potential investors, this is what I came up with:

An update of all witness reports/roadmaps in a white paper style document, that gives a general overview of the massive amount of innovation coming from the community. Between all of us, we could reach out to online journals, newspapers, conferences and more, and really drive Steemit forward as a platform. I have some good connections in this space that I would happy to share this report with!

Anyway, I would really like to do this, but I want to know that I have the support and backing of the witnesses that I will do it for. Can you let me know what you think please, and we can then talk more about how to go about this? I have a graphic designer on board who will help out with this too!

I am also running a project called the Steemit Success Initiative, which aims to grow and develop Steemit as a platform (so this would tie in well with a full wtiness update). I am looking for support on this project too, you can read about it on my blog or I can send you over a presentation that I made about it.

It sounds like a good idea, but you may find that getting the information you need from the witnesses is a bit like herding cats.

Yes I was thinking it may be hard, but if I can get the support I would be happy to work on this full time for a month or two and put together a really great document that would show some online journals etc. how innovate the Steemit community is.

Do you want to talk more about this or my other project over Steemit Chat or Discord? I would really like to get involved in doing something like this, and like I said once o can get the support for it im happy to work on it full time for as long as is needed.

I'm on steemit.chat. If you reach out to me there, I always respond within 24 hours.

There is also a developer discord chat. You can probably get some info from people there that are working on projects.
https://discord.gg/B29Bbng

Thanks Tim, I'll get on to you.

hey Tim,

pardon if this may not be the most appropriate place to contact you regarding this, however, I made a post today about an idea to advance Steemit’s development on a large scale, and was recommended to share with the witnesses:


The $1 Billion Steem Development Fund: How Steemit Inc.'s Stake Could Be Best Allocated To Grow A Thriving Network Of Applications And Users...

would be cool if you could have a read through, and IF you like the idea, share it with some others in a position of influence who may be able to advance the discussion.

regards,

Rok

Thankyou for giving the idea.

Watched a video interview of you and one David, you sure looks supercool and Geeky Tim

Haha, thanks :)

Most welcome, following you now and voted as Witness

So there's this cute little red-headed fem-bot that gets in my DM box on Discord right? I seriously think she has a crush on me, at least I hope :P But anyway, she whispered that @timcliff mentioned me in a post and my eyes got real big, almost saucer sized, and I said wha-wha-whaaaat? Didn't believe her at first, but she was all, "no really, check out this link!" So I did and I have to say, thanks for highlighting all the witnesses that are trying to keep the Steemit populace notified of their this and thats :)

What do you think about this?
https://steemit.com/steemit/@stimialiti/reward-redemption-is-this-steemit-s-most-unnecessary-and-worst-evil

Do you enjoy being 99% of the time below your already earned rewards?
Is the double (once for announcement and once for redemption of rewards) spam of the blockchain necessary?

This comment has received a 49.72 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

This comment has received a 0.26 % upvote from @morwhale thanks to: @stimialiti.

Thanks for posting this information it is so helpful.👍

Thanks Tim. Appreciate your work as always.

YAH YAH YAH YAH YAH!

Voting for witnesses is really important? @timcliff

Just ask in .thankyou

Tim, I have noticed that you do not accept payouts which means you care about not abusing Steemit and that is huge respect right there. For that you have my witness vote.

Thanks :)

Awww yea @enginewitty you in the big times now brother! Also hats off to @SirCork @SuggeElson! @themarkymark and @Guiltyparties are also some good guys and alies!

Awwww yea

Grats to my cousins @sircork and @enginewitty !!

Thanks Tim for doing this every week. It's a real community service, and I for one appreciate it greatly.

That is why I upvoted you as witness because of your consistency! @timcliff

Thanks :)

This is a good development. At least the community deserves to know what various witnesses have been up to. Kudos and keep it up.

Upv by
@eurogee, the founder of @euronation Newbie's Support Team/ Show Us Your Witnesses Weekly Contest Host.

This seems a daunting task:

The Reports from the Witnesses aims to provide the community with a summary of what all the witnesses have been up to. Every week, I collect all of the reports from the individual witnesses and assemble them into a single aggregated report. New witness announcements and witness retirement announcements are included in the report as well.

Question: what's the basic criteria to become a witness? Is basic know-how of programming a must?

Basic block chain and steem understanding required, tech know how incredibly useful but not absolutely mandatory. It begins with the purchase of a server that will run you about 100-200 USD a month at a loss, until you can gather enough votes to make it into about the top 80 witnesses, which is not nearly as easy as it sounds and gets light years of exponentially harder to advance each level as you go up.

Hi @sircork, Thanks for the explanation. This is really helpful. You got a new follower.

Great, glad to have you aboard.

Hi Tim,

So, I wanted to give you a status report about @steemflagrewards but steemit.chat is down which would have been my means to contact you. Do you happen to be on Discord?

We have a server link in the latest post if you want to check it out. New campaign just picked up to zero out some comment spam and still working on the grandiose vision of a more or less fully automated solution (with the "wider net" so to speak) with a few other talented community members.

Look forward to hearing your input. Of course, your support thus far has been greatly appreciated and encourage others to vote for you as a community minded and abuse fighting witness.

hi @timcliff, sorry to try to contact you here, but i'm very confused. i read your article on using steemconnect to set up a new account. all went well, i triple checked the account name and when it went through, it had cut off the last two letters. i was very surprised and disappointed to now have an account i don't want floating around. seeking not to give up, i tried it again, triple checking the name. all was well, just like the first time. after i pressed enter, it said it did not work and that i must check the console. I am thinking it cut the last two letters off and wouldn't let me go through as of course the messed up name was already taken. have you heard of this happening in the past? i would like to make the name this way, but don't understand why it cuts off the last two letters... any help greatly appreciated!! thank you.

That makes sense. The blockchain has a restriction on account name size. There should be a validation error on the SteemConnect page though.. If you contact the Busy team, they will probably fix it fairly quickly.

Thank you! Should I contact the busy team on their @busy.org?

Thanks again for responding @timcliff!

And also the name I wanted was only 10 letters.

Does not accepting payouts help out steemit?? I've only not accepted payouts once cuz it was just an update post, but usually I accept it because why not? XD And your doing a great job man keep it up! :D

There is a fixed amount of rewards in the rewards pool to give out each day. If you decline payout, it leaves the rewards in the rewards pool to be paid out to everyone else. I already get paid quite a bit for my witness work, so I usually decline payout on my witness related posts.

Oh that makes sense!

Thanks for your constant contribution to ensure the smooth operation and growth of the community sir, Blessings on Blessings to you

Where is your position number?

I am currently #4. This report only contains the witnesses that posted a witness report within the last week. There is a list of witnesses (and ranks) here: https://steemd.com/witnesses

Thanks for your regular update on steem witnesses. You deserve my witness vote.

i hope i could understand this one in the future

i voted you as my witness :D

Thanks :)

Thanks @timcliff. I deeply appreciate your hard work. And you are not rewarded for it. Remarkable. Keep working and best regards...

I do get paid for being a witness :)
This weekly report is just part of my ‘witness duties’.

Interesting @timcliff. But I'm sorry I do not understand yet, what the witness is and what the job is. I still do not know this.

There is some good info on this in the FAQ.

Thank you for your suggestion @timcliff

Hello! You might not see this comment since this post is 6 days old, but thank you for upvoting my digital art! I appreciate it deeply and hope you continue to like it. Thank you!

Welcome :)