Splinterlands | Mycelic Infantry Challenge

in Splinterlandslast year

Another Chaos Legion card this week in the Share Your Battle Challenge in Splinterlands. This time it is the rare Earth Mycelic Infantry.


This is another card that I have had leveled up for a while but have never used so far because the low speeds just doesn't make it viable in most matches. The disadvantage this brings in the game is so big while the advantage when there are reverse speed rules is not of equal proportion. This pretty much goes for all 1 speed cards unless they have some extremely powerful abilities. The Mycelic Infantry is also very vulnerable to Magic Damage which further weakens it for me even in reverse speed rulesets. If no magic is allowed, I prefer playing the Life Tyrus Summoners combined with the Shieldbearer and the Warrior of Piece.

If I were to start as a new player right now having to buy cards, I would just fully skip on all monsters with low speed that have no key abilities. If you really want to be competitive right now, you pretty much need an entire High Mana card collection, and entire low mana card collection which also goes for Fast and Slow cards. I had a look and only 1 out of my last 20 battles had the reverse speed rules, so they are just not worth it unless let's say at leasy 20% of the battles have reverse speed.



I did manage to play a battle with this card and win where tge game rules were that Summoners did not give abilities while no Legendary or Epic Cards were allowed to be used. I was quite lucky that my opponent didn't play any Magic cards which kept my Mycelic Infantry alive a lot longer indirectly giving it 20 health and 6 armor with a double heal. I did play the Mushroom Seer as I needed some kind of counter against Magic. The Wood Nymph and Goblin Psychic is a combo that I often use to give a ton of tank heal. I played 2 good ranged monsters in the back just to diversify between Melee-Magic-Ranged attacks with the fast Javelin Thrower and the inevitable Earth Elemental which I see as one of the best last-place monsters in the game for the 3 mana cost.



In the end, it turned out in a fairly easy win which doesn't make it so that I want to use the Mycelic Infantry card more often. I will however keep my eye on it when there are reverse speed rules with no magic allowed where Earth is one of the only real available splinter options. That just remains way too narrow of the situational spot for any card really.

Full Battle Replay


Previous Weekly Challenges

Posted using Splintertalk

Sort:  

Congratulations @costanza! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the Final
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

!1UP Good work!


1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @underlock!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@monster-curator, @oneup-curator, @ctp-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator, @neoxag-curator, @pal-curator, @fun-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@curation-cartel(9/20) tipped @costanza (x1)

Join us in Discord!

(You were voted by @Mightyrocklee, because you're awesome. Enjoy this big bunch of SPT.)

Posted using Splintertalk


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @mcoinz79 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121