Splinterlands | Magi of Chaos Challenge

in Splinterlands2 years ago (edited)

This week a Neutral Epic card with Magic Damage is highlighted in the Share Your Battle Challenge for Splinterlands. This is the Magi Of Chaos.


The Magi Of Chaos is one of those cards that is basically a duplicate of the old Magi Sphinx card with neglectable stats difference while at the same time, it has an alternative card that also costs 6 mana but is just infinitely better in 95% of the games that it can be played at in the Spirit Miner. A case can be made for the Magi Of Chaos to be useful in the modern format and in wild with game rules when Monsters don't get any abilities. The 3 magic damage along with the 7 health is pretty good.

The Magi Of Chaos is one of those cards I have not leveled up (yet) and I'm just renting out most of my copies since I would rarely to never really play it in matches especially since I mostly play Wild. The card that I do use a lot instead is the Spirit Miner which right now is crazy powerful when using it right. There are just too many cards in the game and things are getting crazy expensive to the point I have given up on wanting to own most of the cards.



My opponent and I played very similar line-ups in a match where the game rules allowed no healing with 28 Mana to be spent and also the trample ability to keep going. I choose for the Furious Chicken to absorb some initial damage and the Battle Orca which has good speed, Health and damage for 3 mana as my tank. I followed this up by the Spirit Miner which gave 2 Magic Damage (+1 from the Water Summoner) along with extra speed, dodge and blind. The Ruler Of The Seas remains a must-play card in every Magic Water deck giving a lot of damage + blast + speed + Silence. Another great card for this type of deck which is the Venari Wavesmith which highly increases the survivability of all monsters with +2 Armor. The Water Elemental remains my favorite choice for the backline even with no heal from the game rules simply because it has got the speed, damage and dodge.



I ended up winning this match mostly because I concentrated my attacks while my opponent played just 1 sneak card which didn't really do enough to actually kill my backline Water Elemental. Overall it was a fun competitive game which is one of the reasons why Splinterlands at least at this level is a great game right now.

Full Battle Replay


Previous Weekly Challenges

Posted using Splintertalk

Sort:  

Even in modern, i rarely think of using magi of chaos. its lack of abilites keeps me away from summoning it.

That exactly, only really with game rules where all monsters have no abilities it really gives an edge

Congratulations @costanza! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for sharing! - @libertycrypto27

Yes I agree your choice for the battle. Is better Spirit Miner level 3 that Magi of Chaos lvl 1. Good post!